We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Nearby Hotels
$190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$104
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$83
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Grand Royal(Cairo)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Windsor Hotel Cairo(Cairo)(Great Value!)
$34
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
74
131
95
32
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
131
95
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizza hutmetro supermarketzamalek areamoney exchangenice nile viewnile riverclean hotelhotel is situatedbreakfast was includedcairo towersmall hotelshort stayenjoyed my stayyogurtegyptembassiesembassy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 356 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I picked it because all other hotels were fully booked. Location is good, all the rest not at all.
Price: high (especially as a solo traveller), compared to international chains, other 4-5 star hotels, but most of all for the value. Room: I immediately asked to change it, as it looked on the dirty side and very old and was shown after way too loong discussions another which was very very old. Bed linen were raising eyebrows about their cleanliness, bathroom was ok. Room was absolutely and disgustingly SMELLY at night, had to set the aircond very low just to breath. Cleaning in corridor started at 730 and was everything but silent. Breakfast cost per guest must be in the order of €1.00max. Staff was as rude as read in other reviews. Recommendation is to avoid it, there is definitely much better value around downtown Cairo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed review, i am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, after the the renovation this is not nice comment about our rooms i checked all march comments and nothing reported about your comments from the room. also about the breakfast or the early morning cleaning as normally the Housekeeping staff arrive 8.30 not 07.30

we have renovated our rooms to meet international standards and since long time we only get complements about the standard of our rooms furthermore we started again from the top floor to down to re do the rooms which is already done only two years ago in order to have similar look to all our rooms by adding more facilities

I know you have decided not to come again but please Email me directly and give us the opportunity to put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I visited Cairo in April 2014 for three days. He had booked one of the fancier rooms in at the Golden Tulip Flamenco hotel as a surprise for me. We booked via Booking.com. When we arrived, THE FRONT DESK WOULDN'T SERVE US, saying that they need a marriage certificate to allow us to stay in the same room!!! I'm Lebanese and my husband is English. I know that if I were European or American, we wouldn't have run into this problem. I understand that Cairo is generally a more conservative place than Beirut, but there is NOTHING on the hotel's website that states a mixed couple (as we're called) needs proof of marriage!!!

I didn't even bother arguing with the desk, as 1) I've seen similar reviews on Trip Advisor but convinced myself there were old, and therefore, the staff / rules might been changed, and 2) it was 2 PM and I decided to take my business elsewhere. I even double checked the hotel's website afterwards, and there was nothing that stated couples needed a marriage certificate.

We contacted Booking.com and clarified the situation to stop the hotel from changing us the $266 bill. Chantelle, from the customer service at Booking.com, was very helpful. We didn't have to pay a cancellation fee and she requested the Golden Tulip clarify state on their website that couples need a marriage certificate.

My point being: What if we arrived late at night? Or if there were no available rooms at nearby hotels? I'm not here to change the rules of the game, but AT LEAST, it's the hotel's responsibility to CLEARLY STATE its rules and regulations for its clients.

I wouldn't bother with the hotel. They cheated us by not stating their rules and then insulted us by not serving us. Anyway, we found a lovely hotel (Longchamps) down the street that didn't question our marriage, that was cheaper and that had way better service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Naziha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed review, I am sorry that we have let you down on this occasion; but we have also offered you solution and you did not accept , I have to say in General we cannot agree with your review meanwhile I fully understand your frustration with check in
we can only hope things will be ok with your documents next time and we are able to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

as always for us, is all about the location.. Rooms are ok but not the rooms. Upgrade worked and thanks to manager! was much better and enjoyable after the hard start we had. Room facing the street was ok, I think the higher the better, so you have less noise from the street

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalikaEp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Zuikis,

Thank you very much for your kind review , regarding the lower floors we did our best with double glass but still Cairo a bit noisy , you are right the higher floors with also double glass windows should be very fine

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Really its a nice hotel, very good location, very good and helpful staff, my room was very clean and tidy with an excellent view direct on the Nile, the breakfast is buffet, and has everything you could want.and the hotel located on a very safe place , sure i will return back next year with my small family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

i stayed more than 20 nights during March and April, Flamenco has a good location, friendly staff, nice room, my experience in such four star hotel was exteremly excellent, I will recommend to my friends and family

Room Tip: room with river side high floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobRodrigiuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews