We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unreliable and unprofessional staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #48 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unreliable and unprofessional staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

You can't expect too much of a bare-bones place in this price bracket, but hot water should definitely be part of the deal. Not so at the Mayfair.

We had cold water in the bathroom throughout our three-night stay. When we complained, a desk clerk named Ahmed promised in writing that we would have hot water in the morning or the hotel would refund that night's payment (which the hotel required in advance).

Come morning, the water was still cold. But another clerk named Mohammed refused to honor Ahmed's promised refund and implied we were lying. A call to Ahmed brought more suggestions of lying, more refusals to honor the deal and enough circular logic to make Kafka snort.

The hotel's manager (who we were told stays in Canada all but four months of the year) should not tolerate such unreliable and unprofessional staff. Until the Mayfair manages to grasp the concept of customer service, this hotel doesn't deserve your business. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nevertoomanymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
13
20
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The May Fair is a nice, clean, bright and airy place in Zamalek, one of the nicer bits of Cairo. It's a regular hangout for international archaeologists en route from and to projects in the Delta and beyond. They make excellent guides if you chat them up and buy them drinks (as an archaeologist myself I speak from experience...!). The rooms are fairly well priced (320 LE for a double occupancy room; March 2013) although considerably more than - say - the Lotus. There is apparently leeway for negotiating lower rates for longer term stays, but as I only stayed briefly you would have to contact them yourself and find out. The rooms are en suite and pretty spacious. The corridors etc are perhaps a little clinical but you can see at once how much attention they spend cleaning the place, which is appreciated. Security is good. Reception staff are English-speaking and friendly. Service for drinks and so forth (no alcohol, of course, although there is a Drinkies at the end of the road) is friendly and a little disorganised; you are likely to have to remind the waiter to bring you your lemon juice (recommended) a few times. The best feature of the place is perhaps the long terrace that stretches the length of the building and is a great place to sit and chat. The breakfasts are fine...well...as long as you are in Egyptian mode. The area is quiet and rather attractive, with big houses and leafy gardens. A pleasant place to spend a weekend break or as a pied a terre for jumping off to other areas of Egypt. There are a few touts who approach you with constant offers of trips to pyramids and the like but they seem polite enough when refused. A couple of cabbies also hang about outside for the same reason, although they are a little more pushy. Don't take them as they are much more expensive than taxis from the main road just 100m away. I might also recommend you pop over to the Marriott Hotel for a drink at the bar so you can see the SPECTACULARLY bad taste of King Farouk, whose hunting lodge the building once was. Think in terms of Louis XIV and brace yourself. Also brace yourself for the price of drinks (about 75 LE for a cocktail).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSO1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I like this hotel. It is simple, clean and good value. Most of the rooms are in good condition, and the older ones will hopefully be renovated soon. Still, the staff are happy to move me to another room if there is one free so its no problem.
My tip would be to improve the breakfast; Stale rolls, processed cheese and jam are for the cheaper downtown hostels, the Mayfair should offer fresh higher quality bread, fresh cheese and foule / falafel at least; not costly and would keep the Mayfair well ahead of the others.
Thanks for the stay, I like it here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank compassion2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friend and I shared a double room for four nights - 170 euros total. Awesome! Nothing to write home about though. The staff were friendly and always recognized us, and our beds were made and towels were replaced every day (it's winter and they weren't drying on their own). Like most of Cairo, there is no heating in winter, but we did have an AC unit in the room. The breakfast is complimentary, but only bread, eggs, and tea (would have liked some fruit, but we bought some on the street). Shower was very small and took a while to get hot. There wasn't a safe in the room. Really though, very good value: the room was quiet and dark and I slept well.

Room Tip: Room 108 was so quiet!!! All the 100s are on the side street; the rest are facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacyhackner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at Mayfair Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of our 2 week trip through Egypt.
The hotel is idealy located in the island of Zamalek close to the bridge 15th May. Tahir square and the Egyptian Museam are within walkng distance. Along 26th July Street and north you do have a verry god choise of restaurants and shops.

The hotel is located in the first floor of the bulding.

Our room has had a fair size and WC and shower was working. Room was cleaned (swept) and beds were made on a daily basis. Hover you could see that for example a wet sweep of doors, etc was not done in the near past.

Breakfast, which was not good at all and verry spartanic, was consisting of sweet egyptian bread, an egg, one sort of jam and some cookies. As we are loving to have a good breakfast, this was a bit frustrating for us. Better breakfast can be taken at the main road.

Breakfast is served (actually it is akind of a mini buffet and you have to serve yurself) on the balcony (no inside breakfast room). As this balcony is showing to the west there is no sun on the balcony during breakfast time. This was ok for us during October and can be welcome during summer, on the other hand it may be too chilly during December to February.

The Hotel arranged a day trip to the Pyramids for us, which in the end was totally overpriced (EGP 240) and the driver did want to sell to us the use of a horse carriedge and other services
at Gizeh. When he realized that wer are not going to take these services he just dropped us at the side entrance to the Pyramids and told us the when can meet him at a specific coffee house when we do want to return. A simple tax to/from the Pyramids woud have saved us at least 50%.

Summary for us, we better would have spend a little more in a better hotel to meet our requirements.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsme57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The May Fair is a solid, though not great, option on Zamelek. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was nice. Our main qualm was that they recommended a driver for us (Hosni) who was very bad. We paid him for the whole day, but he showed up an hour late to pick us and up and then not at all to take us to the train station.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maxlevin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, MA United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

A perfect location. Feeling is more of a hostel. We enjoyed our stay with family, It was very easy to get to eating places and since the area has consulates it is very suited for international tourists.

Place feels very safe, specially if you are traveling with family. It is located on a very quite street.
We liked this more after we did a tour of the city and Gaza.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank delhiweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#39 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#28 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairo World Trade Center Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 9 Al Aziz Osman | Zamelek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayfair Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing