We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only cause you have to.....”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only cause you have to.....”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The only reason I stayed here was because it is the start and finish hotel for Contiki.

Try and get the latest flight in if your joining the tour to minimize your stay.

After traveling a long day I arrived at 7pm and was greeted with a large bedroom with air con so that was good but no temperature control. The beds were super flat and rock hard and no international channels on the tv. Seem to only get hot water in the morning.

The breakfast was gross, so stick to a croissant and jam and DON'T DRINK the 'JUICE' I suspect it's Egyptian tape water with some flavor through it, it was one of the last things I consumed and I was extremely sick!!!

One positive note was they did do up a plate of French fries upon request to take to the room to eat which was nice as I wasn't feeling up to going out on the first night

It has a nice foyer but the hall ways and rooms have bit of a spooky,twilight zone feel to it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skyske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    78
    40
    19
    12
See reviews for
15
60
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
255 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

OVERALL - 7/10

great hotel in downtown Cairo with wonderful bar, colonial style architecture, splendid interiors and superb staff and service. A big thank you to the bar staff, cleaners, manager, receptionists - you made my time here very memorable and I shall be recommending to my friends BUT - and I discussed this you - you need to have wi-fi (FREE) at least in the lobby area - NOT a separate Internet room where you have to pay - who does this anymore, with everyone having wi-fi enable devices etc. Why havnt you done this Mr DIRECTOR?
Also Coffee facilities - INSTANT - not acceptable for a hotel of this standard POOR.

ROOMS - acceptable - but you need to sort out the TV's in terms of better choice of channels and signal

If you had free wi-fi and good coffee I would not have needed to every morning to have gone to Tahrir for my morning coffee with free wi-fi - you would have got my business and you would also get non-residents coming in spending money.
You have a superb lounge / bar area which other people would love to use if you have these two facilities.
This is an issue that the DIRECTOR/ OWNER of the hotel needs to address. He has already been told about this by the management but seems her does'nt care - usual story with wealthy Egyptian Hotel owners - lots of money, poor management style who doesnt LISTEN and neither cares too much about his employees.

Please remember to tip the wonderful staff. AND mr greedy Director why don't you pay them more?
OVERALL - 7/10
ROOMS - 6/10 (TV - 2/10)
BAR - (9/10)
BREAKFAST - poor - ONLY INSTANT COFFEE - 3/10
LOCATION 7.5/10
INTERIOR - 8/10
DECOR - 7/10
CLEANLINESS - 8/10
ATMOSPHERE - 8/10
SERVICE - 9/10
DIRECTOR/OWNER - 0/10 (sack yourself)
VALUE - 6.5 / 10
FACILITIES - 6/10 - (no wifi nor coffee machine)
MANAGEMENT - 8/10 (sorry you have such an owner/director)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jethro672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with bags of character, with the most fantastic staff, with shady corners that used to welcome the two great Georges, King George and George Bernard Shaw you get some sense of just how much we enjoyed everything about this hotel which was one of the highlights of our trip to Egypt. A particular highlight was chatting with the bow tied barmen over a glass of cold Cairo beer. Old fashioned service and values that are too often lost in today's hospitality 'industry' and which were shared by housekeepers, doorman and reception manager. If you are looking for a plastic Sharm type of experience before you hop on your Nile cruise you might well be disappointed. However if you want to know that Cairo really is open for business; you want to explore a bit away from the ubiquitous mass tours; and you want to stay in a hotel with old fashioned values as well as terrific provenance, then you should seriously consider the Victoria. Yes, to answer its critics Cairo is huge, dusty, loud, polluted and maddeningly congested. The greatest African and Arabic city doused in equal measures in poverty and revolution, as it has been for 5000 years. But that is also its great attraction. We freely walked around Arabic Cairo, Souks, The Egyptian Museum, The Pyramids and yes, we thoroughly explored Midan Tahrir (Square) talking to lots of people about what it all meant to them. Not a hint of trouble anywhere whilst we were in Cairo between 9-11 October except some pretty strong hints that there might be a bit of trouble on Friday 12th October on Midan Tahrir. Which there was. My strong personal view is that Cairo is very much open for business and welcoming travellers. Be as careful as you would in any city around the world and you will have a really interesting as well as exciting experience. Cap it off with a great guide like we had (Ayman from Emo Tours) and a few days in the Hotel Victoria and you might get just a few more memories packed in than you might have ever hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darron1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband as part of a tour with 18-35 year olds and booked a night the day prior to the tour starting. We did not see any other travellers, guests, tourist in the hotel nor in the surrounding area of the hotel. The hotel is situated in an industrial type area where it is very busy at night for the locals to be out and about, but be warned ladies, You Need to be covered Head to Toe if you want to walk around in this area and dont walk around by yourself. I wore a long strapless maxi dress with a shawl to cover my shoulders and the atmosphere was extremely uncomfortable that we had to return to the hotel for me to get changed into a high neck, long sleeve sweater. Everyone will blatantly stare at you, men will call out and leer at you and its just not nice. The locals around the hotel area do not accept tourist kindly. Once with the tour it was a bit better. The staff at the hotel try to be helpful but most have very poor English and asking for directions or advice is useless. The rooms are very old and dim but relatively spacious. The showers have intermittent hot water that comes and goes. As for breakfast, don't bother. We were up early both days at 7am and the cheese slices put out for breakfast where already sweating and curling at the sides. There is zero ambiance as we were the only ones there, eating stale crissonts in eerie silence as the polite but tired waiter loitered around trying to keep busy. If you are on a budget and need a bed, this is for you, anyone else, stay elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spiced85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was here before and after my Contiki tour in July and August of 2011. The room was very large. The ac worked nicely. The elevators kept having problems and at my end of the hallway all the lights were out. The staff were all very friendly. We had no troubles with the internet when we were there. The room was very clean as was the hotel. Yes, it was a bit noisy, but ear plugs really helped.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieNYC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stoppeda at the vic hotel before and after my contiki tour. The foyer and most of the people were nice, but the experience was made poor by the severe lack of water pressure in the bathrooms and the evil computers which were constantly crashing (browser hadn't been updated in 4 years.) One of the hotel staff refused to give us the computer time for free as it did nothing but crashed and was really rude when my friend gave her advice about getting it fixed. Also, they have no wireless which makes things really difficult. It had a nice garden out the back and the air con was good. My advice would be to put the money into the room facilities rather than the foyer. basics make a massive difference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My stay in the Victoria was due to the Egyptian tour I was on starting and finishing in this hotel. The location of this hotel is good, the main shopping area is 1-2 blocks away and this Shawerma place nearby is absolutely amazing for dinner / lunch.

The hotel itself is old, the rooms are spacious, but there isn't much too them. On my visit we did have a problem with hot water, or lack there of, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable I have ever used. All in all the hotel is average, but there is something to the old school Victorian charm of the Victoria Hotel. I really enjoyed the 60s vibe of the bar area and the bartender, not to mention Egyptian beer is really good.

For people transitioning through Cairo for a tour, or staying for a short time this hotel is definitely worth staying in for a day or 2. It isn't the nicest available and if you are using this as part of a tour and need to extend accommodation, it is worth looking at the more ubiquitous hotel chains however you should spend at least a night in this hotel and more if it is only being used as a bed.

Reading other reviews they may point out you can hear the call to prayer throughout the night and early morning and there is constant honking, but as my title, you're in Cairo. Staying in the Victoria is part of an Egyptian experience, don't make it a long experience as it won't be the highlight (pyramids, abu simbel, valley of kings etc.) but it is a bit of fun and something different compared to a know what you are getting big chain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
2.0 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#95 of 137 in Cairo
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#56 of 137 in Cairo
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 66 Al Gumhuriyya, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing