We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victoria Hotel...average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #87 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Puerto Varas, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Victoria Hotel...average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Victoria Hotel as part of a tour. I had recently read other travellers' reviews about it (not having hot water, extremely loud prayers at 5:00 a.m, among other things) so we were prepared. The "early wake up call" wasn't at all that bad, we found it rather enchanting.
Breakfast was not good.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for rooms at the back of the hotel, or else you're in for a very LOUD 5 a.m call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen19902807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    78
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
15
60
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I love this hotel, and will return. It's central, near a big train station, and major routes around the city and to the airport. The staff, all male I've just realised, are very warm and welcoming. The trip to the airport is about 15-20min and fairly cheap at 65EGP. There is a fairly cheap internet cafe in the hotel forecourt in which you can plug in your own laptop.
The downsides: The rooms have no wi-fi. Restaurant food could do with an Egyptian flavour, like shokeree (sp) for example, or delicious, calorie-busting Nubian/Aswan flavours. The room was freezing cold and the airconditioning wasn't even on. (Didn't have time to complain - had pyramids to see!) and there was no hot water the day on the day I arrived. tv remote didn't work, nor did telephone.
it's just slightly neglected by the management, otherwise it's a lovely place to stay. price not bad!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindiweTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is hotel is conveniently located near the station and a short walk from downtown and Khan-el-Khalili. The hotel has a certain old world charm and character, but at the same time is clean and comfortable. In some areas it feels quite posh and an old-school kind of way. Also, excellent value for money. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonyT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights on a group tour of Egypt. Although there were a couple things that we had to get used to (call to prayer in the early mornings, windows open wide without screens, can't drink the water) the hotel was charming! The restaurant in the hotel was good with decent prices. Make sure to buy a couple extra bottles of the water since you will need it throughout the day and night to brush your teeth, take medicine, etc. The rooms were clean and had air conditioning. The staff at the front desk were friendly and able to suggest a couple places for us to go to eat. They had a small internet cafe where my husband and I could log on and talk with our family back in the States. There was a small outside terrace where we enjoyed drinks although with the traffic it sometimes became a bit loud. There were several bazaars within walking distance of our hotel and a small cafe that served falafels for only 20 cents! I can't remember the name, but it was about a 4 or 5 block walk from the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Cairo area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the other side away from the Mosque in order to avoid 5am Calls to Prayers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here the night before departing back to Italy. I think it's an acceptable hotel for 1 night only, it's near the city centre, you can walk and there are many shops, bars, we found a very nice souq and that was the real Cairo, people leaving their lives on a daily basis. The room was big, clean but no hot water, well not even warm, just cold water, we did not have a shower and we are not particularly scared of the cold but trust me the water was freezing.
The breakfast was average quality. I loved the elevator without the door, you could see the walls in front of you and then the open corridor of the floors, really funny.
As I said, I woud not stay here longer than a night but it's cheap compared to many other hotels in Cairo so I would say acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SazziBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Victoria Hotel. The check-in procedure was pretty painless and I was very impressed with the lobby and the large lounge which did have doors so if you had a large group you could use it and not interfere with the regular hotel lobby. There was a small bar which had a great bartender who I hope to see again on my next trip. The restaurant had a limited menu and fairly basic breakfast, but what they had was good and we were all very happy with what we got. They did also provide an internet cafe which was ok though a few of the PCs were broken. The real complaint I had about the internet access was that some of the university aged guests who were flush with cash decided to reserve all of the computers all day long so they always had access. I would have hoped that the hotel would make sure that at least one other one was available for other guests, but I can understand that if the kids had money it was guaranteed income.

The rooms were spacious with very high ceilings and despite the high temperatures outside, they cooled down very nicely. The bathroom was also clean with well appointed. TV reception however wasn't that great, but I didn't go to Egypt to watch TV!

The location of the hotel is ok as you are very near Ramses Station if you want to catch a train. If you walk the other direction, it starts out a bit industrial, but after you walk by the Central Bank, you get into a nice shopping area that has a variety of restaurants as well.

All in all, this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thutmose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

I really liked this place. Yes the plumbing isn't great, yes we didn't always have hot water, yes the food in the restaurant isn't exactly gourmet, and yes if you are sleeping on the side closest to the mosque you may have an unwanted early morning call to prayer, but this place has great charm. The bedrooms are nice and very comfortable. The lounge area is lovely. The staff are sweet and very helpful. The food in the restaurant is not great but we dawdled there for a long time for the atmosphere created by the absolutely magic music they played from marlene dietrich to frank sinatra. Like stepping back in time. Loved it loved it loved it.

Room Tip: For a quieter nights sleep, make sure your room does not open onto the mosque next door. The early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catheriner39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#94 of 138 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 138 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#50 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 66 Al Gumhuriyya, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing