We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Antiquity in the Heart of History”

Hanging Church (El Muallaqa, Sitt Mariam, St Mary)
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.30*
and up
Private 6-Hour Tour to Alabaster Mosque and Hanging Church in Cairo
Ranked #15 of 312 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This church, originally built in the ancient fortress of Babylon in Old Cairo around 4th century AD, derives its name from its location suspended above two Roman gate towers.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Antiquity in the Heart of History”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Everything I liked as it was holy & well described.There was a very good library for books,CDs & Pictures with different languages (English,French,German,....etc).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    142
    39
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Too Awesome”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Everything the whole experience was awesome--our friend is an Egyptologist and it was awesome having him with us or we wouldn't have understood all the history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
193 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“VEry Cool”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really nice place to visit. The story behind it is interesting and great architecture as well. Old Cairo is very interesting

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgold10529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cario
1 review
“wrong directio. wrong adress”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

wrong address. if you folowing the directing you must lost, shall you correct. i love the place but i can not follow the direct.

Helpful?
Thank tanxiaolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Learn more about Christian history”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This architectural building is also known as Suspended Church or Al-Moallaqa. It is located at the southern gate of the Roman fortress. This church has a painting of the Virgin Mary, which we pray. Hanging Church is well managed and architecture is done in a way that it perfectly complements the culture of Egypt. This church is beautiful and located at a very wonderful place.
We are amused to see the beauty of this Coptic Christian’s church. This place is very peaceful and serene. We felt very relaxed and internal peace, when we entered in the church and pray. Church will tell you about the history, tradition and culture of the Egypt. Embellished with precious icons, some of them dating back to the 8th century. No matter, you see other sites in Egypt or not, this church is the place which you do not miss at any cost. I must say, that church have which attracts me so much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanging Church (El Muallaqa, Sitt Mariam, St Mary) also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Hanging Church (El Muallaqa, Sitt Mariam, St Mary)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing