We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming atmosphere, perfect location, polite and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I just cannot imagine why some tourists complain about Windsor hotel in Cairo, Egypt. Being a fussy and very demanding person I truly confess I was enchanted by the hotel and its facilities. We occupied a de luxe room (there are six of them in the hotel), larger than the standatd double room but only several dollars more expensive. Stylish furniture, old elevator, famous bar/restaurant with very good Egyptioan cuisine add to the charm of the building itself. I could not help taking photos in our room (by the way,- number 26) and in the hotel bar having such attractions as the Pyramids at hand. Being accomodated within a walking distance from the Egyptian museum and the Khan -El Khalili Souk/Bazaar was so convenient. Even if you take a taxi to some of the close attractions (cemetery, Cairo Tower, museum) you pay only 10 Egyptian Pounds and it takes you mere 5 minutes drive. (By the way, d you know that over 2 million people live in the Cairo cemetery?)
I would never change this hotel to a four/five star modern one located 10 kilometres from the centre. The Windsor hotel has its history, its soul, its unique character. And the staff! All professional and polite. The reception men: Arwan, who helped me find rare music by Om Kulthom; Samir, who prompted how to negotiate with taxi drivers and Mohammed, who welcomed us warmly on the night we arrived. Wagdi - the best waiter/barman in the world. In his late sixties, with the experience of being a sailor, he speaks all languages of the world. And last bit not the least, Maisy, the hotel co-owner, living part time in Egypt, part time in New York and part time in Switzerland. How pleasant and interesting it was to chat with her in the evenings in the hotel restaurant. Windsor hotel, we thank you for a marvellous week in Cairo. You go highly recommended!
Paweł&Asia, Kraków, Poland

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel Cairo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 583 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

If you are looking for a clean and neat accommodation with a helpful and very competent staff, then Windsor Hotel is the perfect place. Dont hesitate to book it as I would reccommend it to a best friend. There you will get a taste of real Egyptian life and taste. Also the close surrounding of the hotel is fantastic with coffee and tea shops, kebab bars serving great food - no problems after!!! I have stayed there recently as a solotraveller and Samir at the reception helped me to get to the Giza and also gave number of useful information how to get on there in Caro.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalinkaPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

I have stayed at the Winsor Hotel with my husband and my 2 children. The room we were given was too expensive for its standard was more than basic. But the manager Samir is very good in arranging trips, tickets and more. Also the other staff members were all very friendly. I would recomend the hotel but try to get one of the nicer rooms.

Diletta, Italy

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I stayed in Cairo to work on an article about the city together with a colleague. The hotel became a friendly and comfortable base during our week's stay; though the rooms are rather basic, the staff's friendliness, the enjoyable breakfast room, evening bar and restaurant, became our hangout for both work, food and small talks. Management is very friendly, the hotel has been run by the same family since the 1960's, and they are always around to make sure you are comfortable. If you prefer character and charm to anonymous big brand hotels, you'll enjoy this one. It's conveniently located in central Cairo, and we had a lot of help from Samir in reception, and others, to organize tours and taxis, while traveling around. I'll come back to this hotel on another visit to Cairo.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nillak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

This hotel and friendliest staff ensured that we had the perfect first time experience of Egypt. Although we had tried to prepare ourselves with as many pre-bookings as possible before we reached Egypt, the staff, in particular Samir Fayek, helped us when we had problems with train bookings. As a result we had a bonus day in Cairo and a comfortable night train journey to Luxor. Our trust in Samir meant we had a true experience of Egyptian life and not just a walk with the tourists.
On a limited budget, Samir showed us places tourists would not usually go, tried foods we didn't know existed, and had evening entertainment that will remain in our memories forever.
Due to travelling to Luxor in the middle of our stay, it meant we got to stay in two different rooms. One a twin and one a double. The style and furniture in both still reflect the original purpose of the building and therefore create the perfect setting for going back in history when visiting the famous tourist attractions. Both rooms were spacious and clean, with plenty of clothing storage.
This hotel is so well located in the heart of all the attractions for Cairo it makes for a great base to plan your adventures, but with the cozy bar/restaurant and friendly staff, it is too tempting to not even venture out!
All the different Egyptian dishes we tried at the hotel were wonderful but should we have not be adventurous enough, they offered plenty of western-style dishes.
The best bit was on our return to the hotel at the end of the week, all the staff seemed so pleased and happy to see us again (even their taxi driver!) it was like coming home. I can't wait to go back and see everyone again!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excitable_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I stayed here 3 times in 2008,..good location for walking around and close to subway station. Worn and haggard,but acceptable.Great staff,good management...always felt safe..breakfast is not the best.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wildone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed at Windsor Hotel for 5 nights, in a double room with shower and toilet. Everything was perfect: A nice, charming and old-faishoned hotel that has seen better times, clean, very central located, many good restaurants and tea-houses around. The staff is nice and helpful, they help to organise tours to the pyramids of Gizeh or Sakkara (with the fantastic tourguides Semir and Said) or by buying traintickets to other places. The Windsor Hotel was the perfect place for our first stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Foehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 139 in Cairo
318 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#2 of 139 in Cairo
1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#43 of 139 in Cairo
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#92 of 139 in Cairo
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $35 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing