We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Nearby Hotels
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo(Cairo)
$125
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Meridien Cairo Airport(Cairo)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
$90
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$96
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Cairo(Cairo)
$106
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$155
$135
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,905 results
Traveler rating
1,257
429
124
41
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,257
429
124
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoroccan restaurantle deckinfinity poolsouthern tipnile riverluxury roomthe club loungeamazing locationhigh floorbreakfast buffetspecial thanksegyptian museuman oasisnile view roomtahrir squarekebabgyspa
Filter
Updating list...
945 - 950 of 1,905 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Dear Sofitel El- Guizrah,
We had an amazing trip to Egypt in June 2013. We stayed at the Sofitel Cairo El-Guizrah Club floor rooms. This hotel is amazing and staff could not do enough for us on our stay.
This is a First class Hotel in Cairo beautiful and amazing is all we can say. The Nile view from our room was breathtaking the Pyramids of Giza by day and especially at night the Nile came to life with music and dancing.
The boats going up the Nile in the evening dazzled us below with their flashing colors and music. Our room was large extremely comfortable, we had everything we needed any enquires we had were attended to without hesitation from any of the staff and management.
We would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Thank you Sofitel El Gezirah Staff for making our trip to Cairo so pleasurable we will be back one day and know for sure where we will be staying.
Kindest regards,
Gordon & Jean Hay
Melbourne Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was one of the best places i visited in Cairo, the view on the nile from all the sides the restaurants from different cultures the piano bar, the rooms everything is perfect and the service provided by a friendly staff
the only negative thing is that the hotel is far from the streets so. in case you need a taxi you have to walk 15 minutes and the taxi drivers in the hotel are not reasonable
i highly recommend sofitel

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but preferably to take a room on the highest floors for two reasons: better view and far from noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I recently stayed here on a work trip for 3 nights in early June. The hotel is in a great location in central Cairo, close walking distance to Cairo Tower, the Egyptian Museum and Tahir Square, with the River Nile right next to the hotel.

I stayed in an Executive room which offered great Nile views over this massive city. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large, very clean and pleasent to use.

The pool area, especially the Infinity part, was really nice and had great views of the Nile close by. The only downside was that it was slightly complicated to get to (i.e going to level two, walking through the spa and then back down to level one to access the pool.

The food at the hotel was really nice, although there wasn't a great deal of choice at times, but everything I had to eat was really tasty and enjoyable.

The casino was a nice cheap place to drink however the Buddha Bar is a lot nicer, although the prices reflect that, it is a lot nicer experience. The bar offers night views of the Nile, with all its twinkling lights and is quite special.

Overall this is a superb hotel. It is in a great location, close to most of the major sights of Cairo, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the decor and facilities were top notch. I would'nt hesitate in recommending this hotel to others, and if all other Sofitels are like this, then I would be sure to bear them in mind in future destinations.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms offer great views of the Nile.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Sofitel and have to say that we absolutely loved the place! Nour at Reception, Mohamed in the breakfast restaurant and Kareem (Events manager) are fantastic and all made our stay enjoyable and easy!

We stayed on floors 10 and the 23 and both had great views, wifi in room is great and the swimming pool area was comfortable and served tasty food!

The breakfast was amazing, smoothies, cold and hot meats, Omelettes, fruit, cereal and even skimmed milk! Sitting outside with views of the Nile was also really nice and the grounds surrounding the hotel are really well maintained. Try a 6am walk and you won't regret it.

I was slightly worried travelling to Cairo with all the protests but want to reassure anyone that it is perfectly safe. Great security to get into the hotel and I even walked the streets at day and night and felt fine. Would recommend the Sofitel above the Four Seasons and Kempinsky and can't wait to go back there. Thanks to everyone who made our wedding special! See you next year inshallah.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yido86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence. Please rest assured that your thanks would be conveyed to all staff concerned.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Sofitel Gezirah Hotel in Cairo. Hotel is very well situated on an 'island' on the River Nile in the centre of the city with fabulous views and has a spectacular lobby area. All the staff are very friendly, courteous and well trained and the rooms extremely comfortable and clean. The situation of the hotel with seating areas and swimming pool looking out immediately over the river makes for an unforgettable experience. The Buddha Bar is very atmospheric and the buffet in the main restaurant has a great choice both for breakfast and evening meal. Definitely one to be recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews