We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“w0w!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“w0w!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place in the middle of cairo with wonderful view! This place s got everything you might want decorated both in a modern and a classical way!! I didnt stay long to enjoy all the amenities of the place but i enjoyed myself during my stay at Sofitel!! Recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spirosssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    352
    102
    36
    37
See reviews for
268
438
128
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great place to stay in order to enjoy Cairo. You wil find peace on this island in the center of town. It can be a place to stay and relax by the pool or at one of the numerous bar with view on the Nile or use as a your center place to visit Cairo and surrounding.

Room Tip: Go above 16th floor. Great vies and services
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Guest service pepole and front office pepole with their manger mad/ gehan al beally are very good quite and do always all the best for all visitors. I would like to thank the morocco restaurant especially saeed, and the spa area, also i would like to thank the housekeeping members for all of their efforts . I would like to thank everyone in this hotel for making us feel comfortable when we are there. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmael1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

As a general comment, service is excellent. Staff is very much committed with special and particular care to client needs. This is very much appreciated (specially breakfast team at the 16th floor and doorman with a very personal and human attitude). Congratulations also for the fresh flowers and floral decoration. Rooms are nice and the modern style is great. For a long stay, there are a bit small. Music in all common areas is a little bit repetitive and at some point it could be disturbing. The outside areas are very well maintained and very peaceful, the location close to Nile river is excellent. Food is ok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pepilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Firstly despite the media sensationalism we felt safe and comfortable in Cairo and did not encounter a single problem or felt concerned for family or child.

Went here with family and one child. Very clean (except for the smoking that was allowed indoors, but this has significant French influence).

Food - clean and not once did we get ill. The food is pricey if you live outside of major European city, but coming from London prices were comparable, though still felt very high for Egypt. 2 vegetarians and 1 carnivore, vegetarians did not have an issue due to the variety of food available.

Rooms cleaned well. Beautiful views of the river from some rooms as well as restaurants.

Hotel chauffer service was good and professional (ask for the 2 young guys - highly professional service), Make sure you take care to negoitate prices, including tip so you dont get add ons at the end. Pricing is competitive compared to London Taxis so we chose this over local Cairo taxis (which are very very cheap but may not speak English). We used the service throughout our stay including all major trips as air con and car safety was important. Drivers exceptionally safe and careful drivers.

If you really want to /must take local taxis, AVOID the local taxis directly outside the hotel and go to the main road and hail one down. The taxi drivers outside the hotel are lazy and prefer to overcharge, wont use meter and are likely to take you to somewhere you dont want to go.

The staff and food in the restaurants more than exceeds expectations and we felt our child was well cared for and happy, which made a huge difference to our trip.

Use the concierge service to book things, we did not realise this until later on, but it saves the headache of haggling, which can be time consuming and draining in the heat, particularl if you have children.

Gym and pool absolutely friendly staff, very clean and service excellent.

Breakfast very well done and Yazmin playing the harp gave a nice ambience to the place,

Only problem was the breads and croissants. Surprised due to the numerous French visitors, but it appears (not sure) they are not using proper butter. The after taste felt oily, I just hope they were not using palm oil.

Also ask for the airport chauffer pick up service, makes it a smooth ride after a long haul flight. Call up hotel after you have booked the rooms and let them know date and times of flights.

Excuse the spelling I was taught in the UK's third world education system.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience for your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

1. It was a good expereince but we suffered alot emotionaly with the checking in expereince as we waited for more than half an hour while Mr. Noor the receptionest were checking us in and probably forgot us being busy with something else. After more than half an hour Mr. Noor refused to check us in and told us that we did not have any reservations which we were sure of as we gave him the reservation No. And our names But it did not seem to help. During this unwelcoming , emotionaly draing, bad expereince with the checking in process. This person Mr. Noor the receptionest was very unwelcoming, unhelpful, unpolite and careless with us as he told us at last I can not help you , then he said go and call the reservation office in the hotel becuase I can not help you; obviously he did not also have any problem solving skills as well. This was a disgusting expereince just where we expected a fair warm welcoming at start. We urged ourselves to call our agency in USA; that we reserved the room with. Then Mr. Sayed sameer came to us and he partly solved the problem by taking our visas and allowing us to go to our room to relax at least until they will find a solution to this unresolved check in problem even with our reservation number in hand!! After our agency talked with receptionest Sayed Sameer and were angry about our check in process that has nothing wrong with it except the hotels own system or understanding!! Then they called us back again for a proper check in! By the way we have not received any recompensation for this hussel or emotionaly draining expereince not even a drink while we were waiting more than half an hour for them to solve the problem.

2. We did not find any tea bags or coffee or any cups or cattles or even fruits in the room as we always see in a 4 or 5 star hotels around the world. The room was tidy and clean. There was no balance and no water sprayer in the toilet. Tissues, shampoos and other facilities for the bath was good. We found neither a prayer rug nor a campus to show you the prayer direction. We had difficulties with the bottels of water and we had to phone 3 to 4 times every day to get some bottels of water. We suffered from the noise of loud music at mid night not allowing us to sleep as it came from some of the hotel's restaurants.
3. The breakfast was perfect and rich of varieties of lovely choices that we loved and enjoyed. A special thanks to Mr. Ahmed Younis the juice maker in the breakfast period as he was very polite very welcoming and nice person doing his job perfectly with his recomendations of lovely juices mixtures as well.
4. The trolly and car park staff were lovely and very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsissh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations for this stay, please accept my sincerest apologist.

It is indeed a concern that you feel the services offered was not up to the expected fine standards; we will of course take this very seriously and rectify any unusual shortfalls that may have occurred during your stay.

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, as honest opinion and constructive criticism is the only way that would enable us to improve and meet our guests expectations.

Sincerely Yours,


Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

i like this hotel so much and thanks for the great team i had very nice moments in this adorable place. the service was excellent the Cleanliness as well . i can tell that the room and the location of the hotel was amazing. after all it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khalife t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
1.9 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing