We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive Indian food in Cairo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indira Indian Restaurant

Indira Indian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4,143 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Impressive Indian food in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I would not expect to find authentic and tasty Indian food in Cairo however Indira is an impressive exception. Indira has an Indian Chef and he is really professional. Moreover service is excellent and very efficient. After visiting here several times, my overall experience is all very positive. This is a must place to have a dinner in Cairo.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hakano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Hakano,

Thank you for sharing your nice experience in "Indira" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive positive feedback as such.

"Indira" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are very pleased we have reached our goal and made your visit enjoyable and memorable.

Your comments have been shared with all concerned staff and chefs in "Indira" as a reinforcement to them to continue their efforts to make it the best Indian restaurant in Cairo.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again to "Indira" at Holiday Inn Cairo Citystars.

Kind Regards,
Paul Schenk
EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    90
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent restaurant and food and the service has been exquisite as well. Thanks to the service team. We have had a delightful night

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nohataha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Nohataha,

Thank you for sharing your nice experience in "Indira" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive positive feedback as such.

"Indira" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are very pleased we have reached our goal and made your visit enjoyable and memorable.

Your comments have been shared with all concerned staff and chefs in "Indira" as a reinforcement to them to continue their efforts to make it the best Indian restaurant in Cairo.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again to "Indira" at Holiday Inn Cairo Citystars.

Kind Regards,
Paul Schenk
EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good with a lot more potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Indian cuisine is one of my favorites, but Indira was my first Indian restaurant experience in Cairo. Overall it was a good experience, with some room for improvement. We ordered: kachumber, raita, murgh makhani (butter chicken), rogan josh (lamb), vegetable curry, white rice, naan.

Pros
Staff were very friendly and efficient; good atmosphere; the customers looked like satisfied returning customers; the restaurant was not smelly; nice greeting gesture with the complimentary mango lassie; pickle and mint chutneys; the poppad, the vegetable curry, the tenderness and taste of the chicken and the lamb; we asked for mild and it was.


Cons
The menu selection had not much variety; the sauce of the butter chicken was not thick enough and looked like a masala sauce instead; the naan was not soft enough and after it cooled down a bit, it started to look more like thick Arabic bread; the rice was more starchy than it should; when we ordered more rice it took about 15 minutes although the waiter recommended at the beginning to order more later if needed and said it would not take any time, however by the time we got the second order of rice we had finished the food. The decor could be improved slightly. And overall the restaurant felt like it was catering for those who were not very experienced with Indian food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Osama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Sammy,

Thank you for sharing this constructive feedback about "Indira" on TripAdvisor. It is always through our guest comments that we can ameliorate our services and improve our performance.

I have communicated all your comments to the restaurant chef "Vikram" and corrective measures are now in place. I do look forward to welcoming you soon again to "Indira" and you will see the difference.

Kind Regards,
Paul Schenk
EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

great indian food especially the butter chicken and the tandori.
Very good service and atmosphere, one of the best experience around Cairo
still highly recommended for nice quality dine out in Cairo.
Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for sharing your nice experience in "Indira" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive nice comments as such.

"Indira" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are very glad we were able to make your visit enjoyable and memorable.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again to "Indira" at Holiday Inn Cairo Citystars.

Kind Regards,
Paul Schenk
EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
291 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good Indian food if you consider any curry to be Indian!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to start as it was a great disappointment! We went there based on friends' recommendation and the food had nothing to do with what we ate in India. It reminded us with Indian restaurant around universities in the US! The service was sub par as the order ha wrong items. Having said that, for the record, the manager was super nice trying to make it up for us and even discounted LE100 from the bill but it was too late as the night was ruined! Go there if you're not looking for real Indian cuisin experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Egyptian_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Egyptian Co,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about "Indira" with us for it is always through our guests' feedback that we can ameliorate our service and enhance our performance.

"Indira" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction, unfortunately, we have fallen short this time. Your valuable comments about the wrong order and the food have been shared with concerned staff and chefs in "Indira" and corrective measures are now in place to ensure non re-occurrence in the future.

I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting "Indira" again and we look forward to welcoming you soon in order to render you with the best service and product expected from our Brand.

Kind Regards,
Paul Schenk
EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indira Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Indira Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing