We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice in Cairo”
Review of Conrad Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad Cairo
Ranked #11 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed with family for one week in August as a Hilton Diamond Honors guest. Enjoyed an upgrade to a two room suite and access to the Executive Lounge.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the NIle and close to everything. The hotel property is luxurious and lavish in every detail. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and elegant. The staff are attentive and appropriate to Western hospitality. It is clear that they want to ensure a wonderful experience is had by their guests.

The Executive Lounge is one of the best within the Hilton family. The food is abundant and the service is the best at the hotel. Alcohol is served from 5pm to 7pm and the evening appetizers are hearty and there are two computers with internet access at all times in the lounge free of charge.

The pool is nice but small and the pool service is very poor. The staff hang out at the towel shack and seem "put out" when they have to assist a guest.

The food outside the Executive Lounge is fair. We tended to frequent the restaurants down the road at the Inter Continental (the Bird Cage is amazing) rather than at the Conrad. Best food is to be found at the hotels in town. However, try La Bodega (hard to find but amazing – pants for men required) it was one of our best meals.

ATM is located on the basement level as well as a tour operator and an exchange bank. The Bell Captains are an issue. There seems to be a push for all guests to utilize the hotel cars rather than taxis. There are two kinds of taxis in Cairo, black ones and white one. The black ones are all by negotiation and are often overpriced. The white taxis are by the meter (make sure they turn it on as soon as you enter the taxi). The hotel cars are often three to four times overpriced. When you exit the hotel and ask for a taxi the Bell Captain pushes the hotel car and, in fact, you are aggressively approached by the drivers themselves harassing you to take their car (shocking for a five star hotel). I would insist on a meter taxi but the Bell Captain would then call a black taxi instead. I would then again insist on a white meter taxi and after this daily harassment I would finally get a meter taxi. One time the Bell Captain told me to walk out on the street and call one myself......so insulted, I went back into the hotel and asked the Concierge to assist me - finally the Bell Captain was corrected. The whole transportation issue is a bit questionable at the Conrad so be aware.

Overall a wonderful hotel in the heart of a very busy city. Eyes wide open you will have a wonderful experience at the Conrad Cairo.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyFunx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights on the sixth floor. They let us check in at 8 AM. View from the room is half the Nile and half some buildings. Although we were not on high floor, it was quiet in the room.

Room was dated and maybe not up to Conrad standard, compared to other Conrad in other cities. But overall it was clean and comfortable.

One of the robes had noticeable large brown stain on it. I did not know if it was blood or chocolate or….

We ordered room service and it was alright. About 20-30 minutes wait. They served about 5 pieces of bread and they were very good.

We also ate at the Lebanese restaurant by the pool. The lamb was very good. Also the bread (Egyptian style bread) was very nice. But the service was quite poor for a 5 star hotel. The restaurant had large TV showing football match. We were sitting next to the TV but when we wanted to call the waiters (there were 4 watching the football), I had to wave almost for 2 minutes because all eyes were on the TV. But there was one other guy who was nice enough to give us complimentary dessert because he said the food and the bread was late.

Breakfast was very good. So many choices of bread, fruit juices (including strawberry smoothie), cold cuts, fruits, yoghurts, fresh made waffle, egg station etc.

Minibar was expensive as you would expect. They gave 2 bottles of water and did not replace them for the second day. When you leave the hotel, turn right and walk about 100 meters, you will find a local shop selling drink and snack etc. if you walk a bit further, you will get to a shopping mall where they have pharmacy, clothing store etc. On the third floor, it is a food court and there are fast food chains like McDonald, Baskin Robin, Pizza etc.

If you do not come with an organized tour, be prepared to eat at the hotel. The only restaurant I saw was opposite the hotel (called the Sangria). We did not eat there because we were too afraid to cross the street. It looked very dangerous to do so. (and we are from Bangkok!)

I used their sauna and steam room and it was good and clean. It is open 24 hours. The pool closed at 7.30 PM.

Internet was expensive. If your bring your laptop, the minimum charge is for 1 continuous hour and cost 90 pounds (about 16.90 USD). I used their business center and the minimum charge for 15 minutes was 25 pounds (about 4.7 USD)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmpBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Excellent for business trip with pyramid trip.
i spend 3 days here. excellent stay. good food, very good free breakfast. located near bus stop. excelent view of cairo. nile view is fantastic.

staff is very helpful and cooperative. you will get wellcome by staff.

must spend time hotel....

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulGhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at the Conrad Cairo for three nights following a cruise on the Nile. We booked as part of a package so transfers from the airport to the hotel were all included, which was useful as it is quite a distance.
There was a problem at check in as the hotel computers were down which meant that we couldn't get our room key. The staff were very helpful though, and let us into our room and brought the key to us when it was ready.
The rooms are huge and really nice. The bed is one of the comfiest I have ever slept in - a really good nights sleep.
We had room service on one night and the prices are quite steep compared to what you can pay if you leave the hotel, however it depends on how brave you are feeling. The meal was large and there were lots of free extras. There aren't many places to eat by the hotel and on the first night we walked to the main cafe area which took about 35 minutes and I have never been so scared. Crossing roads was mental. I would recommend you take a taxi (don't pay more than 15Egyptian pounds one way) and even though the traffic was crazy I felt much safer.
The hotel pool was stunning. It was large, with plenty of sunbeds and very rarely busy. All the staff at the hotel were lovely.
The only problem we had was the fact that although there were smoking and non smoking areas in the breakfast room, that didn't seem to stop people smoking wherever they were sitting, which for two non smokers wasn't great, but it's only to be expected in a country where you can smoke anywhere.
The pyramids are an easy distance away to get to, again we booked through our holiday provider.
While we were there the hotel restaurants were undergoing renovation, which meant the lobby area got quite noisy with work going on overhead. It also meant that a lot of the restaurants weren't open. However once work has finished I am sure they will be as nice as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowfox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

overall average hotel for short to mid stay, v friendly staff

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Staying at the Conrad was a great experience for me. The service is great, the breakfast's delicious and so varied. I'm eager to go back and have a swim in their foot-shaped superb swimming pool!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We loved the Conrad - they helped us with transportation to and from from the airport and even organized tours of Gisa, Memphis, Saqqar, Islamic Cairo, and Coptic Cairo while we were there. Outstanding tours and well worth the money you pay for them. But if you are looking for an authentic Egyptian experience on one of the diner cruises on the Nile, don't book through the hotels. It was totally cheesy. Exquisite rooms and 5-star service from all of the hotel staff. The breakfasts were amazing - try the fresh watermelon!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.1 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 139 in Cairo
2,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Cairo

Address: 1191 Corniche El Nil, Cairo 11211, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#6 Family Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $105 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 614
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent River Nile, Conrad Cairo is set in the heart of bustling downtown. This award-winning event and business hotel offers city explorers premium rooms, elegant dining and 24-hour entertainment with a glamorous International Casino. Conrad Cairo offers spectacular River Nile views from every room. Enjoy easy access to city center businesses, as well as legendary attractions such as the Sphinx and Giza Pyramid. Extensive amenities include an on-site health club featuring the latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, saunas, massage services and heated swimming pool. Hotel boutiques, florist, beauty salon and shoe shine are also available for your convenience. Six outstanding restaurants and bars offer round the clock dining and entertainment. Visit the International Casino with a cocktail in hand and experience the glitz and glamour of Stage One bar. Our hotel is now in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame, receiving outstanding traveler reviews and a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence five years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conrad Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Cairo Hotel Cairo
Cairo Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing