We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Ranked #47 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room (with Nile view) was spacious and comfortable and the hotel is in good location in a safe, residential area away from the occasional troubles of Cairo. Staff professional. Otherwise, it is rather mediocre: the bar is on the street-level and is small and dreary and the breakfast room similar. I don't know why the hotel doesn't have a roof terrace bar/restaurant, which could be wonderful and take advantage of its location on the riverside. Seemed to me to be overpriced for the facilities.

Room Tip: (obviously) Nile-side rooms on a high floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Flamenco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 334 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We first got a room on the first floor and facing the city. The view was horrible and too much noise from the street. We were shifted to the 9thfloor which was quieter but the room is old and furniture worn out. For the rest of the stay we were upgraded to the Nile view room which was much much nicer. Hotel is in zamalek with ice restaurants and cafes at walking distance, quieter compared to other areas of Cairo, breakfast was good, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Select room on higher floor and with the Nile view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomadamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The room is ok and clean here, but outside of that it's way overrated and overpriced. The Internet does not work at all. It's extremely slow, constantly cutting out. And the staff is not at all helpful or friendly. Getting anything out of them was a war. But it's in a good area of Cairo and is tolerable. This place needs a major overhaul though. .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had to stay at this hotel for two weeks for a business training in Cairo.
The location is great, it's close to many restaurants, cafes, supermarkets,banks and pharmacies. You can find taxis around the corner 24/7
The hotel is small but clean and the staff were very friendly.
The room was small but comfortable and clean.
The breakfast was very basic and I never found anything I liked so I used to have breakfast outside the hotel on my way to work.
overall I think it's good value for the price and I would recommend it if you're on a relatively low budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maysadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It is a clean hotel and the staff is friendly and helpful. I can definately recommend it.
I have had several rooms, you could take a look at my tips there. Breakfast is good, complete and abundant and this hotel has one of the (fewer) bars of Zamalek - so you can have a beer too, after a warm day.

Room Tip: at the Nile side the rooms may be expensive but at the back is perfectly okay. If you ask for a corn...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wetlander-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for five nights combining business at the American University and some touring. The fifth floor had just been renovated and the room was like new and very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I'm surprised to see reviews that mention rudeness on the staff since there was not any at all for my stay. They were very polite and helpful. Breakfast and coffee was quite delicious. In terms of noise, if you want quiet, don't go to Cairo! That said, Zamalek is quiet and the Golden Tulip Flamenco just fine. I've had much noisier nights in New York and Washington DC. Zamalek is a good location in Cairo and I will definitely choose this hotel for my next trip.

Room Tip: The fifth floor was so new it smelled like fresh paint. Very nice. I didn't have a Nile view wh...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockriverbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed in the Golden Tulip Flamenco during a conference trip to Cairo in March 2013 and It was a very nice stay. The hotel is very clean the rooms are comfortable and the staff is helpful. The location is also great. It is close to several restaurants and supermarkets as well as money exchange shops. Taxis charge around 7 Egyptian pound from the hotel to down town (Talat Harb).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#25 of 139 in Cairo
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
2.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 139 in Cairo
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 139 in Cairo
318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#102 of 139 in Cairo
48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Flamenco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Flamenco

Address: 2 El Gazira el Wosta Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $78 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Flamenco 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Flamenco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo
Golden Tulip Hotel Cairo
Golden Tulip Cairo
Cairo Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing