We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the nile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

First for the positives the rooms have great views of the Nile. Secondly take breakfast outside with the birds fluttering and the boats cruising past on the Nile is a must. The check in staff are very local in their custom. Speaking on the phone while trying to serve you and then helping another guest they call it multi tasking I call it slow and poor service. Also be careful if they say non smoking room it usual means it will be non smoking because you don't smoke.  Check the room for he obvious give away clues like an ashtray, matches and the stink.  Go back down and ask to change. They do this and tell you you have now got an upgrade. What they forget is you saw the last room and the new one is exactly the same.  Aside from these local difficulties it's in a nice part of town overlooks the Nile and eating breakfast outside is a major plus and the Internet is free. The car service by the hotel although expensive is immaculate.  Took a tour of the sites with an Egyptologist on a morning I had free -  not just a local tour guide - not cheap but he is highly knowledgable and has masters degree in Egyptoligy. Hisham Elsayad and his e mail is hsayad@hotmail.com 

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on some points of your stay; please allow me to express my sincerest apologist.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your referred to check-in long process and wrong room blocking different than what you requested to prevent future re occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Cairo. We have stayed in many luxury hotels before and the Sofitel did not disappoint. The location is very central, close to Tahrir Square and a short walk away from the Egyptian museum. On arrival, we were immediately upgraded from the Luxury Room Club Sofitel to one of the Prestige suites. The room was spacious and smartly decorated. The views from the balcony were stunning. The pyramids could be seen in the distance, while the river flowed underneath us. Breakfast and snacks were served throughout the day in the Club Sofitel Lounge, one floor beneath our room. The gym, the indoor and outdoor pools and the spa were excellent and never crowed. Free alcoholic beverages were served between 18:30 and 19:30 for those who wanted a quiet drink in the Club Lounge after a nice workout in the gym, a swim in the pool or after an exhilarating day of sight seeing. The staff were always extremely helpful, warm, friendly and knowledgeable. We organized a couple of trips into Cairo and Giza through the concierge and we were impressed with the quality of the guide, who told us that he had a 4 year degree in Egyptology. During our stay, President Morzi assumed an increased level of power that resulted in demonstrations and the news from the television was not particularly reassuring. Staff gave us sound and reliable advice and we managed to rearrange our initial well thought out plan without missing any of the key activities that we had planned on seeing. The service we received throughout the hotel befitted a 5 star luxury hotel. We highly recommend it and will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 38Juan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram223
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

this was our post-cruise hotel & we had 2 nights there. it was very nice, each room had a balcony & great view of the nile & the many beautifully lit boats that sail along. the restaurent had a lovely setting , breakfast & dinner had excellent choices.
it was about 30 minutes walk across the bridge to tahrir square , the opera house & museum is also nearby.
the surrounding area was very busy when we visited as it was a national holiday + the weekend.
people were very friendly , teenagers love to have a talk & enquire where you come from.
we certainly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godzilla_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This a great hotel with a great location. Close to Tahrir Square and also the museum. The rooms overlooking the Nile would be preferred. It also has a great restaurant at the Nile coast and the picture spots are amazing. We had a nice suite and was enough for the family with two kids as the living room has a sleeper sofa.
The staff is nice at times a little curt but overall it was good. Use independent guides and trips as the Hotel ones are overpriced and have limited spots.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view and high floors and you might be able to catch the glimpse of the Pyramids from th...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrVAhluwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence. Please rest assured that your thanks would be conveyed to all staff concerned.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lovely hotel.......very quiet within the madness of Cairo. Great Nile side location. Nice rooms (although a bit small) with Nile views. Great beakfast by the Nile and good for taxis. The only negative is the reaction of the Reception which is not very welcoming and appears quite indifferent to the customer. This was at both check in and check out.

HOWEVER..... when I had a problem the hotel was excellent. Due to my stupidity I left my lap top in my room when I checked out. I only realised this when I had gone through security at the airport. I called the hotel and Amir, the telephone operator managed to locate the laptop through housekeeping and Alaa the Duty Manager arranged for a car to take the lap top to the aiport where is was collected by an excellent BA representative and brought to me at the check in desk. This could easily have been a disater for me but the staff at the hotel pulled out all the stops....... excellent service.

I have been to Cairo many,many times on business and I am well used to unco-operative and indifferent hotel staff so this action by the Sofitel and Alaa the Duty Manager was very refreshing and most helpful. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the best views Eat on the terrace for beakfast....wonderful !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this hotel,which has a superb position and is situated on an island in the Nile. The hotel is tranquil in contrast to the bustling Eygptian capital and breakfast may taken about 50metres from the waters of the river itself.Tahrir Square and environs are within easy walking distance.Staff are attentive and service is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors provide better views of the Nile and Cairo
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Our Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,449 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
1.9 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 139 in Cairo
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $131 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Prestigia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing