We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand why anyone would stay here”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #78 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I don't understand why anyone would stay here”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at the Cosmpolitan back in December as it was the starting point for my tour group. If it wasn't for that, I would never have stayed at this hotel. It looks nice from the outside but once you get inside and into your room, you realise how how old and decripit it is. And given the relative high price for this hotel and the myriad of other options in the city, you can't help but feel a little ripped off. All the furnishings in the room were very old, the mattressed badly needed to be replaced, the hot water didn't work, and I had a nice view of the alleyway. I recommend looking elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ciphertext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    24
    10
    16
See reviews for
9
16
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hotel was ok a bit worn out. I had to get really really insistent about speaking to the manager and nothing was resolved. If you do stay here and have booked on the Internet do check.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kyotokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel through a tour package with GAP Adventures. The horrible reviews of 85% thumbs down given by patrons on the Trip Advisor website is well deserved. The entire hotel reeked pretty bad and it was not a scent that one could get used to over time. There was no hot water and not enough water pressure. The staff at the front desk was pleasant upon check-in but not accommodating to any other requests. There was a lot of street noise that continued until well passed midnight. If it were not for our exhausting flight, we probably would not have been able to sleep very well. The bed was however, very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Treena-Ari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We spent one night at this hotel because it was the starting point of our tour. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the mixed reviews on here but in the end I feel it was an acceptable place to stay. It wasn't perfect but it was alright.

One of things I appreciated about this hotel was its old classical style, and the building itself. Like so many of the high-rises in the area, it was built in a more booming, glamorous time for Cairo and has fallen into decay. The hotel has kept the building up relatively well and I quite enjoyed the art-deco style including the staircase and elevator.

The rooms feature very high ceilings and are upscale basic. We had a mini-bar (that was empty), small seating area and a bathroom that was larger than normal. Bedding was typical for Egypt with a large comforter and single pillow, and the beds harder than we are used to in North America. There was minimal lighting in the room and with the shutters closed, I found it quite dark. There were also old-school touches like a radio built into the nightstand, but it didn't work.

The lobby area is large with lots of seating and free wi-fi (just ask for the password). If you don't have your own internet device you can use the business centre in the lobby for a fee. There is also a tavern inside the hotel for drinks at night, and a restaurant for breakfast (that was included but very simple).

This a great area to stay - many things are within walking distance including a metro stop for the attractions that are located outside downtown. There were tons of places to eat, and things to do within a 5km radius.

All in all, this was a good place to stay for our night before the tour. I would have no problems staying here for a few nights on my own due to its excellent location and value. For the price, you are getting your moneys worth.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This government run palace is simply run down. The lobby is nice, but the rooms are not so nice. The floor was covered with cigarette ashes and I showered with about 10 bugs. The bathroom is simply scary looking. That being said, for 1 night this was absolutely fine because the location is smack in downtown Cairo. If I were staying longer, I would most certainly find somewhere newer and cleaner... Wifi is available in the lobby at no cost. Kudos to the staff... they were very lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Stayed here with a small group. The lobby is nice . . . the rooms don't quite live up to the first impression. The rooms I saw were all quite small and cramped. Otherwise, the hotel is fine. My room was clean and fairly quiet. Staff was generally helpful. The hotel is located in a very walkable part of the downtown - within reasonable walking distance of the Egyptian Museum.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at Cosmo 4 nights over the course of 2 weeks (3 different rooms).

First, make sure you bring directions to get there because nobody (taxi driver, locals) seemed to know where it was located based on the address alone.

This hotel is definitely old, which is part of it's charm. Elevator is quite an interesting piece of "technology".

Our rooms were ok (some are bigger than others) and kept clean. We had some problems flushing the toilet in one of our rooms though (only complain we had).
There is a busy street below, so if you're sensitive to noise, bring earplugs. Personally, we weren't bothered by the noise, but people travelling with us had to use earplugs.

Hotel is within walking distance of the Egyptian Museum and major shopping streets!

Staff were nice, but always looking for a tip (which is something you will get EVERYWHERE in Egypt, so don't be surprised).

This is the only hotel we stayed at in Cairo, but it did the job. Don't expect the Hilton.

You will most likely run into Youssef (he owns the papyrus shop in front of the hotel). He's a very nice guy and he might offer to show you around (as long as you agree to go for coffee in his shop after). He will try to sell you papyrus and will then take you to his cousin's perfum shop. Both of them were extremely friendly and nice. A taxi driver later told me that Youssef's papyrus are not of the best quality. We still enjoyed the time we spent we them regardless.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.9 mi away
Triumph Hotel
Triumph Hotel
#77 of 137 in Cairo
84 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
3.5 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
5.2 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
13.4 mi away
Sakkara Inn Hotel
Sakkara Inn Hotel
#6 of 54 in Cairo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 1 Talat Harb | Downtown, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing