We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a scam ! Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Passage Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Passage Cairo
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
SANTA BARBARA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a scam ! Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

I recently booked a 5 star Nile cruise which included some nights in Cairo. I was told that this was a Fairmont hotel it is not! The lobby is decent but not a Fairmont type lobby the rooms are a bad Best Western at best. I was duped into thinking this was going to be a nice place to stay at what they don't tell you is that the Fairmont hotel chain will be doing a major remodel in 2008. This is hotel has none of the Fairmont logos on any of their stationary etc. There is another hotel, the Fairmont towers that is right next to this hotel that is the nicest hotel in Cairo albeit far from town. I

  • Liked — Near the airport
  • Disliked — Horrible Rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSantaBarbara_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    206
    157
    84
    82
See reviews for
162
124
157
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

I stayed here for 5 nights in December 2007. The location is certainly very handy for the airport and sights on the same side of Cairo. Provided traffic is smooth it takes about 15 minutes or so to downtown Cairo.
The staff was very friendly and, having been upgraded to the Executive Floor, I enjoyed having breakfast in the Executive Lounge and being able to use the Business Centre free of charge.
My room was spacious enough, though could have probably done with a refurbishment as the colour scheme, curtains and furniture were fairly "old-style", i.e. not very modern.
I didn't try any of the hotel's restaurants, but I did have drinks at the bar in the lobby - the lobby was always nicely busy, good for people watchers like me.
The pool & gym were nice, too.
Out of the two hotels right next to Cairo airport (the Novotel is just next door to Le Passage), this is definitely the better one - a friend of mine stayed at the Novotel at the same time I stayed in Le Passage and, though he paid $20 less per night than I did at Le Passage, the service, room and staff at Le Passage felt much better.
I was especially surprised that, given the location right next to the airport, the hotel was super-quiet.
I would have given Le Passage more points had it not been for the rather tired looking rooms.

  • Liked — Quiet rooms, free use of the Business Centre
  • Disliked — Tired looking rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GulfWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

Le Passage has apparently changed hands recently and this has been associated with poor staff training.
It is situated right in the airport which is convenient but the room we had was noisy with the piano in the lobby intrusive into the evening, there was a party going on somewhere near and the staff were chatting in the corridor into the early hours.
The reception staff do not speak English all that well and the checking out is slow. The rooms could do with freshening up.
If you want convenience, it's OK.

  • Liked — In the airport
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed at Le Passage (formerly Movenpick Heliopolis) in Cairo for about 6 hours on our way back from Libya. The hotel has a free shuttle bus (a white mini-van), but we couldn't find it in the airport carpark (it was 3:30am though). I think "Le Passage" is written on only one side of the bus in English, so check both sides. We ended up paying 40EGP for a taxi - its a two minute drive, so if you do take a taxi don't pay too much. You have to put your luggage through a scanner before you enter the foyer. The room was ok - the bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom wasn't so good. I thought there was no hot water until I realised the hot tap had a blue symbol on it. At breakfast my husband sat down and was then told he had to move to the other side of the room. After breakfast we were told we had to sign for 70EGP despite breakfast being included in the room charge. We weren't charged for the breakfast at check-out, but it was confusing to have to sign for something that looked like a bill. "

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flynnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
11.2 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairo Airport
Novotel Cairo Airport
#29 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
4.8 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
11.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
11.0 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Passage Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Passage Cairo

Property: Le Passage Cairo
Address: Cairo International Airport Road | El Horreya-Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Passage Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Passage Cairo Hotel & Casino is located in Heliopolis, an elegant business and residential district in Cairo and it is considered one of the safest area in town. The hotel is only five minutes from Cairo International Airport and ten minutes from the Cairo International Convention Centre and Fair Grounds, with free shuttle bus service, free wifi and free internet. Great design is the key to this urban, cosmopolitan business and leisure base, providing a sophisticated and stylish environment in the throbbing heart of Egypt and the Middle East. Le Passage Cairo Hotel & Casino celebrates individuality with a wide range of accommodation choices from well appointed rooms and suites with exquisite views to the Executive Club floor which is ideal for business travelers, short breaks, family holidays or those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Passage Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Passage Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Iberotel Cairo Hotel
Iberotel Hotel Cairo
Cairo Heliopolis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing