We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Guest Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I confronted a very embarrassing treatment upon check-in.

Although I said I have a residential visa to a receptionist, showing my passport & visa (the valid visa page), working ID card issued by the Egyptian government, he did not trust me, saying that those are not enough to prove my residency, thus I should pay the non-residency price. Then, I explained that I'm working here in Cairo and showed my booking record e-mail which says the "price for residency." After this silly argument on "have or not" for good 10 minutes, finally, he said it's OK but he needs to confirm this with his manager, which I did not receive any feedback nor apology from the hotel.

Then, three points I have to mention on this hotel's service.
1. The hotel staff lacked the very basic knowledge on the passport and residency. If it is an international level hotel, the staff should have been knowledgeable on such a basic issue.

2. Even if you have a question on the customer's residency status, you DO NOT have to challenge it openly in front of your customer. It was merely a waste of time for both sides. The staff should have just proceeded with the check-in and simply explained that he needs to double check the evidence later. Then, if there is something wrong with it, he can rectify it later.

This time it took me more than 20 minutes just to check-in, including this absurd discussion time.

3. Most importantly, Do NOT challenge or doubt what your customer explained, in the first place. The hotel staff should trust your guests, not doubt them. I was not sure whether the hotel would like to make their guests happy or unhappy. In the latter case, I have no incentive to choose this hotel for my holiday.

Certainly, it was not a happy welcome and was not a level of service that I expect from the HILTON stay. This problem at the entry point was like a rotten spot in a peach for my whole stay, which undermined my hotel's brand image. Plus, I was not certain whether it was due to one underdeveloped staff member's capacity or whole management issue. Furthermore, there wasn't an inch of apology nor feedback from the hotel even though, the receptionist's understanding was obviously wrong.

Therefore, this time I gave my evaluation as very poor (1).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank biz_traveler_japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Valued guest,
First let me thank you for being a loyal guest to Hilton Zamalek, I appreciate communicating your concern, which I have investigated carefully. I learned that your first stay as a lucky winner went very smooth and you have enjoyed it the residency issue was not tackled at that time since there was no rate attached to your reservation, however on the second time was an issue, reason was your residency in Egypt was expired on your passport which is needed to be valid to apply the Egyptian rate as per the rules and regulations of the Egyptian authorities. However the issue was over when you have submitted your Organization ID.
What I would like to explain here we trust our guests however it is a must to follow the laws and regulations, having said that but any issue should not discussed in public, we have noted that and the concerned department head will make sure it will not be repeated. Finally please accept our apology for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 556 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location is very close to everything. In the heart of Zamalek which is a very nice district with all kinds of nice restaurants and cafes. Very close to downtown and close proximity to other locations. Service is very good. Rooms have big balcony overseeing the Nile and furniture is a bit old but still ok. Valet parking with charge in an area very difficult to find a parking spot.

Room Tip: For big families you can get two rooms with common living room and dinning tabe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Even I got a special rate at reservation for car rental 15:00 / night, the hotel receptionist refused applying this rate telling it might be in dollars not Egyptian pounds, however the hotel rate is cheaper than the offer I got.
Im holding Hilton Premium card and they refused Premium card coupon " discount" on my stay
The location is amazing for the hotel but compared to other Hiltons, there is a wide gap in dealing with customers. It is my second time to stay there but won't repeat it

Room Tip: Determine from beginning which view to choose. I chooses Nile view and at front desk they hosted me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasser E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed on 27-30 June. Compared to other major hotels in Cairo, the front desk’s efficient and speedy response at the time of check-in was impressive. If you travel Egypt you may usually find not-so- smooth reception response and often annoying check-in process. However, this time I faced no stress or problem at the time of check-in. It was a good start of my three days stay.

I asked the room with a good Nile view and on a higher floor, which they tried their best to respond to me request. The room was indeed quiet, seemed very good both for work and rest.
The hotel has a cozy gym with a Nile view as well as pool on the river side. It was a good escape from the nuisance of Cairo, which is unfortunately utter chaos these days.

There was a Japanese restaurant on the lobby floor, which you can ask a delivery order to your room. The food was a decent Japanese meal prepared by Japanese chefs. Also on the other side of the restaurant, there was a French-style bakery-café whose croissant was very delicious.

Overall, it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mockturtle-patio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Hilton zamalek is nt bad can't say anything about the rooms cz i never tried them i go there to use the pool ( a small one) the only disadvantage is that the sun leaves at 2pm cz of its huge building so if u are a sun lover better to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mafiosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a number of issues mostly related to friendlyness, service attitude, staff training and efficiency of processes. We talked some of them through with the manager on duty. The hotel itself is really okay and has potential but there seems to be a clear lack of management, training and process optimization. It's very basic things of service attitude and hospitality that they lack, and they make sure you don't even expect them "to got the extra mile". However, if you need a decent place to sleep in Zamalek it's definitely not a bad option, it's merely below what we expected as frequent travellers and HHonors elite members. Therefore it gets my "it's okay" recommendation and if you don't expect too much they might even surprise you positively.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank wastoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Thanks flor Hilton Zamalek I had an excellent sleep, very good breakfast, good workshop and lunch Convinient movments inside the Hotel, Trafic and Location was somehow disturbing Thanks to the Hotel Team

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Morsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
13 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#18 of 144 in Cairo
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.4 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 144 in Cairo
1,744 reviews
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences

Address: 21 Mohamed Mazhar St. | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cairo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $95 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the picturesque and exclusive island of Zamalek on the magnificent waters of the River Nile, the Hilton Zamalek Residence Cairo is located in a tranquil spot between downtown Cairo and Giza and is only 12 miles from Cairo Airport. All of the luxurious guest rooms at this hotel in Cairo offer spectacular city or river views and feature modern amenities such as high-speed internet access and LCD TVs. Upgrade to an elegant suite for additional space, a kitchen, living and dining areas and terraces offering scenic Nile views. Hold a professional conference in one of 3 flexible meeting rooms, all of which feature the latest in audio/visual technology and make use of our business center. Dine on international and oriental cuisine overlooking the pool and the River Nile in Nile Breeze, listen to live music in the Tea Time Lounge and enjoy casual al fresco food and drink on the deck at Waves. Work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, swim lengths in the heated swimming pool, which features a Jacuzzi or indulge in a massage while the little ones have fun in the Children’s Play Area. Explore the Egyptian Museum, experience the exotic sights, sounds and smells of the vibrant Egyptian Bazaar, 'Khan El-Khalili' and marvel at the Great Sphinx and Pyramids at Giza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Zamalek Residence Hotel Cairo
Safir Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing