We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of luxury in a chaotic city.”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oasis of luxury in a chaotic city.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel on 2 occasions during stays in Cairo in December 2012 and January 2013. We stayed at another hotel on our last 2 days in Cairo and really wished in retrospect we would have stayed here.

This hotel is located in a very exclusive and quiet part of Cairo- very necessary in this chaotic city. A plethora of restaurants awaited us- budget, medium priced and very classy and interesting shops.

The staff were wonderful. I always got quick emails back when corresponding from Australia and staff were very very helpful and attentive during our stay.
The room was amazing with a hugh comfortable bed, beautiful period furniture and a nice balcony and also fantstic bathroom. Everthing was immaculate and actually worked unlike some places in Egypt.
The breakfast was fabulous and staff.

The only down side to this hotel is that when you actually come into the front door you may think you are in the wrong place as it is located on the 5th floor and you have to reach it via a miniscule lift that will only take 2 people at a time and their 2 bags.
The other down side- again -( not really their fault) is that on both times that we organsized the airport transport from the hotel the driver was late. We were about 30 minutes late after getting out visa and our bags the fist time we got the pick up and still had to wait over 20 minutes for the driver. I was just about to get a taxi when he arrived. The second time the same guy was 15 minutes late. He sad he was sorry- again- and mumbled something about our plane being late- it was actually a bit early!!!
As I mentioned it was nothing to do with the standard and comfort of the hotel but they need to perhaps talk to the driver about this or chose someone more reliable.
The owner and staff need to be congratulated on a very high standard.it was more like a 5 star hotal than a 3 star.

Room Tip: A gem in a very crowded city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    147
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
238
83
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Longchamps was recommended by the folks here at Tripadvisor and I agree. The area is much quieter than the rest of Crazy Cairo. My daughter and I were able to walk around safely. The Hotel has a German flavor and it stuffed with interesting books, art, and furniture. The staff are top notch and very helpful. The restaurant has a set menu every night and it was quite good and reasonably priced. I love all the terraces, we had a shared on off our room. The place is not perfect but is well maintained, with a few cracks in the tiles and a few tatters in the fabrics but homey and comfortable. If I ever go back to Cairo (the pollution was horrendous) I will stay here.

Room Tip: ask for one with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the LongChamps hotel. It is in a quiet (for Cairo) location and close to restaurants and to the Egyptian Museum. The rooms and bathrooms had been recently renovated. The reakfast was excellent - both Egptian and European food.
The staff were most helpful. They organised a day trip to Giza and the pyramids. We were very impressed by our guide, Phoebe.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the night before and the one after a two weeks tour in the Egyptian desert. It is on the 5th floor of a building in the trendy district of Zamalek. As we stepped into the reception area we felt like going back into colonial time. Staff is efficient and professional, our room was spacious with a large bathroom. The whole hotel is spotless clean, WiFi is free and worked perfectly. We had a good night rest before and after our tour, unfortunately we couldn't fully appreciate the breakfast in the morning due to early departure but it seemed to be of a good selection and quality.
We now know where to stay for our next stay in Cairo!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleEnSuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Longchamps in early January. The location is great; one of the few "quiet" areas in Cairo, but the hotel could do with an update. It clearly could be a gorgeous boutique hotel but needs some major refurbishment. Free wifi is great, and there's a nice public balcony area, but no hot water on our first evening was a big disappointment given how dirty we all were! Our room ('executive') was spacious but rather dark; our kids' room was tiny yet cost only a few dollars less. We wouldn't stay there again; can do better for the money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HPPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I spent three nights at the Novotel el Borg and was not impressed (expensive, dirty, and the internet rates were sky-high), so tried The Longchamps- it worked perfectly for me. I spent just over a week there in total- the front desk staff (Letizia in particular) were very helpful. They were already fully booked for one of the nights I needed, but went ahead and arranged for me to stay that night at the Horus Hotel, one floor down (it was fine for one night, but Longchamps is a better choice). Because my reservation was last minute, I changed rooms twice while I was at The Longchamps- it was no trouble, as they took care of moving my suitcase and everything in my room. This meant that I had the opportunity to stay in three different rooms. The executive room was fantastic- completely updated, with a spa like bathroom. The other two standard rooms were spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms had not been updated (but were absolutely fine), and EVERY room was absolutely spotless. Zamalek is fairly quiet, but not far by foot or taxi to anywhere else you would like to go in Cairo. Definitely make sure to pick up one of the cards at the front desk that shows the hotel name and address in Arabic. You will need it for the taxis.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, but splurge for the executive room- I think it was #15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeyPange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Lonchamps for 3 nights and loved our time there. We actually thought that it was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. The staff were amazing,always trying to help.
We liked all the little touches, like the old telephone exchange and other old furniture.
The buffet breakfast was good and better than other places we stayed in Egypt.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to other families wishing to visit Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicafuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.9 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing