We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but we didn't spend too long”

Old City (Coptic Cairo)
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.50*
and up
Islamic and Christian Cairo Day Tour including Lunch
Ranked #9 of 310 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once known as the Roman stronghold of Babylon, Cairo’s oldest section is the ancient heart of the Coptic Christian community featuring five original churches, the first mosque built in Egypt and the oldest synagogue, all representing three of the major world religions.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting but we didn't spend too long”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Coptic Cairo is definitely worth a look, you get a good perspective of the history and our guide Ahmad from Egpyt Tours Portal gave us a very interesting background to places like the hanging church which are not surprisingly world heritage sites.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTheWorld84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    354
    94
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coptic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Being an orthodox Christian, I could not but visited Coptic Cairo sights. The same churches as in my country, lovely feeling of unity with people of another nationality and race.
Churches are very respected in Egypt, not only by Christians but by Muslims too.

Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bucket list - Cairo Old City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our guide was so informative. Look up "Love Egypt Holidays" and ask for Shereif to tour the city. Many people seemed happy to seem him there as we walked about. He holds more history in his head than I wanted to even tap into! AWESOME history.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Gorgeous architecture and history and the tours are well organised. Perhaps a little more dangerous now?

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DPL-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
263 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Interesting site but not a must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Coptic Cairo is interesting since it has a lot of the old Christian churches were Jesus is said to have been. If you are a person of faith especially if you're a Christian then it's worth seeing however if you were limited on time and had to miss Coptic Cairo I wouldn't be too upset about it.

Coptic Cairo is right beside a train station but a hired will easily take you here also.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City (Coptic Cairo) also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Old City (Coptic Cairo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing