We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at the La Passage”
Review of Le Passage Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Passage Cairo
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Arriving at the Hotel courtesy of an exceedingly friendly driver of the Courtesy bus, I was hanging around reception for some time. As at the last visit, the three gentlemen at the desk appeared somewhat confused as to what to do and whom to serve. The left desk, no the right desk and so forth. Anyway, got a room in the basement which was quite nice. good size room, spotlessly clean and with a nice bathroom. I was offered to be taken to the room by an incredibly service minded porter dressed in traditional outfit including a Fez. Very service minded with a great smile also. Very nice man.

No free drinking water available though. Had the buffee dinner which was quite nice and the service was excellent. I especially enjoyed the deserts a great selection of delicious Baklava and more European style pastries. Breakfast was equally good.

Le Passage is a good transfer hotel, it is close to the city (bad if you want to go shopping) but very convenient if you have an early morning flight to catch. Le Passage is a good hotel.

A word of warning, I went with the by the hotel recommended taxi to City Stars, the trip there costed 75 LEP but the return trip only 35. Most hotels in Cairo charge an inflated rate for taxis. Be aware, A taxi from the airport to the city should cost maybe 60-80 LEP, but drivers often also ask for 150-200. Insist on the meter being used or just leave the taxi.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the pool, there are some rooms with a balcony also facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNGGRABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel to give a conference found staff to be very helpful but the room I was given was very poor and not clean. The room was very smelly and was in need of big renervation and very dated. The food was acceptable but as usual in Cairo smoking was allowed everywhere but in the restaurant. The room given was as agreed a no smoking room but my opinion is that this is not controlled as it had a smell of ciggerette smoke. The noise from the weddings nearly everynight was not acceptable. The only good thing due to problems in Cairo this hotel is very close to airport but if the problems stop I would stay in a better hotel with tea and coffee in room unlike Le Passage

Room Tip: Ask for room that has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A transit hotel at best.
Poor rooms, very small, but clean and good A/C, old bathroom facilities.
Furniture seems out-dates, it definitely needs renovation.
Pool was nice, hotel ambiance was OK. Service was OK.
Food -however, was excellent.
This was formerly 'Movenpick'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherif F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is very average. I had been to this same hotel in 1995 when it was under the management of "Movenpick" and was much better and cleaner. All the rooms are out-dated and need a lot of renovation. Rooms are very small and lack a lot of facilities for a good hotel. I can hardly rate this hotel as three stars, it is only convenient for transit travellers being in the airport, but never use it as a long staying hotel (more than one night).

However the staff is friendly and trying to do their best with the modest facilities.

Room Tip: A room in the main floor, away from reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shahir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and needed to stay two days in Cairo. We let the reception know that we were on our honeymoon hoping to get some nice treatment (as we did receive from other hotels). The only thing we received was an "Alf Mabrook".

From that point, it seemed as we were entering the gates of HELL. First is the unbearable smell of cigarette smoke, they would only bring one pair of slippers (for a double room) -- I guess one of us had to walk barefoot on the nasty carpet). I went down to the restaurant to ask for an empty cup, so that my wife and I could drink the almost 20LE bottle of water they sold to us. They refused to give us even empty cups.

So, we ordered delivery. For 1 HOUR, they prevented the delivery man from entering the property and they said no outside food is allowed in the hotel. They said if we are hungry, we can eat at their restaurant for 375LE per person OR starve in their hotel room. I asked if I can leave the hotel by taxi and they said it will cost me 120LE just to leave by taxi. We felt trapped. After much arguing and threatining to call the tourist police, they allowed the food in but it was already too late to eat it, and it was cold, so we placed it in the refrigerator.

The next morning, the food had began to become rotten because the refrigerator did not work. We reported the non-functional refrigerator and they did not even bother to do anything about it. We tried to use the hairdryer in the room. The hotel employee explained to us that the hairdryer had a short circuit and needed repair -- and he began pulling wires out of the wall. After approximately one hour, we asked him to leave and come back later. What a NICE HONEYMOON GIFT -- sending a repairman to stay in the room with you.

This horror story is to be continued...

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasDad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had layovers of approximately 16 hours coming in and out of Addis Ababa and in such cases middle eastern airlines often put passengers up in hotels (as nice service). So I need to make clear that my review is coming from the perspective of being a complementary service, which cost me nothing. The hotel provides a regular shuttle between the airport and the hotel, we found the driver nice and in both trips waiting approximately 15 minutes for the shuttle. Our check in was in less than 10 minutes both trips but the number of different counters at the hotel seemed to confuse others. The room was clean, the bathroom clean with good water pressure. This hotel is a common location for weddings and we saw 4 different weddings during our two stays. There are two pools, they are nice but have rather odd hours, If I remember correctly it wasn't open until 8 and closed at 6. The food in the main restaurant isn't bad, although I do have to say I was impressed by their labneh.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1028 and 1038
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very bad hotel !! It took us about 45mi to check in and when we did we got one if the worst rooms we ever stayed at. Not clean. The minibar isn't working and there is a water problem in the bathroom. Trust me you wouldn't wanna try this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karim85o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
12.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
11.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
11.7 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 139 in Cairo
2,495 reviews
4.8 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairo Airport
Novotel Cairo Airport
#31 of 139 in Cairo
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Passage Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Passage Cairo

Address: Cairo International Airport Road | El Horreya-Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $59 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Passage Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Passage Cairo Hotel & Casino is located in Heliopolis, an elegant business and residential district in Cairo and it is considered one of the safest area in town. The hotel is only five minutes from Cairo International Airport and ten minutes from the Cairo International Convention Centre and Fair Grounds, with free shuttle bus service, free wifi and free internet. Great design is the key to this urban, cosmopolitan business and leisure base, providing a sophisticated and stylish environment in the throbbing heart of Egypt and the Middle East. Le Passage Cairo Hotel & Casino celebrates individuality with a wide range of accommodation choices from well appointed rooms and suites with exquisite views to the Executive Club floor which is ideal for business travelers, short breaks, family holidays or those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Passage Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Passage Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Iberotel Cairo Hotel
Iberotel Hotel Cairo
Cairo Heliopolis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing