We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was taken to this hotel by egypt air, on the 4th of january, during my transit in cairo.This receptionist named Sherin was in charge of giving out the rooms. She was so rude and nasty to everybody. She made everyone who asked her a question feel like they were stupid or retarded.After I got they key to my room, I stood at the reception waiting for a friend and the same receptionist said to me "I gave you your room key, what are you still doing here?". I just stood there with my mouth open and couldn't say anything. After that kind of treatment, everything about the hotel just seemed ugly to me.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabia_boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We read with great concern your remarks and regret the discomfort caused by our Reception Clerk Sherine. While investigating the issue and without attempting to justify Sherine’s behavior, you may acknowledge the heavy responsibility that lies on her when handling a large group checking-in. However, with a more co-ordinated approach, the Front Desk Staff will do their best to minimize the inconveniences at check-in. We thank you for sharing your comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Heliopolis. Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 508 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm writing my review right now from the lobby of the hotel, i stayed for one night 28/29 december 2012, it's 06:30 AM and i can't sleep because the AC in my room is not working..it's like an oven in there.i already told the reception at 9 PM yesterday yet they did nothing... I Dedinitley DO NOT Recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarouniEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Mr Harouni,
Very sorry to read the comments you have posted in connection with your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis, advising that you did not receive the typical Le Méridien experience we aim to deliver. We thank you for bringing this issue up and rest assured that we have immediately notified our maintenance department to avoid such embarrassing situation in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Heliopolis again soon. Our very best wishes for 2013. The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights . Rooms are very spacious and staff generally friendly, . Live music being played in the lobby , Free WIFI was available in lobby and restaurant ,. Room was great and comfortable beds , breakfast was a great plus I like it , but I cannot understand those aged fat staff ladies in breakfast hall .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Mr Osama,
Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Heliopolis while recently visiting Cairo and for posting a positive review of our Hotel, highlighting spacious room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, Free WIFI in Lobby & restaurant, great breakfast, live music in the lobby…. Too bad that you did not appreciate the services of our hostesses at breakfast. We believe, it is not ethical to dismiss someone on account of age or physical appearance, unless performance is weaken. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Heliopolis soon. The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

not a great experience. old tired hotel that needs updating. very noisy if you are bothered about that due to the proximity of the road. stayed for 1 night then checked out early and moved to another hotel. hotel shuttle pick up from the airport was mixed, the guy who met me at customs was great, very polite and efficient helping me with the visa and getting through customs and baggage fast but then we waited nearly 15 mins for the shuttle bus to arrive and pick me up, i was the only passenger. would have been faster to jsut get my own cab, the whole point of pre-booking hotel transport is to have it all ready and waiting for you, quite the opposite in this case. ok its free but I would have paid to be picked up faster. also checkin at nearly 1am took an age, no rush no idea that a guest may just want to get to the room fast in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwellallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis and for letting us know how much you have appreciated our Airport Sales Agent services upon your arrival at the airport. Disappointed, however, to learn that we could not live up to your expectations, due to an old/tired/noisy hotel . Rest assured that we are in the process of starting our renovation plan (by mid 2013) which will definitely include rooms thermal and noise insulation. As to the shuttle bus delay we just wish to clarify that buses are not allowed to park in front of exit gates, as per airport authorities regulations. Normal check-in process should not take more than 5 minutes, otherwise, it does not reflect the usual Le Méridien standards, therefore, we apologize for the unintentional delay. We thank you once again for your review and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed there for 7 days with my boyfriend. Price was excellent, room as well. The best thing was the breakfast. It included anything you can imagine. Very good hotel! Especially the location could not be better. Staff was always with a smile! Will visit again.

A.F

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argiro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Delighted to read your positive review on your 7-day stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis. It is very rewarding to hear from happy clients and a great motivation to go even further in our endeavours to exceed their expectations. We thank you for choosing Le Méridien Heliopolis while recently visiting Cairo and look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you again soon. Kind regards, The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in begining of October on a business trip. Rooms are very spacious and staff generally friendly, being an old property does smell mouldy which can be a dampener in otherwise a pleasant stay. Live music being played in the lobby was bit disturbing and annoying as you can not have business conversation. Rooms being spacious and comfortable beds are the stand out feature of this property.Located on very crowded street in Heliopolis, however close to the airport for the comfort of business travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irfan1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Mr Irfan,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor in connection with your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis and for sharing your positive as well as constructive comments. We just wish to assure you that we are striving to meet and exceed all our guests’ expectations. We will always make sure to deliver a comfortable experience on your future stays. Looking forward to the pleasure of your company soon. The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed there 3 nights in a single room for my business trip
the place and location not bad but the staff at the reception doesn't know anything about the hospitality and Starwood Preferred Guest.
However, thanks for the duty manager as she solved my problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Mr Happy,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis. We are pleased to note that your issues have been resolved, however, for record purposes, we just wish to advise that our Reception Staff Members have acted as per international policy in regards to check-in procedure and in compliance with our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty program. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
0.5 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cairo Airport
6.3 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
2.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Heliopolis

Address: 51 Al Orouba Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cairo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#21 Business Hotel in Cairo
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $87 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the most exclusive site in the heart of Heliopolis lays this 283 rooms and suites elegantly designed hotel, Le Meridien Heliopolis offers a vast spectrum of limitless services, guaranteeing comfort designed with space and charm. The restaurants & bars range from formal to casual offering a unique assortment of dining experiences with an unparallel variety of International cuisine from the five continents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Cairo
Cairo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing