We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the centre of bustling Cairo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #3 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis in the centre of bustling Cairo”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This is a great hotel at an excellent location at the southern tip of the island of Gezirah/Zamalek. There is no traffic noise (a rarity for Cairo hotels) except for the little boats that flock the Nile and pass the hotel with blaring music but in my opinion this only makes it more atmospheric. Good and efficient service, lovely food. Friendly staff but not very personal. Our (standard) room on the 9th floor was well appointed, clean and, an absolutely great bed. The only drawback was the balcony which was tiny (only one chair would fit there) and not very inviting. There is no room for breakfast on the balcony but it could be that other rooms have more spacious balconies? The other drawback is that the prices for the extras are quite steep (think upper European level). The swimming pool area looked very inviting but we had no time. Judging by the small ashtray inside our room was a 'smoking room' however there was no smell at all! So non-smokers should not worry - at least that was our experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitocris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Allow me to seize the opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your comments.

Your comments are valuable for us; it will allow us to enhance our service quality. Please accept our deepest apologies for your inconvenience, we promise we will do our best to prevent it from happening again. We would like to welcome you again to our hotel to witness the increase of service quality.

Should you have any questions or concerns; please do not hesitate to contact us.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    347
    100
    34
    37
See reviews for
249
427
123
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

First stay at the Sofitel Gezirah with a group, all coming from the US. We stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Great location, right on the river, all rooms with great view. I enjoyed having a drink at night at the Deck. Good service: hotel manager, met us next day we complained about the hotel limousine service (very expensive, 5 times normal taxi prices).

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunoTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Out of all the hotels I have stayed in Cairo - nearly 8 different ones - I must say that Sofitel El Gezirah has some great amenities, many areas and restaurants for R & R. Whereas many business hotels have a lobby/foyer or a restaurant to while away time outside the room, this one has many areas hugging the Nile where lone travelers can sit and read a book etc.

However for the price one pays the rooms are average - not positively luxurious. From the 3rd floor upwards the view is good if you get a Nile view room. The staff are relatively sullen and the service sluggish in a city where a junior waiter in the most basic restaurant is very polite.

I must point out to travelers that they should walk out to the main road on the left of the hotel (2 minute walk) to get a taxi as one called by the concierge will charge 3 times as much even if it is a black and white taxi. It seems the bellboys are in the scam as when I asked them to translate to the taxi drivers to switch on the meters I was told that the norm was a standard charge, which is not true!

There is the famous Buddha Bar of Cairo in this hotel. There are other restaurants by the bank of the Nile which are also very good. Generally the food is very good as are the conf facilities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurajShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

After reading reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to stay using the club option. Was an amazing experience - staff very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast in the lounge and served to you - best ever french toast I have had. Rooms a bit small due to the circlar nature of the hotel, but clean and modern and very trendy. Location is on the nile and was great too. Recommended highly for a stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit; our team is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was the nicest place we stayed in during our 12 days in the Middle East. As others have said, you feel like you're on a quiet island amid the craziness of Cairo. Nice breezes in the morning during breakfast. The buffet breakfast has many options. The pain au chocolat is delicious!
We were lucky to be upgraded to a Royal Suite on the 23rd floor. Honestly the place was bigger than most people's apartments! Too bad we didn't spend much time in the hotel.
The desk staff and Bell Captain were very nice. We went to Luxor for 1 overnight and they had no problem holding our suitcases until we returned.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit; our team is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Sofitel El Gezirah is no doubt a great hotel. Brilliant view from the pool and the rooms. It is in a great location and has great ambience and atmosphere.

But I couldn't help but think the restaurants let the place down. The breakfast was alright, but we thought it was on the expensive side and didn't offer enough variety compared to other hotels in Egypt we stayed in.

We ate at the Kebabgy one night and were highly disappointed with the service and the food. The service was terrible for a 5 star restaurant. The waiters appeared to operate like headless chickens, and the lady who was in charge ignored us and other tables on numerous occasions. The beef shish kebab tasted terrible (the meat tasted slightly off) and we didnt eat it all. My wife felt quite sick afterwards.

BUT, I am only offering that information for the benefit of the hotel. Do not let that put you off staying at this very polished hotel. You will not go wrong booking here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Allow me to seize the opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your comments.

Your comments are valuable for us; it will allow us to enhance our service quality. Please accept our deepest apologies for your inconvenience, we promise we will do our best to prevent it from happening again. We would like to welcome you again to our hotel to witness the increase of service quality.

Should you have any questions or concerns; please do not hesitate to contact us.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

If you have a look of a panoramic view of Cairo’s Nile area,
It is not difficult to understand that the Sofitel El Gezirah is situated
at the most beautiful quarter of the city. At the edge of a small island into the Nile,
every walk to the hotel’s outside area & every look around was a romantic script.
Entering to the Hotel’s lobby there is a Sensitive atmosphere
where an impressive chandelier, a classical piano and a wide view to the Nile
are lovely complicated.
The room we stayed at the 18th floor (Deluxe Club Sofitel) was Cosy, comfortable & clean & had a perfect view! The nice bathroom provided “HERMES” shampoo & etc. That’s cool!
It also was a plus that they offered us cool juice at the reception desk for the check in,
& there was complimentary mineral water at the room. Staff was polite & everything was kindly serviced! We also liked the Breakfast & every meal we had to the “Le Deck”, “Buddha Bar”, “Vendome” & “Sud restaurant” was delicious!
It maybe costs double to have dinner in the hotel however it is safer than a dinner
to a Cairo’s restaurant that you have not recommended.
Hotel, also organizes excursions to the sights of Cairo. We booked one to the Pyramides,Sahara & Egyptian Museum, at the price of 110$ / person, Included a private driver & your own guide! It is the safest way to get around the Cairo as there are annoying people.(I mean local men that close tourists asking for money).
Finally for those they like “Lucky Plays” there is a French small casino (free entrance &
drinks) where we spent free time playing Roulette (bet from 1$ !).
We loved this truly 5star Hotel & we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia_Abulwafa, Marketing Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your visit to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah.

We were delighted to have you with us, I conveyed you valuable comments to our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit, our staff is waiting to make your stay the most memorable one.

Thank you for your nice comments, should you have any inquiries or requests please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to receiving you again.

Dalia Abulwafa
Marketing and E-Commerce Manager – Sofitel El Gezirah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing