We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and fun place.”
Review of The Snug, Maadi - CLOSED

The Snug, Maadi
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Barbecue, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Snug is a Bar come restaurant based in the quiet suburbs of Cairo in Maadi. It is a converted villa laid out and decorated to create a sense of charm, character and home from home.The Snug provides accommodation and full breakfast for overnight stays targeting visiting business professionals and tourists visiting friends and family resident in Maadi in 4 comfortably furnished, theme-decorated rooms, each with queen sized beds. All rooms will have a small flat screen TV, WIFI access, hairdryers, beverage trays & complimentary toiletries.The venue also consists of a bar, café/restaurant, garden & terrace perfect for the expat customer’s resident in Cairo. There is a fully stocked bar with large screen televisions, high seating at the bar and comfortable sofa seating elsewhere.NEW “Pool Room” opened on request.NEW "Shisha Zone" Open on the Terrace Through High Demand (5pm-11:30pm)Outside seating consists of tables and chairs with shading or heating provided depending on the season. The style is comfortable and eclectic and is reflected in everything from the choice of seating to the table cloths, napkins and quirky finishing touches to bring a smile to everyone’s face.The Restaurant hours are:Menu & Waiter Service throughout premises)Breakfast Served 8am-11am,Comfort food Wholesome Salad & Light Lunch menu available from 11am-10pm Bar Bites Menu available everyday from 5pm-10pmShisha Zone Menu From 5pm-10pmDesserts, Coffee and fresh Juice served all day.Open Pit BBQ in the Garden 11am-10pm every day.The Bar is open from 10am - 11pm Saturday Thru to Wednesday & 10am – 11:30pm Thursday & Friday.Breakfast is served from 8am providing a good variety to appeal to all including traditional full breakfast, All food is sourced from high quality suppliers, and generous portion sizes are provided. The main menu "The Comfort Food Menu" providing great cozy food wherever you’re from.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
772 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great food and fun place.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I love the food at this place, but it is a little expensive for Maadi. The staff always provides good service and it is a relaxing atmosphere. I have had many great steaks and cold beers at The Snug. So if you have a little extra coin in your pocket and want some really good food, then stop in and have a good time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali-Amin-Maadi, Owner at The Snug, Maadi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
HI Kyle, I am very happy to hear you enjoy our food and thank you for the lovely review, I see you think we are a little over priced. I am not sure how you come to that conclusion as you may know a Wagyu steak in most other restaurants in maadi would cost you about 500Egp ours is a mere 195Egp, I can assure you that we regularly check the market prices and try to stay competitive where we can, all out food is homemade and fresh and ingredients ordered daily, the only other place that I can think of that offers cheaper food in a similar but no where as near as good niche would be the a local expat club, but I have to say they are subsidized as it is a members only club funded by the members money and they do not pay taxes etc. I hope that clarifies our position on our pricing and look forward to having you back at The Snug :)

Kindest Regards

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snug Maadi- a surprise in Maadi for visitors”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have spent this year approximately 3 months in the Snug- yes 3 months on business and I love the Snug.

Why- staff are excellent from security to the guys and girls and house cleaning

Food- best burger in Maadi, best choice of selection of salads , fish pie, steak sandwhich and breakfast excellent.

The snug has a great bar and garden area to eat and meet friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank 71neilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali-Amin-Maadi, Owner at The Snug, Maadi, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Neil, Thank you so much for your lovely review, hope to continue seeing at The Snug :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great menu and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Snug is one of those little hidden treasures in Cairo. Its located in the suburb of Maadi around 20 minutes from downtown (on a good day). The Snug is has both an inside bar and restaurant and a seated garden area. Its menu is often changing but the basics are always there. I have been a few times - once for happy hour drinks and nibbles (amazing), once for lunch (nice light salad) and once at dinner time where I had the BBQ (chicken, coleslaw, corn and baked potato). The food style is Western Comfort food however they do have specials and seasonal menus (for example now they have a Ramadan Iftar and Sahor menu). Best of all the staff are friendly, the prices reasonable and the atmosphere is relaxed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALWCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali-Amin-Maadi, Owner at The Snug, Maadi, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks Amanda for your lovely review, hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
1 review
“amazing dinner”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

amazing dinner
i love the place the food the service every thing was perfect
thank you snug
i will always go their to fill happy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Mahmoud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali-Amin-Maadi, Owner at The Snug, Maadi, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
So glad to hear we make you feel Happy, Thank you for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
“Maadian”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I personally live in Maadi and I like Sung as it is very cozy and nice restaurant in my area I get good service and good quality of food and beverage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Nagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali-Amin-Maadi, Owner at The Snug, Maadi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much, look forward to receiving you again and again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snug, Maadi also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing