We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home...”
Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #21 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“feels like home...”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

this is the first hotel we stayed at in Cairo before flying to Hurghada. We arrived so early before check-in time and the room was not yet available so we asked the manager to leave our things here while we're out. when we arrived from our tour at Giza, room is ready and our luggage is already there. The room is very cozy and clean. Breakfast was ok, free internet and the location is situated on the quiet side of cairo and near the Nile river. The quality of service they offer is 5 star for me. Hotel Longchamps will always be my first choice to stay in cairo :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebe_4m3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    147
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
237
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just back from Egypt and spent 4 nights - 2 in the most wonderful Room where we slept with a breeze coming across the balcony and an open window on the other side. What bliss after airconditioning - which by the way was available but not used. Great eclectic decor and comfort, comfort, comfort.
Very close to great restaurants and all the sights, but just removed enough from noise.
Nothing was too much trouble for Gaby and Hebba - transport, food, First Aid - every detail covered. Loved the terrace areas for a drink and relax - also excellent computer facilities.
Meals available if you're too worn out by the day's activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with older style decor. Corner spots give cross breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Level Contributor
215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the hotel in October 2012 - nice location in a 'quiet' area of Cairo. It's situated on the island of Zamalek - in the middle of the Nile :)

The hotel is on the fifth floor, the rooms are good and clean, the reception staff is very helpful and positive, and the breakfast was also fine.

It's a 40-minute walk from the Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum...if you don't like to walk, you could take a taxi (VERY cheap). The taxi ride will also take app. 40 minutes due to heavy traffic almost regardless of the hour of the day...

I would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrikb_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
330 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As a cairene resident I have the chance to double- and triple- and quatruple - check this great location. I love to be very critic... but with the LONGCHAMPS there is only one word: UNIQUE! Rooms are always recommendable, and for those who want to arrange any kind of festivity: Hebba Bakri`s team is prepared! Can you imagine a german-egyptian heart beating in the middle of the huzzling-buzzling Cairo... I can! And if you just want to have a relaxed afternoon, or even only half an hour to refresh... just visit this place... and you have strength to follow up...
Cairo without Hebba Bakri and her great Hotel would be... not Cairo!
Come and try; you will never be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakkara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently stayed here for 4 nights. Apart from the airport meet and greet mix up (due to eygpt air strike) this hotel was a calm haven. Room was functional with the usual facilities. Breakfast was better than expected. Plenty to choose from. The service was excellent from start to finish. Balcony area where you could sit and have a drink or read a book. Computer available for internet access. We had a twin room. Very safe neighborhood. I have stayed in Zamelek area before at a different hotel. Plenty of places to eat and shop near by. It is a nice leafy area of cairo where a lot of the embassys are (not the american one, thank goodness). Longchamps is becoming expensive compared to other hotels but if you want a place like home then this is the one for you. I knew the price before making reservation so no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I gave this hotel a 5 star (excellent) rating because of the value. Our 3 person room was comfortable, the breakfast was better than we expected, and the staff was very friendly, helpful, and always available to help you. The neighborhood seems safe. There was a fast food restaurant nearby where you could point to the picture and also plenty of convenience stores for cheap bottled water. We stayed in April 2012 when there were very few tourists; we tried to stay an extra night, but they were booked. They can arrange for a taxi to the airport at any time if needed.

Cons: It took us 30 minutes after getting off the "highway" for our driver to navigate the crowded neighborhood streets during rush hour. The shower water leaked out of the door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you are the kind of traveler that likes to feel like you have a small connection to home-this is where you want to stay. Hotel Longchamps is in the Zamalek neighborhood and reminded me of a New York neighborhood. It is a really easy neighborhood to navigate and walk around. The hotel is charming. Hebba and her staff make you feel so at home- it is a great little home base while you are away from yours. The entire hotel is super clean -the rooms are spacious, the bed is comfortable, the water is hot, the breakfast is wonderful-a big asortment of goodies along with a tea selection that actually turned me-a hard core coffee drinker into a tea girl while there! The common areas are decorated very comfortably with lots of little nooks you can lounge in and check emails or have a cup of tea. There is a wonderful roof terrace which we enjoyed every morning and our room had a private terrace that we could have slept on if we were so inclined…The staff is so friendly and eager to please you…And..free internet...what more could you possible ask for?

Room Tip: The rooms are awesome-very quiet, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. You can't pick a bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#38 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests , You have the choice of three category of rooms : Standard Superior Executive . Free Nestle Mineral Water is available in alone standing dispencers in both lobbies. Please note hot Water might take some time to reach your rooms, as I have three Solar System Pannels on my Roof top. I hope to meet up with your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing