We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Middle East
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel is located in a nice area, the staff were friendly, and room service was good. Also the rooms were clean. The breakfast was decent. Overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aya294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    122
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
37
65
56
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed at the Flamenco, twice, once in May 2008 and once in May 2009, both times on work. Both times I had rooms on the upper floors - which are the renovated ones. Make sure your room is on the 8th floor or above. A colleague who was in a room on the 5th floor came to mine to pick up some medication and was stunned - she said we could have been living in two different hotels.

The second time around I had a view of the Nile which is simply incredible. Lovely space to sit and have your morning tea. the breakfast buffet is pretty decent too.

This is a really well located hotel in the city and good if you don't plan to stay inside for long. Across from the hotel is a fabulous 24 hour internet cafe and a store open until very late - the latest I used it was 1 am!

The service is pretty decent too. I would stay there again even if I were to go to Cairo on holiday.

Three key things again:
Zamalek is a great location.
Get rooms on the higher floors preferably Nile facing.
Friendly Internet cafe across for a fraction of the hotel charges.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank another-travel-diary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

went to this hotel as in the AA guide book, the rooms are gettin abit tired we had 2 rooms none of them overlooked the nile (wished we had a nile view). The restaurant food at night was crap, but they excelled in the breakfast, fast friendly checkin expensive bar in hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learys-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Not sure how a Cairo hotel gets a name like Flamenco, anyway, this is a respectable hotel situated by the Nile. It's part of a chain, but you wouldn't really know it - the reception, restaurant and bar display a modicum of local character. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed and have balconies, but make sure you book a Nile-side room as the other side overlooks a busy street. Breakfast is average, but the bar serves great falafel and hummus.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomerPliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I had a split stay around a trip to Luxor. The first visit was 3 days and I stayed in a room on the side of the building away from the Nile. The bed seemed to have been built out of concrete - in all my years visiting hotels I have never experienced a bed as hard. It was also a candidate for the noisiest room ever - I have stayed at airport hotels which are quieter even with the windows open!! In this case I had to keep checking that the windows were closed as the traffic noise was so noisy. Saying that the room was very clean and the bathroom was modern and the shower had the best pressure ever.

Given this experience I was not looking forward to my return visit but how wrong can you be. I was given a room on the same floor (4) but this time overlooking the Nile. The road on this side is busier but there was little or no noise, the mosque was on this side but I couldn't hear this either. The bed was actually springy and very comfortable.The airconditioning was also near silent (in the first room it was like Concorde taking off in the room!!). The room was clean and comfortable and I would highly recommend it.

My advice is to spend the extra and get a superior room (I didn't pay for superior for the second half but it was rated as a superior room). Try and get a room overlooking the Nile and ideally high enough up that you don't get all the noise - some noise is inevitable after all this is Cairo.

The other thing to watch out for is the lifts - there are only 2 of them and they seem to take forever to arrive - you see them coming towards the ground floor and then they suddenly start going back up again.

Other feature of the hotel was super low speed internet - i have worked in networking for a number of years and didn't realise that such slow speeds were achievable - its expensive too 50LE gets you 50Mb - use one of the Internet Cafes across the road. Also use the Supermarket in the basement opposite for water, drinks etc as it is very cheap and convenient.

One other piece of advise - Taxi drivers know the hotel as Flamenco (or Falamenk as one taxi driver called it), they have no idea about the Golden Tulip part and it just confuses.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ade666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Ok, so admittedly I stayed in this awful joint for a long period so was able to experience the exceptionally poor service on a daily basis. The only reason I stayed is that it is close to my work. Nevertheless, do not go into this hotel with any positive expectations. If something doesn't work in your room (which will likely be many things, from sockets to the TV to lightbulbs) you'll need to ask at least three times to get any action on fixing it. In short, if you have no expectations for this hotel, then you cannot be disappointed. Apparently hotel stars are given out arbitrarily in Egypt...4 stars? This hotel is certainly not. Even though it says there's a gym on the website, there isn't. Staff are rude, surly, and generally incompetent.

I had loose change (namely about 10 Swiss Francs), which I left out on my refrigerator. It was gone the following day. On occasion I traveled out of Cairo for the weekend (without checking out). Leaving the hotel with a small overnight bag, I would be accosted by the door staff about paying the bill (even though I wasn't checking out AND there was a credit card attached to my room).

If you are able to do so, go to the Longchamps just down the street (and about 30 dollars cheaper). I know we're talking about Egypt here, so the standard is a bit lower to begin with. But, if you're in Cairo for just a few nights, spend a bit more for the Marriott, Intercon, Hilton, Sofitel etc where you will at least get a decent view of the Nile.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nguoi_du_lich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

This is a four star hotel with 5 star super-friendly service .It's in a quiet location in Zamalek.The superior rooms are slightly more expensive but that's definitely worthwhile .Many even have very attractive Nile Views of the houseboats moored along the opposite bank .The bathrooms have been modernized and are quite large .
The breakfast buffet is varied and very fresh .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#27 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.7 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Flamenco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Flamenco

Property: Golden Tulip Flamenco
Address: 2 El Gazira el Wosta Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Flamenco 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Flamenco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo
Golden Tulip Hotel Cairo
Golden Tulip Cairo
Cairo Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing