We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

There are a lot of negative reviews on the Windsor and granted, it isn't the Marriot. But the fact of the matter is that down to the telephones and the old framed travel posters of the White Star line ships, they haven't changed a thing and there is something to be said for that in a world where everything gets updated to a generic decor that could be anywhere. Add to that an incredibly helpful and friendly staff, and this place is a gem. The first thing they said when I walked in the door was: "This is your home in Cairo." and that's how it felt. As for the particulars, beds were comfortable, sheets clean, a/c worked fine, enough hot water, towels clean. They are remodeling some of the rooms. Don't expect new furniture, I doubt they would do that, but the floors and carpets are getting done and they are scraping and painting earnestly during this downtime in the tourist season. Old buildings don't survive without support. A stay at the Windsor is a step back in time, and a vote for preservation of beautiful places. And the Barrel Bar is as good as it gets!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank providenceTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 598 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

I Stayed there for a week, The Windsor Hotel is well-situated in downtown Cairo, Location was good, several points of interest are within walking distance. on the second day I walked to the Egyptian Museum and strolled around Tahrir Square.
the staff of the Windsor was Great, particularly Samir Fayek. we took a 1 day tour to Saqqara and Giza that was arranged by Samir. We really appreciated the quality of guide provided, Mina was our Guide, He was great, so friendly, very cultured & knowledgeable.
I decided to check out the bar and restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and nutritous.
It feels like staying with friends. It is a wonderful place. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Windsor friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Resina255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was a recommendation from an Egyptian friend. He was spot on. It was great!

The staff are super friendly at all levels, desk staff, porters, cleaners, bar staff and waiters. All are individual characters willing to have a laugh with you.

The reception and bar and wonderful period areas, brilliant to chill out. There is wireless in the bar. They were just painting all the common areas when I was there.

The rooms were a little more tired but spotless. Still period charms. If there was one flaw with the place it was the air con struggled to keep up. I would not let this put anyone off! As I would strongly recommend the hotel.

The location is also great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Windsor Hotel had very friendly staff who were always ready to help or answer questions. The lounge was great to stop in for a drink at the end of a busy day, and the WIFI was available there and in the rooms. The location was great in downtown between the Historic Islamic section and more modern areas. I walked much from here, to the Egyptian Museum and Khan al-Khalili, and found the city scenes always stimulating. There are some good but inexpensive eating places nearby too. It was handy that they helped me arrange a tour to the pyramids and other sites through their tour operator, Samir Fayek, which worked out super. The English guide was well-spoken and very knowledgeable about the monuments, plus other tips for tourists. In general I was comfortable here as a solo traveler. My one suggestion is that they consider more thorough cleaning of their public areas and the carpets, in addition to a new coat of paint here and there to refresh the antiquated charm of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44881Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were at the Windsor during May 2011. The reason we went to the hotel was after seeing Karl Pilkington stay at the hotel during the TV program "An idiot abroad". After seeing the hotel on the program and being a fan of Mr Pilkington we decided to check out the hotel.

Firstly, as has already been covered on here, the hotel is not 5 star luxury. If you want top quality rooms and facilities then the windsor is probably not the place to you...however if you want a charming and historical hotel with lots of character then the windsor will be a good choice.

Firstly the hotel location is great in a charming side street in central Cairo, it is close to the metro station and in an area with lots of restaurants and shops. It is also a great location for exploring Cairo and the local attractions. The rooms themselves are basic but clean and and ful of character.
The hotel also has a unique lift and the cosy "barrel" bar to spend the evening eating and drinking.
The owner Mr Wafik Doss is a lovely man and he introduced us to his family. He spent a lot of time with us talking about the history of the hotel (it used to be a royal bathing house and british club) and discussing where to go and what to do in Egypt.

When we mentioned that we were fans of Karl Pilkington; Mr Wafik playfully told us that he should make us leave because the show was unkind to his hotel (he was of course joking) He then went to his office and got the photo taken by Karl in the show for us to pose with. He also explained about the history of the piano outside karls rooms (linked to the Egyptoan Nobel prize winner Naguib Mahfouz and his wife's grandfather of the same name)

I promised Mr Wafik that we would be back to the hotel, however unfortunately our time ran out and we were not able to do so, however we will hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grant_vera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Whenever I go to Cairo, I always stay at Windsor. It is situated a bit away from the rest of the hotels and is perfect if you want to live in a more popular area but still central. With its quirky elevator, high ceilings, decayed furniture and original switchboard it feels very authentic and boutique but without trying too hard to be so. Make sure you get a room with a balcony onto the quite backstreet so that you have the clatter of backgammon bricks as your background noice. The real gem, though, is the staff, which is genuinely friendly and begins to feel like family once you’ve stayed there a while.

Please visit Egypt these days and support the revolution. Its safe, more welcoming to foreigners than ever, and you have a unique chance of visiting all the historic sites without being in a swarm of tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Since many years I come with German friend (teachers and family members) to Cairo - and stay at the WINDSOR Hotel for the period of 14 days. In the Moloch of Cairo you need a place to calm down every day and to feel safe. Mr. Wafik Doss and Mr. Wasfi Doss and all the staff of their Hotel provide us with all convenience. Insha'Allah we will come again next October with another group of German and American friends.- All rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Renovations of several room are progressing rapidly: new bathrooms, new floor covering (wood instead of fitted carpet)...

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgunterMoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 138 in Cairo
332 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#86 of 138 in Cairo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#33 of 138 in Cairo
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#49 of 138 in Cairo
244 reviews
10.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#2 of 138 in Cairo
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $34 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing