We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet oasis with great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
“A quiet oasis with great amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

It costs a bit more, but you certainly get more than you pay for. We went with the club lounge and had great service all around and when we checked in, we got a complimentary upgrade to a suite. We had dinner in the Egyptian grill restaurant and more food than my wife and I could eat and it was all fantastic tasting. 40 British pounds is more than it would cost locally, but hardly exorbitant by hotel standards for the quality. Great views of the Nile everywhere but is set apart from the downtown by a 10 minute walk, so If you want to be smack in the hustle and bussle, there may be a better choice, but for a quiet place to get away at the end of the day that is still central to everything, it's a great choice. You should definitely walk a few minutes and barter for the hotel than take the taxis from the hotel, just as withvjust about every hotel in the world.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttocont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    332
    95
    32
    36
See reviews for
237
409
116
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

A safe haven from all the craziness of Cairo! Fabulous restaurants and a lovely pool area facing the Nile River. Only negative comment is the outside looks tired but the inside will not disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Greater London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Sofitel. In my opinion it is an outstanding hotel and one that will stay in the memory for a long time after you leave.

The location is magical - right on the Nile at the southern tip of Zamalek Island. The rooms are small but tastefully designed and the views (of the Nile and central Cairo) are spectacular. The restaurants and public areas are excellent.

The food and drink I had in the hotel was very good. Because of the location of the hotel there are no shops or local restaurants in the immediate vicinity which is a slight drawback. Also I thought the breakfast buffet was rather overpriced at 25 US dollars.

You can walk to the Egyptian Museum (tip -go late afternoon when it is less crowded). Be sure to save some time to use the hotel's heated outdoor swimming pool - you feel as though you are swimming in the Nile.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

The food is great, the hotel itself is having a great view over the nile river and the working staff are friendly , location of the hotel is good, you need a taxi to reach the center but at Egypt prices are afordable

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anooos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceElGez, General Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah on your recent trip. It was a pleasure reading your positive remarks regarding our prime location; our guests are indeed fortunate to enjoy a unique setting with magnificent views of the Nile when staying in Cairo. Your positive feedback about our restaurants and the service you received has been passed on to our team. At Sofitel we take great pride in providing a personalized approach in serving the finest cuisine from around the world. We look forward to being your host once again during your next visit to Cairo.

Sincerely,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

After a lot of research and with the fantastic help of Mr Mohamed Sattar in reservations, we decided to book a luxury club room for our 3 day stay directly with the hotel by email.

As previous posts have mentioned the hotel is in Zamalek, an island in the nile. A perfect setting amidst the hustle and bustle of Cairo.
Arriving at the hotel you pass a security check point with armed guards and sniffer dogs then a short drive round to the entrance. Our taxi was greeted promptly by the friendly door staff and our luggage taken inside. You then need to pass through a xray scanner.

As we had booked a club room we were advised to make our way to the 16th floor for our private check in, the staff here were lovely and much to our surprise advised that our room was ready and we could check in early, they also provided us with loads of information regarding the included extra facilities of the club lounge.
- A La Carte Breakfast
- Tea, coffee, soft drinks through out the day
- Canapes, pastries, cheese and biscuits, finger buffets at various times
- Open bar of Alcoholic drinks between 1830-2000 (excl champagne)
- Free wireless internet
- Full conceirge service
- Late check out

Our room was on the 22nd floor with spectacular views over Cairo and The Nile, a spacious twin room with bathrobes and slippers, toiletries, mini bar, safe etc. On phoning housekeeping they provided a iron and ironboard within 10mins. Plenty of hangers and storage space. Cleaned to a very high standard. Excellent large walk in rain shower.

The pool area was smaller than expected with limited sun loungers, but excellent service from the pool boys and waiters, pool towels and pillows and food and drink.

We had a delicious sandwich by the pool, if its only a small snack youre after one portion is enough for 2 to share. We ate at the Buddha Bar, having placed our order the chef appeared to advise he wasnt happy with the quality of the crab i had ordered and offered some complimentary alternatives, fantastic service and amazing sushi. We dined at Kebabgy, traditional Egyptian food served on individual hot plates, again cannot fault the food or the service, we even had an apple flavour sheesha pipe! Our last day we ate at Windows on the nile and had a late afternoon tea style selection of sandwiches washed down with amazing cocktails!

A very easy 20min walk over Qasr El-Nil bridge and through the metro underpass will take you to the Cairo Museum.
If you are feeling adventurous, from outside the hotel near the bridge flag a white or yellow taxi (metered) to take you sightseeing or into town.
The hotel bellboys can also call you a more reliable black cab to take you into town for 30le or to the airport for 120le

We had a fantastic stay here, the hotel was perfect with lots of amazing facilities for when you are not out sightseeing, i could be here all day mentioning everything and all the great staff which are a credit to the hotel!

We will definately return one day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank di73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceElGez, General Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah on your recent trip to Cairo. I am happy to know that you had a great time with us. I also want to thank fellow travelers who took time to write a review about us on tripadvisor and made it easier for you to choose the best hotel in Cairo.
We certainly enjoy the best location with breathtaking views on the Nile.

Our Sofitel ambassadors say a BIG thank you for your appreciation of their services. Such feedback definitely help in staff motivation and thus better service standards.

The mention of Mr. Mohamed Sattar will help us in staff recognition and rewarding at the end of the month. If you would like to acknowledge services of any other ambassador, feel free to write to me on customer-service@el-gezirah.com anytime.

I hope to see you again on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We arrived as a large group early in the morning only to find out that our room would not be ready for 2 hours. After traveling 22 hours, this was not the news I wanted. The hotel management tried to be accomodating and gave us some free juice. My friend told me about "Egyptian time" and sure enough 2 hours turned into 4 hours. I finally got to my room and started unpacking only to find that the trash in the bathroom had not been emptied. It's a strange feeling knowing which gender stayed in the room before me just by looking at the trash. Too much information, I know. I immediately took a shower and was not surprised to find very long black hairs in the tub with me. And by the way, I have short hair. To say the least, the room was not clean.

Admittedly, I'm a positive person. So, let me share the good points. The location of the hotel is pretty good. On the Nile and in the heart of the city. Safety seems pretty good at the hotel and aside from my check-in fiasco, the staff did try to provide good service. The food is above average but not incredible. Nevertheless, for the price, it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

The Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah is one of the best hotels to stay at in Cairo. It was our honeymoon so they gave us an upgrade to their club rooms, which include, breakfast, and cocktails and snacks in the evening. The view of the nile was spectacular. The staff is super nice. They were very attentive and helpful whenever we needed them and in the club room they go out of their way to make your staff especially enjoyable. There is free internet in the club lounge along with in your room.
The pool is one of the nices pools I have seen. An infinity pool overlooking the Nile. Its great to relax all day in the hot Egyptian sun.
I would recommend this hotel for pleasure or business. The stay was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie123076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing