We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum should charge more and lift its game....”

Egyptian Antiquities Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Half-Day tour to Egyptian Museum of Pharaonic Antiquities
Ranked #4 of 311 things to do in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous museum houses the world’s largest collection of ancient Egyption artifacts (more than 120,000 items on display) featuring the famous Tutankhamun collection with its beautiful gold death mask and sarcophagus and the royal Mummy room, which houses an additional eleven Pharaonic dignitaries.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Museum should charge more and lift its game....”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

More signs and explanations of what is on display would be really helpful. Bit of air con and stop people sitting on ancient monuments would be good too. Don't get me wrong, I did like this place, but could have liked it more. If it means paying a few extra pounds to improve it, I am sure no one would complain...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank debplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,320
    1,210
    463
    140
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LUXOR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Covered in Dust.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

All we are is dust in the wind. It is a beautifully designed bldg, but the layout is rather challenging at times; lighting is OK, but the crowds this day were also an issue. It was a solid hit up the middle, not a ringing double off the left field fence.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dioscurii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best museum I've seen”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent a spellbinding day at this museum. It would take weeks to really do it justice - there is so much to see. Once you get inside, you can just walk around without being bothered by would- be guides. However, I really think it is worth paying for a properly qualified guide to explain all the highlights. We paid 180 EP (about £18) for a two hour tour with a guide called Ahmed, who really knew his stuff. He has trained for several years to become an Egyptologist and he was able to give us such fascinating background knowledge about the exhibits. Excellent value for money - we really didn't regret it. He also agreed to organise a private tour for us the following day to visit the pyramids, Sphinx, Saqqara and Memphis. We had a wonderful day - just 400 EP (£40) for a guide, driver and private minibus for an 8 hour trip. Ahmed can be contacted at ahmedkhattab85@hotmail.com or by phone on 01116409026.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place !”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Loved this place so much - Has to be the most interesting and exciting museum I have ever been too. Magical and so many ancient and exciting things to see.
You must go and allow a whole day.
Fantastic seeing the history of the Mummies - go into the Royal Mummy Room and of course the history of the Pharaohs and Tutankhamums tomb and mask.
You will love it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OH MY GOD!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Ok, so this is a local person writing a review about a place in his own country.
I'll talk first about the good part then I'll move to the bad one. So I've been so tens of museums all over Europe and it's actually unfair to compare this one to those "groceries". This museums contains thousands of unbelievable pieces of history that might drive a real expert crazy. In fact in another country this museum could split into like 15 museums. The life of people thousands of years ago is right in front of your eyes.You might need about 3 visits to explore the place if you want to see everything in details. I'm not going to talk about the sections of the museum because the best and only way is to visit yourself.
However, I can not stay quiet about the scandalous condition the museum is suffering from. O my God! People jumping and sitting on priceless monuments thousands of years old...Others smoking...Others taking pictures with and without flash although it's not even allowed to take a camera inside...Talking about the way pieces are kept...Dude!! Dust all over, pieces preserved inside broken glass, dim light, signs written by a type-writer from the 20s....
Please save the museum...I'm not sure when they'll be done with the new museum (probably in 2065) but please all history lovers move to save the museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELZOHEIRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egyptian Antiquities Museum also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Egyptian Antiquities Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing