We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Denver
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Shabby”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I didn't choose to stay at the Le Meridian Heliopolis.... I was displaced from the nearby Fairmont where I had reservations because of the Conference on Islamic Cooperation. Knowing a little about the Le Meridien chain I was looking forward to a relatively nice hotel, but the LM Heliopolis is a 2-star wreck, although I would give the service a 4-star rating. The entire hotel is filthy-dirty. I had to clean the dresser drawers with soap and disinfectant before using them. The chairs and sofas were grimy, obviously not cleaned in years. Whether in the public areas or the sleeping rooms, the furniture is broken or very outdated. The pool was closed, and there are no outdoors grounds for escaping the room. In response to other Trip Advisor reviews, management writes that they will remodel in June (but what year?). But even if the hotel doesn't have the funds for a desperately-needed remodeling, they should at least keep the place clean. It is also very noisy because the windows are not sound-proofed. On the positive side, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the Thai restaurant was excellent. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were old, lumpy and smelly. This hotel is not consistent with the Le Meridien brand, but with high LM rates. My advice: Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Bring a can of Lysol if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on you stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis and for sharing your positive as well as negative comments. Apart from the good service, the friendly and helpful staff, the excellent Thai restaurant and the comfortable bed, we very much regret not being up to your expectations. As to our plan for renovating the Hotel, we are all geared up to start implementing this challenging task. We will take pleasure in welcoming you back once our refurbishment is completed so that you could experience the Hotel as it was meant to be. Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    184
    80
    41
    36
See reviews for
61
77
65
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, however i feel sorry that this hotel is under LeMeridien flag! This hotel is pretty old and outdated,it seems they didnt renew any thing in thier rooms since 1900!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josefnader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views regarding your recent stay at Le Meridien Heliopolis. We are well aware that our Hotel needs some refurbishment and, as mentioned in our previous responses, our renovation plan, which unfortunately was postponed several times, will start this coming June. We are confident that once the renovations are completed, we will exceed your expectations in terms of refurbishment and service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company soon.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is maybe the third time I stay in this hotel, always coming back becouse of the business location and the continuous improvement of the service, but the hotel needs an urgent renovation, it is a must to continue with the Meridien Flag, please star the renovation asap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brazukajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for your loyalty to Le Méridien Heliopolis and for appreciating the Hotel’s location and the “continuous improvement of the service”. We wish to assure you that our renovation plan will start this coming June and we are all enthusiastic and eager to engage in this great challenge. We are confident that once the renovations are completed you will appreciate Le Méridien Heliopolis more than ever. Looking forward to the pleasure of your company soon. Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After enduring an 8 hour flight on EgyptAir with no choice of movies, no alcohol and no ice for soft drinks, it was good to get to the hotel and have my reservation dealt with quickly and efficiently. I haven't stayed at a Le Meridien for a while, but the rooms are adequate for the business traveller and, although the bathrooms seem slightly dated, the water is hot and the showers have decent pressure. I only ate at the hotel where the food was plentiful and seemed to be reasonably priced - although I'd expect cheaper options if I knew where to go. Heliopolis, the suburb, is close to the airport which means it's a fair drive to get to Tahrir Square and the Museum and a longer drive to see the Pyramids and the Sphinx. Traffic is terrible and being a passenger is not for the faint hearted. Le Meridien was a reasonable choice of hotels and should be considered by people with business in and around that area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willierJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to note that we were able to wipe away the uncomfortable 8 hour flight you endured when reaching Le Méridien Heliopolis. We thank you for highlighting your appreciation of the food, rooms and bathrooms although these “seem slightly dated” as you have gently mentioned. We wish to assure you that our renovation plan will start this coming June and we are all enthusiastic and eager to engage in this great challenge. Unfortunately, Cairo’s traffic is always congested that makes Le Méridien Heliopolis a favourite location for clients wishing to be near the airport. We thank you for your valid review and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Heliopolis in the near future. Kind regards, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I hadan overnight accommodation for a meeting in Cairo, and this was my first time to stay, although the location is not the best.. but the hotel is very clean, organized, and well furnished, staff are very friendly, smiley and helpful, they were very happy, and they offered me the VIP card immediately, also they were very keen to assure that everything's ok... i would really go there again and i will recommend it to friends.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MOHAMED E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your overnight stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis. We were delighted to note that we have made a good impression on your first visit to our Hotel and that you will recommend it to your friends.

Your kind comments were shared with the Executive Team as it is certainly gratifying when efforts are acknowledged by our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your positive review and look forward to the pleasure of counting you among our most loyal customers.

Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was taken to this hotel by egypt air, on the 4th of january, during my transit in cairo.This receptionist named Sherin was in charge of giving out the rooms. She was so rude and nasty to everybody. She made everyone who asked her a question feel like they were stupid or retarded.After I got they key to my room, I stood at the reception waiting for a friend and the same receptionist said to me "I gave you your room key, what are you still doing here?". I just stood there with my mouth open and couldn't say anything. After that kind of treatment, everything about the hotel just seemed ugly to me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabia_boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We read with great concern your remarks and regret the discomfort caused by our Reception Clerk Sherine. While investigating the issue and without attempting to justify Sherine’s behavior, you may acknowledge the heavy responsibility that lies on her when handling a large group checking-in. However, with a more co-ordinated approach, the Front Desk Staff will do their best to minimize the inconveniences at check-in. We thank you for sharing your comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Heliopolis. Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm writing my review right now from the lobby of the hotel, i stayed for one night 28/29 december 2012, it's 06:30 AM and i can't sleep because the AC in my room is not working..it's like an oven in there.i already told the reception at 9 PM yesterday yet they did nothing... I Dedinitley DO NOT Recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarouniEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr Harouni,
Very sorry to read the comments you have posted in connection with your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis, advising that you did not receive the typical Le Méridien experience we aim to deliver. We thank you for bringing this issue up and rest assured that we have immediately notified our maintenance department to avoid such embarrassing situation in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Heliopolis again soon. Our very best wishes for 2013. The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
0.5 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#5 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cairo Airport
2.4 mi away
Fairmont Towers Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Heliopolis

Property: Le Meridien Heliopolis
Address: 51 Al Orouba Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cairo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#21 Business Hotel in Cairo
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the most exclusive site in the heart of Heliopolis lays this 283 rooms and suites elegantly designed hotel, Le Meridien Heliopolis offers a vast spectrum of limitless services, guaranteeing comfort designed with space and charm. The restaurants & bars range from formal to casual offering a unique assortment of dining experiences with an unparallel variety of International cuisine from the five continents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Cairo
Cairo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing