We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Central zamelek hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower
Ranked #97 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Central zamelek hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

+ excellent central location one beautiful island in the middle of Cairo in the Nile
+ helpful staff
+ secure
+ well priced
+ next to nice coffee shops and shisha cafes
+ nice views
+ clean
+ traditional decor

- aged building
- no inclusive breakfast
- hotel car was a rip off
- low water pressure in bathroom

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Nuclearwasteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
6
17
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed there several times.really good and clean hotel with an amazing view of river Nile.
breakfast is accepted.rooms are clean and the management is friendly.
the location is +++
yes i enjoed staying there and i recommend it to everybody

Room Tip: try to be in the highest floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel stays on very good location at the main road on Island Zamalek, . Its very clean part of Cairo and everything is very near. In front of hotel are 3 cafes. In hotel is very friendly and helpfull stuff. Rooms are big and I had beautiful view on Nile and main road. Just pillows are bad. Room was clean, just bathroom should be cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pokica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Different people have different expectations. What we wanted was a clean room with its own bathroom and a breakfast- we came to Cairo to see the city and its sights, not to spend a lot of time in a hotel. In the end, this hotel prooved not to be a bad decision.
The hotel was nice in its peak years, and some of that charm can still be seen. It could use some renovation, but overall it was pleasant.
Room was cleaned every day, breakfast wasn't very rich, but if you're not a very picky person, you can have enough.
The staff was friendly, except one girl who didn't speak English well- but we managed to understand each other.
We didn't have problems with paying, because we booked and paid the room via octopustravel.com (double room cca.60$ per night)- this seems to be cheaper and safer than paying on the spot upon arrival.
The biggest pro is its location. The neighbourhood is quite safe (there are a lot of foreign embassies in this part of the town), with a lot of coffee houses and restaurants nearby, as well as the ATMs and all kind of shops. From this location it is easy to reach downtown Cairo, islamic Cairo, as well as Giza an other sights.
Taking all in concider, if all that you need is a clean sleepover place Om Kolthoom is a good choice, but if you have bigger needs and expectations go somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martina_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Sadly I have to agree with several of the other reviews - the entrance to this hotel gives the impression of 4* hotel but the room had seen better days, it smelled of stale tobacco, the bathroom had seen far better days (all the pipes leaked so the floor flooded, the bath was black from years of scrubbing it, the bin was dirty, the shampoo sachet was already used...). The management were extremely rude - trying to tell me that their visa machine didn't work and trying to send me to get cash from an ATM - it was 10.30pm and I had just arrived from a 12hr train journey from Luxor so I refused, saying I would pay in the morning. They made me give whatever cash I had as a deposit and told me I could pay with a card the following morning and have my cash back. They did not honour this agreement. For reference I paid $80 for one night for a single room.

The breakfast was not that great, but there was a super friendly omelette chef who also made me some special fuul. He was lovely. Also the charming bell man carried my bags down the road to another hotel that I decided to stay at because this one was such bad service. He was also lovely and could see that I was unhappy (to say the least). And the person who brought me some room service was also warm and friendly. It is only the management who don't seem to care about their guests.

The Flamenco round the corner is much better value, infinitely cleaner with brand new bathrooms, although the management are not especially polite there either and increased the price I had agreed over the phone. This seems to be a feature of hotels in Egypt sadly.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room at the back. If you choose one with a Nile view, you will hear c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GertrudeBell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked to stay there by booking.com. When we arrived the receptionist gave us an exchange rate that almost doubled the price we booked for the room. We left the hotel without staying there..Avoid it!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank athpiraeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

They did not tell us the emergency calls from Japan several times, even in the revolution period.
The receptionists insisted that they had no small changes.
The breakfast was so expensive and very poor.
They used mold smelling tap water for powder juice.
The room service was always absent.
So, my conclusion, this hotel was very Ancient Regime Arab hotel.
If you would like to have the 20 century post-colonial period unreasonable experience,
try to stay there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SalamUnagami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#41 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#102 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#24 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holidays Express
Holidays Express
#95 of 139 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nile Season Hotel
Nile Season Hotel
#59 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#45 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower

Property: Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower
Address: 5 Sikkit Abu Al-Fida | El Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Kolthoom Hotel And Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing