We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Craig P
Brisbane, Australia

Tour guide was great

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 12, 2011
Mina Samir as a guide for day-trips to the pyramids and Alexandria was excellent.
Despite the somewhat volatile political situation in the country at the time, when on Mina's tours I feared nothing.
He was polite, informative, has a grand sense of humour and was quick to respond to any concerns I may have had.
He helped to make my all-too-quick visit to Egypt the most interesting part of a month-long holiday and I dod not hesitate to recommend him to other tourists.
Craig Poulter
Date of stay: August 2011
Trip type: Traveled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$180
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Vio.com
    $163
  • Hotels.com
    $180
1.4 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$132
  • Expedia.com
    $187
  • Vio.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $187
0.8 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$192
$165
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • InterContinental
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
1.1 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $104
  • Vio.com
    $84
  • Hotels.com
    $104
4.7 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$75
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $76
  • Agoda.com
    $60
  • Priceline
    $67
5.6 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$229
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Fairmont
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
1.6 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$124
  • Expedia.com
    $123
  • Algotels
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $124
0.8 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$31
  • Priceline
    $23
  • Agoda.com
    $19
  • Trip.com
    $31
0.6 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$82
  • Expedia.com
    $72
  • Hotels.com
    $72
  • Algotels
    $91
10.4 miles from Windsor Hotel Cairo
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cairo
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
264
254
94
36
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
264
254
94
36
47
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 695 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel Windsor is s step back into an era of overstuffed chairs, lazy ceiling fans, friendly staff and colorful history. The rooms vary ion size, shape, features. We stayed twice, in march and again in April, 2011. Yes, the included breakfast is a bit spartan, but the charming ladies in the dining room make being there fun. Windsor will arrange a cab to or from the airport for the going rate (80 Egyptian pounds in 2011). But the best ride is in their 'Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot' lovely metal 'lift', the last manually operated passenger elevator in Cairo, if not Egypt. If you want color, character and charm, try the Windsor.

Room tip: Cairo is noisy. No hotel is quiet. There may be rooms off the street but we aren't sure.
Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bobinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

A hotel with character, history and full of friendly staff, an all-day bar (so rare) at a good price in central Cairo that's three minutes away from a metro station and a bunch of bank ATMs - if you're not looking to stay 4*/5*, what more do you want?

This is where Michael Palin stayed whilst filming in Cairo for his original Around the World in 80 days TV series. There's a signed photo of the man in the lobby (but personally I think they should make more of a marketing deal of the fact).

Staff were very helpful, offering advice on where to go and what to do in Cairo. Ask for Samir for tours to the local sites and procurement of train tickets.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wodow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This historic,clean hotel is well located in Downtown Cairo. It is being refurbished while keeping the ambiance of its history. Staff is thoughtful and professional. The rooms are very affordable and include a good breakfast (2 kinds of fruit, juice, several fresh breads, etc). The lower floor rooms are spacious; some have wifi. The top floor rooms, where I stayed are fine, no wifi, and a bit less expensive. Water pressure was excellent. The lounge is a wonderful peaceful oasis (with wifi). There is a small business center with internet access and copier. 2 blocks from the Ataba metro stop, many cabs available, within walking or short cab ride of many restaurants. Egypt is safe. Go!

Room tip: If you want wifi in your room, book 1st floor room and confirm wifi access.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annegw200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel has character and atmosphere like no other that I know in this wonderful, sometimes frantic, endlessly fascinating city. I first stayed at the Windsor a couple of years ago on a work trip. My hosts wanted to book me into an international hotel in Heliopolis. But I wanted somewhere more central and that did not fit the generic, formulaic hotel model and so made my own arrangements and stayed at the Windsor. I loved it and having decided to take a family holiday in Egypt including an initial 5 nights in Cairo, there was only one place I wanted us to stay.

As on my previous visit I booked a "deluxe room", they are spacious, clean, have old furniture, wooden floors and just have a homely, relaxing and rather timeless feel to them - yes, they are not pristine but what you lose in a bit of wear and tear, you gain in so many other ways. Of course, the famous barrel bar oozes atmosphere and is somewhere we always looked forward to spending a little time in at the end of a long day. The breakfast room was always a pleasant place to start the day and the food plentiful and of reasonable quality.

The staff are very friendly and could not have been more welcoming. From the first moments "welcome back to the Windsor, sir", to the fond farewell, everyone was personable and very warm. And, of course, my 9 years old daughter was treated with extra care and attention. From the refined gentleman who owns the hotel, through the manager, front desk staff, the room cleaner and not forgetting, the wonderful ladies at breakfast all were civil, polite and hospitable.

Airport transfers are reliable and we arranged one trip through the front desk to wonderful Saqqara and Dashur (Samir or his colleagues provide a good and fairly priced service).

Just one other thought, I did notice that a few guests appeared to come with a rather "defensive" attitude - which perhaps if they had had bad experiences elsewhere is excusable. But it's a shame and one of the charms of this hotel is that the staff are very decent people and trustworthy and goodwill, respect and a few deserved tips will be more than returned in helpfulness and care.

So if you dont' mind not having all the mod cons (though wifi works well!) and are tolerant of "imperfections" but want to stay somewhere steeped in history and that helps you feel that you are living in Cairo (which is why you came in the first place, right?), you will probably love the Windsor as much as we did!

Room tip: higher rooms are probably a bit quieter
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

There are a lot of negative reviews on the Windsor and granted, it isn't the Marriot. But the fact of the matter is that down to the telephones and the old framed travel posters of the White Star line ships, they haven't changed a thing and there is something to be said for that in a world where everything gets updated to a generic decor that could be anywhere. Add to that an incredibly helpful and friendly staff, and this place is a gem. The first thing they said when I walked in the door was: "This is your home in Cairo." and that's how it felt. As for the particulars, beds were comfortable, sheets clean, a/c worked fine, enough hot water, towels clean. They are remodeling some of the rooms. Don't expect new furniture, I doubt they would do that, but the floors and carpets are getting done and they are scraping and painting earnestly during this downtime in the tourist season. Old buildings don't survive without support. A stay at the Windsor is a step back in time, and a vote for preservation of beautiful places. And the Barrel Bar is as good as it gets!!!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank providenceTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews