We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm respite in Cairo”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #54 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Calm respite in Cairo”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Located in the leafy and quiet expat/elite district of Zamalek, this is an excellent base from which to explore Cairo. Our friend (a Cairo native) had recommended we stay here at the end of a long holiday through Jordan and Upper Egypt, and we were not disappointed during our two-night stay. The staff were helpful in arranging trips to the pyramids and other tourist spots, and when we returned one afternoon to find our room semi-flooded from a leaky A/C unit, we were upgraded to a better non-leaky room.

There were no safes in the rooms, but we had no security problems (but then again, we have a habit bourne of years of traveling in hostels, of securing our belongings with our own locks). After we cleared out of the room, we still had some time for lunch before heading to the airport. Reception held our bags as we popped down the street to Cairo Kitchen a cute and delicious (and apparently very trendy) new restaurant. Upon our return, reception staff stopped me and asked me if I'd left anything in the room by mistake. Turns out I'd forgotten my Kindle in the bed-- luckily, they'd immediately cleaned the room and reunited me with my Kindle before we left for the airport.

Overall a lovely experience at the Mayfair and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzchrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
13
20
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nerang, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Mayfair twice on recent trip to Egypt, the first was the first night we landed in Cairo and the second time at the end of our month stay on our way back to the airport. The hotel is in a great location just of the main road of Zamelek and is up a flight of stairs easy to do with your bags.

The hotel staff were nice and would offer advice and assistance when requested, I did not find them rude or pushy with taking their driver your finding your own way. I recommend taking a few business cards for the reception area as they are good for giving to taxi drivers to get you back to your hotel. The reception area has a safe that we used, the make you count any money with them and than they seal the bag I thought this was a great idea as you both know how much money you expect to be getting back when they hand it over.

The rooms are nice the beds are not to bad to sleep in and the rooms we stayed in had bathrooms, not big bathrooms but they are the size you need.

If your looking for a good value place to stay close to it all than I recommend the Mayfair Hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend a 2 bedroom or bigger room. There is no WIFI in the rooms as your get further to the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Basic, decent accommodation at good value for money considering the nice area it is in. Located just of 26th of July street with has lots of nice cafes and shops. I asked for a room near the reception where i was able to recieve the WiFi signal. Really appreciated the free internet.
Friendly staff and basic breakfast. Managed to negotiate a discounted rate due to my long stay, and even though i left earlier than i had planned they still honoured the rate which i was pleased about.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihsanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Mayfair Hotel was our safe, calm home in Cairo during a time when Midan Tahrir had once again erupted in protests. On a quiet street in the district of Zamelek, just a block away from the many cafes and shops along 26 July Street, the hotel occupies part of the second floor of a large office/apartment building. Breakfast is served on the terrace but we ate inside on chilly mornings. Ehab and the other man behind the desk are always ready to provide advice and arrange for a driver to take guests to Giza or other places around the city. The staff are all helpful and keep the hotel clean. One evening, they let us warm food in the kitchen. The rooms are large and comfortable except the hot water runs out some mornings. We will definitely stay here if we return to Cairo again.

Room Tip: The en suite rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the May Fair in the suburb of Zamalek Cairo, good value for money, excellent location to shops and restaurants. Rooms are clean, have limited television, bar fridge and a very basic breakfast on their terrace. We did have trouble with hot water but they moved us into another room and called a plumber out to come and fix the problem with one of their main geysers. The staff were alright. It is a good budget hotel.

Room Tip: You must specify non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel twice over this Christmas season. The first stay was fine, we were there for 5 nights. The second stay, (we went to Alexandria and returned to Cairo for one night before our return flight home) was not so pleasant.

After returning from breakfast on the balcony on our last morning we discovered that money had been removed from both of our wallets, and also from a travel wallet, left inside our locked room. We had checked our money the night before, when we were in the room, as it was our last night and we wanted to know what funds we had available for the following days activities.

After returning from breakfast I noticed my wallet was open (and empty) inside my bag which struck alarm bells and so I checked my travel wallet which had had a sum of different currencies inside which was now empty too. My husbands wallet had a sole 10 Egyptian pound note left inside.

When we brought the theft to the attention of the employee at the front desk, he was instantly defensive and denied our claim, stating that it was 'impossible' that any money had been taken as we had the 'only key' and that there was no way for anyone to get into the room. He basically refused to listen to any of our reasoning (including the possibility that additional keys could have been cut by anyone for next to no cost) and was unnecessarily aggressive. He also and took no steps to solve the issue or avoid future occurrences, such as inquiring with other staff members if anything unusual had been seen, contacting the manager, requesting locks to be changed, etc. We were in no way blaming anyone or seeking compensation for our lost funds, but were simply wanting our concerns to be acknowledged in a professional manner.

Seeing that we had counted the money the night before and somehow between then and breakfast it had disappeared from multiple places (2 wallets, and one travel wallet) it seems undeniable to us that someone must have a key to the room or a number of rooms. As well as the possibility of dishonest staff holding these, there are also long term residents occupying some rooms.

It seems the theft was done in a manner as to not be noticed immediately, ie. no passports (luckily) or cards were taken, nor were our iphones which were both plugged in charging on the table. It is also interesting that the thief had left a small denomination of cash in my husbands wallet, possibly hoping that this would mean we would not notice the the theft until we had left the hotel or potentially not at all.

After getting very defensive with us, the only advice the front desk employee offered was that we could call the police. This was not an option for us as we were flying out that evening and did not want to spend our entire last day dealing with local police. Also at the end of the day, it was a relatively small amount of cash - totaling around $350 US so not really worth the hassle, more just an inconvenience and just put a dampener on our trip and hotel experience.

All in all, nice enough hotel and we realize that we should not have left our valuables unattended in the room, even when locked. However, a very disappointing final experience and will definitely not stay there again.

Room Tip: Not room 106 - unless it you have good travel insurance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewZealandWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel is in the upscale Zamalek part of Cairo. It is near dining and small grocery stores and is a part of Cairo you feel comfortable exploring on foot. Currently as I am surrounded by a large class of Swedish college students, it resembles a youth hotel but still not too noisy. However an older more reserved crowd or families may prefer something more traditional. But if you can handle a youthful crowd, It has a nice outdoor veranda where the guests gather, A nice continental breakfast is offered and the hotel is a very reasonable in price. What really makes this Canadian owned hotel is the cheerfulness and friendliness of the staff. It may lack some creature comforts but if you are looking for a comfortable and reasonable place to sleep and are not offended by a youthful and lively group of people, in a safe location you can explore a piece of Cairo. this may be your best place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room under the air conditioner and not in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concretecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#42 of 138 in Cairo
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#88 of 138 in Cairo
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#27 of 138 in Cairo
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.6 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 9 Al Aziz Osman | Zamelek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayfair Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing