We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great For Getaway from the City and cleaner Air” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wadi Degla

Wadi Degla
Ranked #73 of 309 things to do in Cairo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located only 15 minutes from the Cairo suburb of Maadi, this rugged valley contains a wide variety of animal life including deer, hares, red foxes, reptiles, Egyptian turtles, twelve species of resident and migrant birds and 64 kinds of plants.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great For Getaway from the City and cleaner Air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is our getaway place in Maadi, Cairo, Egypt. Maadi is a suburb of Cairo and Wadi Degla is the closest thing you can come close to a park. Don't expect to see great landscapes or incredible scenery, it's a rocky terrain park with one big main trail from beginning to end of the park (around 13.5 KM long) with loads of mountain biking and walking trials on the side. It's great for walking and cycling or nice bbq out with family and friends.

I've been going there for the past 25 years of my life, it's definitely our getaway from the polluted air of Cairo, we mountain bike, walk, picnic, etc... Air there is a bit better than in the rest of the city. Without it for some of us (the outdoor enthusiasts) it can make living in Cairo a very difficult scenario.

You could camp overnight but after you get your permits from the EEAA office in Maadi (behind the Sofitel Hotel in Maadi).

We would like to promote a nice clean sustainable park for everyone to enjoy, so please promote it in that direction, it needs a major push in the management and financing part.

Enjoy it and don't forget to leave nothing behind please.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank desertmirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Desert in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went there with a class of 5th graders -- who loved it. The Egyptian deserts are wonderful and the Wadi is a small, local taste that is easily accessible. It is somewhat degraded by the human traffic and pollution. But the location in Maadi is wonderful and it offers spectacular walking and an opportunity for walks in the desert without leaving Cairo. Really a hidden gem among parks. Good for hiking, mountain biking, nature walks, etc. Take lots of water and food for a day. Picnic with friends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heartbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hard to get too but worth it when you find it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wadi Delga Nature Reserve is like a smaller version on the Grand Canyon! i would defiantly recommend going. If your only in Egypt for a few days is not going to be on the top of your list but i would try and fit it in. Make sure you have a good 4wd and know how to drive it. I think it costs 5 LE a person and 5 LE for the car. lots and lots of flies and i would go an hour or 2 before sunset as the light that reflects off the canyon is just brilliant.

Be prepared to get dirty, wear good shoes, old clothes, take some water and snacks and OF COURSE your camera! Go to the toilet before you leave as there is none inside... be prepared to pee on the ground. we climbed up to the top and saw the view of Maadi and we could just faintly see a pyramid... so cool :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BriannaJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a "protected area" but really just sandstone rock outcrops. We walked the first 5k of the trail and back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Who would have thought that there was world class mountain biking in the desert?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wadi Degla is on the outskirts of Cairo, and is a world away from the hustle and bussle of everyday life. The Wadi (valley) is a popular area for hikers, trail runners and mountain bikers. All of whom share common trails and tracks. Some of the more technical runs and rides offer heart stopping ascents and descents. The views from the upper rims are absolutely fantastic. Who would have thought that a desert could be so beautiful? In summer the heat stops most folks from venturing too far, but in the fall and Spring...WOW, the trails are endless. So if you are looking for a close easy escape take a trip to the Wadi...you will enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jalandua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadi Degla also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Wadi Degla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing