We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel Cairo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #23 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 for a couple of nights and we were a bit shocked when we arrived. The hotel is in a rather unsafe area of Caro and our room was old, like rooms in the 1950s. I like old style if it's clean, however our room wasn't. The reception staff was just OK. The only positive thing in this hotel is the bar, where we had some beers and coffees and we liked the atmosphere of it. Would I stay here again? Not sure about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eur0peankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    205
    76
    33
    41
See reviews for
65
152
148
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Don't be afraid to have a look at all places like Midan Tahrir. But make sure to have a place where you find native people for exchange of experiences. WINDSOR HOTEL is situated in the center of past and actual events you are looking for if you travel to cities like Cairo.
The Doss family owns the Windsor. Wafik and Wasfi Doss are competent partners to introduce you into the city of Cairo and Egypt as a historical and social focal point. Ask them! And meet a various number of interesting guests in the barrel bar. The atmosphere of this Hotel is based on deep philanthropic and religious convictions that lead to the habitual question: "What can I do for you?" Come and test this Hotel - and because of its central position in Cairo I add: don't forget your earplugs in order to find sleep during the night!

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drgunterMoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was built circa 1892, staying at the Windsor hotel is an experience of the real colonial past, if your looking for new plush surroundings this wont be for you. Not sure when the last make over was but I think they shouldn't change a thing its the real "macoy", I loved the old telephone system which must date back to the 1930's and is still in use, amazing. The old attendant lift was straight from a Ealing movie (old British films of the1920's ) the barrel bar was typical of a traditional colonial establishment, the only thing I didn't like was the smoking allowed.

This hotel wont be for every one as its doesn't have many modern comforts, but I loved it.

I would stay again if I visit Cairo, which will never happen...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Windsor Hotel is truly run by a caring staff. Everyone at the front desk wants to make sure you have a good stay in Cairo. The restaurant/lounge bar has a "cool" vibe about it in this very old hotel. Plus the food was delicious (lots of vegetarian options) & the bar makes a great mojito. My only problem was the bed; it will probably take a few more days for my back to recover. If this is the price range you are looking for in downtown area, then you'd probably enjoy the Windsor. For me, I found I need my creature comforts in Cairo, so would prefer Zamalek & pay the price again for the Hilton.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karen317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a good experience for me to spend my trip to down town in cairo with the crew of Windsor Cairo , it is like an antique coming from the history of the city and the service was excellent .
When am coming to cairo , am always find my wnderful location in Windsor hotel , it is near of all places i like to walk and see in down town , i find also the peacful time to read and write my works .
During nights going to the bar area and enjoing my time with the old furniture and the warm atmosphere .

Room Tip: My room is 14 it is quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at the Windsor for 4 days in March of 2013 at a time of supposed unrest in Egypt. I must say that my stay at this historic jewel will define my trip to Egypt as an exotic experience. I could feel the history of the place as I walked its old halls knowing it had once been used by the British officers in war time and countless tourists visiting the greatest sites of antiquity.
Only toward the end of my stay did I realize that the entire staff had been employed at the hotel since just before the beginning of time! One Gentleman started at the hotel when he was 13 and was there 20 years later. The service was stellar - there was no hint that the Windsor was not five star. The water was hot, the linens clean, the breakfast was delicious. Philip at the front desk booked me a great cruise. Samir did a great job as well. You would be shorting yourself not to stay at this hotel. It is old elegant Cairo to the core. I will never forget it.

Room Tip: I upgraded my room the second stay there and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnescapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

unfortunately only had one night there ,but if in Cairo again will definitely stay there . the location is just around the corner from the metro , a vibrant area excellent for shopping ,helpful staff , a definate olde world charm with lots of wood . we had a room 4 floors up with balcony , TV was oldie worldy as well so did not work very well . The en-suit bathroom had been renovated and everything worked and sparkled , 9 out of ten for the shower . The bar was very friendly and did not spend enough time there ... i will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#26 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#32 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#46 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#39 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
8.4 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Property: Windsor Hotel Cairo
Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing