We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service Safe location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Longchamps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Longchamps
Ranked #18 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service Safe location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We are a family with 3 children and took 2 rooms at the hotel. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff are excellent, We had dinner at the hotel which was very reasonably priced and delicious. The hotel is located in Zamalek which is very safe and within easy reach of the centre of Cairo. We would happily come back to Hotel Longchamps.
Dan and Katharine
Australia

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    147
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
86
237
82
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tieri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at Longchamps for 2 nights prior to joining a tour group. What a haven from the hussle and pollution. The location is convenient, the accommodation is clean and roomy, the included breakfast is lovely and staff are very efficient and helpful. Our airport transfer was waiting for us when we arrived in Cairo and everything was well organised. We returned to our haven for a further 2 nights at the end of the tour after 2 awful experiences in other Cairo hotels. Thank you Hebba for your wonderful service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPKKLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We spent 5 nights here this month. It was an excellent choice. We wanted a clean, well run hotel that we could relax in after hectic hot days sightseeing all around Cairo. This hotel made us feel so at home and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. The guest areas were very relaxing and although the hotel lacks views it is still very good to sit on the verandah with a cold beer. The breakfasts were satisfactory. Dinners were basic, lacking in choice and a little expensive. Try the Chinese 2 doors down, very good. This hotel is on the island of Zamelic but very convenient for all sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel. Although it is graded 3* we thought that the room was at least 4*.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Good hotel. Gabby was very helpful. Rooms were fine. A few ltle glitches.No driver on arrival. Box brakfast for early departure was left out all night and yogurt coantainers were blown. Bread etc was not wrapped up and was stale.
Hotel highly recommended.

P2C

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was my second 7-day stay at Longchamps. Two years ago my husband and I stayed a week as well. I love the hotel. It feels like a home. The owner, Hebba Bakri, makes sure her guests are happy. The rooms are modern, clean, attractive, quite large and comfortable. She has upgraded the property continuously. It is the top two floors in a commercial building in Zamalek, an attractive leafy neighborhood full of foreign embassies. A small vintage elevator takes you to the hotel, and you feel like you are in one's home. I was traveling alone and did not want to eat much or go out one night, so the kitchen provided me a perfect salad which I ate on the balcony. If you want to escape your room there are two large balconies and various comfortable public rooms to hang out in. The staff is well trained, has worked with Hebba for a long time, and pays close attention to each guests needs. I felt known and cared for. I'll be back to both Cairo and the Longchamps Hotel, insha'Allah

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

It's great to read lots of great reviews about this hotel because for us it was a fantastic retreat from the chaotic streets of Cairo.

Hebba the eccentric, allocentric, German-born owner was wonderful, super welcoming and (in difficult times post-revolution with an accidental double-booking stopping us from staying for as long as we originally wished) was able to make us feel happy, special and very relaxed.
Hotel Longchams has free Wi-Fi (get an access code from reception), great breakfast in a room with lovely ambience, extremely helpful front desk staff (what a relief to come across people with a proper sense of humour) who can give you all the information you need.
Hebba took the time to speak to us 1-2-1, her passion clearly noticeable in the tone of her voice, and mentioned how she's constantly travelling to global travel meetings for hotel owners so I'm excited for those looking to stay here in the future as it sounds like it's only going to get even better.
I highly recommend Hotel Longchamps for it's location, staff, and oasis-like atmosphere.
Keep up the great work Hebba!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were really nervous about where to stay in Cairo as it is a crazy city and we wanted somewhere clean and calm to rest our heads. This hotel fits that bill entirely it has a low key entrance (very old lift) then a long hallways with some golf memorabilia. The rooms are varied as it is an old house but the two we saw were clean with heavy cotton sheets - and balconies. The shower in our room was a bit variable but otherwise no complaints. There was a fridge and a kettle too with water and coffee sachets provided. The ladies who run the hotel are absolutely great - we had a lot of help before we went and they arranged us tickets for an Alexandria train - not as easy as it would be in the UK! Ramses station is chaotic esp just now with building work.
The breakfast room reminded me of EM Forster in that different tourists shared experiences across the tables eg of being cheated at the pyramids or marvelling at the museum. Menawhile the view outside of the Eygptian rooftops and the classical music playing gently over the room made for a lovely atmosphere. f I were to go again I woudl stay there as it is really convenient area - with some embassies around although the roads and pavements are still a little rough despite the smartness of the area. Lots of good places to eat around there also.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarquisofCaribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#39 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longchamps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longchamps

Property: Hotel Longchamps
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Longchamps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Longchamps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longchamps Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing