We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofitel Cairo El Gezira gives 5 star accommodation in perfect location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sofitel Cairo El Gezira gives 5 star accommodation in perfect location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We escorted a group of 27 from Australia and all agreed that the Sofitel Cairo El Gezira rates as one of the highest. I particularly enjoyed the fine cuisine and the friendly and professional courtesy of all staff. The Level 16 Club Sofitel facilities were excellent.
You simply can't beat this location - just a short, pleasant walk to the Museum, Tahrir Square and the Cairo Tower.
Great Nile views (you're right on the Nile) and many rooms give you wonderful views of the pyramids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    321
    92
    32
    35
See reviews for
220
391
116
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Our stay was beyond expectation, wonderful and pleasant

Room Tip: Select number xx18+\-
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khouqeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment. The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team, as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The room was large and had all the amenities and the view was great along the river. The restaurant buffet was superb with fresh honey dripping from a honeycomb and all kinds of salads, entrees for dinner and a large delicious selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtn1moma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment. The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team, as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had an amazing time at this hotel. It is spotlessly clean and the view from our room over the Nile was breathtaking especially at night. All rooms have Nile views! Our room was comfortable with crisp white Egyptian cotton sheets - heavenly. The service was good to outstanding and there was someone there whenever you needed something.

Whenever we went out we were welcomed back most warmly by door staff and reception staff who were quick to remember your name and use it at every opportunity.

The breakfast here is probably the most comprehensive I have ever seen anywhere in the world. Egyptian delicacies as well as international cuisine beautifully displayed made selection very difficult. Lunch and dinner buffets are equally impressive. Yes the selection is quite amazing. Sadly there were very few tourists to enjoy it all.

I would recommend a visit here while the majority of tourists stay away! It is a gem and we had no problems or difficulties in Cairo at all except with the traffic which is just unbelievable. One day it took 2hours to travel 2miles! Not clever -the roads are gridlocked. If you want to enjoy a relatively tourist free time and be able to see the sights without hoards of people everywhere now is the time to come! We were able to see everything we wanted without any crowds or queues. The sound and light show at the pyramids was very empty. Most people speak English -some very well indeed.

Most car and coach parks are empty or almost empty because there are so few tourists. There are lots of unemployed guides with amazing knowledge about their culture, history and Egyptian people and their English is incredibly good. Would recommend getting a guide for personal tours as they are able to work with the tourists individual likes and interests.

Yes I can recommend this hotel and Cairo at present, without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have Nile views but we had full Nile views. just ask for one on checking in. Facing East g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuppence40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Our Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were proud to read that Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah helped you to change the negative impression that you previously had about hotel’s in Egypt. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a really solid luxury hotel. The service is a little cold, but I wouldn't let that stop me booking. Free wifi, food is good, close to restaurants in Zemalek and close to the city and Egyptian Museum. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deadly174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

i spent my first night of wedding in sofitel el gezirah cairo and they give me one connected room with other two men that start fight at 4 am.
In the morning i make complain and chek out after i speak with the reception manager Mrs Nagwa that didnt take any action.
Unforgetable first wedding night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flaviano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

All of the staff are very helpful and friendly . We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room is so well equipped and the view is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shierly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.4 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing