We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
townsville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is no where near being 5 star I would not give it any more than a 2. The check in staff were lovely we stayed here twice the first time we were put in a room the smelt sooo bad of stale smoke the handle to the room came off in my husbands hand. The bathroom door did not close there was no miny bar in the room there were no hand towels the carpet was filthy. Sitting in the cafe down stairs you are surrounded by smokers which in not pleasant . In the dining room for breakfast it was very uncomfortable as I was the only woman and was totally ignored by all staff my husband had to ask for anything. We left to go to Luxor and came back for 2 nights on our return our guide spoke to the management about how bad our last room was and they were excellent in upgrading us this time to a better room still I would definantly not put it as 5 star far from it. The biggest positive we found here was there Italian restaurant the staff in there were wonderful and for me very welcoming we chose to eat in there both nights as they were so nice.
We were there when the revolution was on so we were trapped in our surroundings. Oh and the gentleman in the gift shop was really lovely too.
The rooms definantly need to be renovated. And please consider making an area in your for the non smokers.

Room Tip: Don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haguer C, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mrs. kell56
thank you for your feedback
we very much would like to address and cure to the defects you have mentions and request you kindly to send us the room number and the date of the check in.
the stuff at dining room has been advised of your poor breakfast experience
We sincerely hope to welcoming you again at Sonesta Hotel Tower & Casino Cairo

Thanks and best regards,
Haguer Nassar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    156
    123
    48
    32
See reviews for
66
82
54
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a flying visit - overnight only but I had most of the next day to hang around the hotel while my wife presented at a conference. Very pleasant hotel - nice pool and the room we stayed in (in the newer wing of the hotel) was superb. I wouldn't stay here if visiting Cairo purely because of the location (Nasr City) which seems too far from the main spots - but if you prefer to stay in this area, or are at a conference (like us) then this hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: From what I hear ask for the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hany S, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for your feedback, we appreciate very much for having take time to write your valuable comment about our hotel .

we look forward to welcoming you again

Thanks and best regards,
Haguer Nassar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

First of all, this isn't my first stay there, as the location is considered good, i always prefer staying there.
the check-in didn't take more than 5min, which was the only good thing there, front office during check-in was so good (not the case for check-out) :).
the room (430) was very large, took me sometime and lots of trials to figure out that the bathroom lights can only work when the room-card chip should be facing the wall :) not the opposite.
the bed was very hard and pillows were not so comfortable, i totally didn't like the sleeping quality.
also the waredrob has no shelves, so only hangers and you need to live with this fact.
Housekeeping was really poor, bathroom left wet, floor was wet and not perfectly cleaned, and toilet was also wet which is something i really hate.
the breakfast is poor as well, not many choices, and never changed during the 3 times i had it there.
during check-out, there were 4 or 5 front desk helping people, one was free, i asked to check-out my room, he acknowledged, but did nothing, just kept on talking to his colleagues and then gone, after like 4-5 min waiting, the other front desk figured out that i'm waiting and asked how he can help :) (i'm sure he knows what i wanted) anyway, he printed the 2 pages invoice, and gave it to me with thanks! i started folding the invoices so he kindly gave me an envelope (self service style)!! :)
also worthy to mention that there is NO WIRELESS in the rooms, they give cable to connect your laptop so forget about your tablet. and the internet connection is very good early morning only, otherwise it's barely working.

Room Tip: all rooms (X30) suppose to be very large and facing the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiadNabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hany S, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Zaid Nabil
thank you for your feedback, your comments are very much valuable.
this critique enable us to see our deficiencies and to take a corrective action
we look forward to having the chance to welcoming you on you next visit to Cairo at our Hotel

Thanks and best regards,
Haguer Nassar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Shaikh
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

i spend 4 days at a very nice room with my wife . food there was was very good, but they don't care about "don't disturb" signs as Housekeeper can enter your room any time ,reception staff is helpful , hotel is near heliopolice & nasr city , not to far from the airport.
the Italian restaurant is very nice also the Lebanese nights restaurant.

may be i will be back .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hany S, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Hany T

Thanks you for your valuable comment regarding Housekeeping and make sure that a corrective action had been taken
we are very please to learn that you enjoy your stay and we sincerely hope to welcoming you again at Sonesta Hotel Tower & Casino Cairo

Thanks and best regards,
Haguer Nassar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here recently whilst big demos were going on in downtown Cairo and other Egyptian cities. Hotel was convenient for airport and conference with no need to travel near demos . Food was good but Breakfast would be a bit pricey if not inclusive.Sea bass was nice and good value. Too cold to make use of pool.
Internet is wired and you need to ask for it but it works reasonmably well

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_C_Exmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hany S, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Andrew_C_Exmouth

we are happy to learn of your positive experience of our hotel
we sincerely hope that we welcoming you again really soon at our Sonesta hotel tower & Casino Cairo
Thanks and best regards,
Haguer Nassar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
236 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Low-Average 5 stars in terms of value for money in Cairo.
Avoid Executive (and expensive) option, just not worth the extra cost
Average low room comfort and rock-soft bedding. Executive room standard close to an average 4* star level of the 90's for the price of today's 5*. No WiFi in room... But the one available in lobby is quick.

Large choice of restaurants with a special mention to the italian "Gondola" for quality, generosity and authenticity of dishes on offer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMG780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hany S, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear valued Guest
thank you for having reviewed our hotel and for your helpful comments
we do have another section in the hotel which is new do some of our guests prefer the oldest section for the hotel.
we hope to get another opportunity of welcoming you at the hotel.
Thanks and best regards,
Haguer Nassar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Sonesta hotel was my last stop on my trip around Egypt and it was just perfect. I have no idea how much the rooms cost as it was included on my trip but the meals were reasonable, max £10 for a decent dinner. The cake shop is magnificent and the piped gentle music and welcome message on the tv screen in the room were icing on that cake. It is located 15 minutes from the airport, allowing for Cairo traffic. The outdoor pool is small but inviting and is sorrounded by lush greenery. There are posh shops a couple of minute away if you have any money left!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5rita6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hany S, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear mr. 5rita6

Thank you for your review , we are happy you found our hotel convenient for you and you enjoyed your stay , hope to welcoming you soon at Sonesta Hotel Tower & Casino

Best regards,
Haguer Nassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#32 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
3.6 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
5.8 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#9 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo

Property: Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
Address: 3 El Tayaran Street, Nasr City, Cairo 9039, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#11 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#25 Business Hotel in Cairo
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Cairo's 409 spacious guest rooms and suites offer a variety of luxurious amenities. A room on the executive floors offer exclusive lounges and 24-hour concierge service. The poolside bar and full-service spa with a Turkish steam bath are heavens for relaxation. After the pampering, the hotel offers several options at its gourmet restaurants serving Italian, Lebanese, Japanese, or French cuisine. One of the best Cairo hotels, the Sonesta is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo Hotel Cairo
Sonesta Hotel, Tower And Casino Cairo
Sonesta Cairo Hotel
Sonesta Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing