We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, cheap price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Roma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Roma
Ranked #7 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent place, cheap price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at Pension Roma in Novemeber, 2010 for 3 nights. We had to move rooms each night, since we showed up without any reservation, but each room was quite nice with high ceilings and wooden floors. Breakfast was simple but good. Overall pretty clean. Decent location in Cairo. The staff was not very friendly but the place has a certain 'Old Cairo Charm'. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southpole526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    60
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
47
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend, and I would (and have) recommended Pension Roma to friends travelling to Cairo. Located on the upper floors of an old building (with a really cool old open elevator to take you to the top) the hotel was clean and well run. Breakfast is included, and the staff was very helpful in arranging a driver to take us to the pyramids (without getting overcharged, which would definitely have happened if we'd tried this on our own!) The taxi from the airport even knew it by name so there was no issue with directions.

The rooms with the private shower are significantly nicer than the ones with shared facilities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

This has to be the best value in Cairo. Extremely well run hotel. Loads of old world charm. Excellent service. i am staying at the beginning and end of my trip and they are letting me leave some luggage in storage.

Lots of older travellers stay here, and/or younger travellers - many with a special purpose. The dining room acts as a social and information sharing area, plus use your laptop here.

Am staying in a single room with no a/c and shared bathroom which is fine for this time of year. They gave me an extra blanket and a second mattress to make the bed softer and warmer, as it's been a little cool in Cairo.

Have taken a look at the new wing, some rooms with private good bathrooms, a/c and heat, and are great.

There is a pedestrian only area only two blocks away providing lots of cheap food options and outdoor cafes. The area is two roads running parallel to each other. Ask hotel for directions.

This is my new home whenever I am in Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoSandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

i love this place and all the staff particularly the lady owner who ischarming...she always did her best to accomodate me even when the hotel was fully booked and i turned up with two ladies whom i met on the bus from sinai , one was on crutches with a freshly broken ankle ;they do their best to please all who come through their doors....not always easy.book in plenty of time and you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel is great, simple as that. It has it's bad points, but for the price it is worth it.

The location is very central, easy to get to many locations throughout Cairo from central downtown. However, the hotel itself is down a little side street, don't let the run down buildings put you off, that is just part of the charm of downtown.

The staff are a bit of a mixed bunch, the female owner is as miserable as sin but very efficient, whilst the guy is very friendly and professional, even remembering me when I returned a few times over a long period of travelling through Egypt. The restaurant too is not worth bothering with, when you can get service (which is not often), they are friendly enough but the options are extremely limited. It is much better to wander down the street to one of the abundant street vendors.

The rooms however are great. They are absolutely huge, with an air of old colonialism about them. You can actually imagine Agatha Christie writing at the old fashioned writing desks underneath the slowly turning fans. The room I had only had a shared bathroom, but the bathroom was spotless and the common area immaculate. The beds were comfortable as any I found in Egypt and I was very comfortable there. And for the price which was very reasonable (especially when I bargained them down a little upon walking in), I could not really expect more.

In conclusion, yes there are better and more expensive hotels in Cairo, but there are a lot worse too. This is a cheap, solid, dependable option.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelHuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

This place was quiet and lovely in downtown Cairo. Great location, walking distance to museum and market. Our room had a shower but no toilet. And lots of mosquitoes during November. Breakfast was basic bread and jam and coffee or tea. Overall, a lovely place for Cairo. Great for families.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed in Pension Roma 6 days altogether ( 3 days at the beggining of our trip and 3 at the end). We made reservations by email from Canada and last minute from Luxor since we changed our plans along the way. The response was prompt and had no problems. We stayed in the new extension in 3 types of rooms ( double room with shower/washbasin and ensuite and double room with washbasin and shower. The toilet was closed by and always clean, no It wasn't a big deal not to have an ensuite. We had a room with balcony one night and It was a treat . The rooms are very spacious , well lit and decorated. They also provided Raid plug-ins for mosquitoes.
Breakfast was good (tea-coffee + bread -jam-butter-soft cheese + fruit juice) . Service was quick and polite. We had breakfast in the balcony most of the time and enjoyed it inmensely. Didn't have lunch or supper though. The dining room was beautiful and there is also a reading area where people could hang out, check emails with free WiFi and watch TV.
Reception was great, super organized and polite . They were very knowledgeable about amenities close by. Jana was delightful and seemed genuinely concerned about our well being.
Location was perfect, 1/2 hour from the baazar, 20 minutes walk from the museum. Also 5 minute walk from the Metro (Attaba station) .
I would recommned this hotel anytime

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindyrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#97 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Roma

Property: Pension Roma
Address: 169 Muhammad Farid, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Pension Roma Hotel Cairo
Pension Roma Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing