We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing but tired”

Mosque of Ibn Tulun
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
Private Tour to Ibn Tulun Mosque, Gayer-Anderson Museum and Khan El Khalili...
Ranked #27 of 311 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is considered one of Egypt's largest and oldest mosques, which was built between AD 876 and AD 879 by an Abbasid governor sent from Baghdad to rule over Egypt.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing but tired”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The mosque itself never fails to impress but it is
Worth remembering that it was only renovated a few years
Ago and it is already looking tired and dirty.

Some hustlers sitting around too trying to extract 'money
For the mosque'

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMSuleiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    59
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Architecture”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Amazing Architecture. Great wall, drawings, history. Great view. with an exceptional Museum. bottom line a must see, no words to describe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibn-Batota36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“you got to get there”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

this place unfortunately not so many knows about it ,however it much better than other mosques on the touristic maps , huge , maybe the biggest in all cairo and the oldest as so far i know , so quite and not so many tourists there , you can wonder around peacefully without any interruption , plus the area around it so beautiful too

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mostafa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We found this mosque, which we were informed by our guide was an 'active' mosque to be very beautiful and imposing in its architecture as well as very tranquil and peaceful. We spent a lot more time here than we thought we would and I was lucky enough to be able to climb the minaret which, I am informed, is the only one in Cairo with an external staircase. Fantastic views over Cairo and well worth the climb (legs of jelly from the climb to Saqqara pyramid the day before).
Enjoy your time in this beautiful place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GaryandMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice if u r looking to learn bout islamic history”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

have been workin with the company holding the renovation of the mosque. enjoy picturing. arcitecure lovers will love it

Helpful?
Thank sherioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosque of Ibn Tulun also viewed

 

Been to Mosque of Ibn Tulun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing