We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fab Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramses Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in July 07 when in Cairo visiting the pyramids.

We found the hotel greatfor it's location and the cleanliness of our room. It had great views from the high floors and contained a small casino, spa shops etc.

There were, however, good and bad points to the hotel. I have listed the positives and negatives below:-

Positives:

* The hotel was in a good location - a few minutes walk from the Cairo museum and right on the nile. You could also see the pyramids in the distance from the high floors.

* The rooms were lovely - ours was on a high floor and had a small private balcony, a massive king size bed (very comfrotable), lovely tiled bathroom, clean, spacious and very large.

* We liked that there was a bar, restaurant, small casino and spa on site.

* There is a very large mall across the road from the hotel which is associated with it - it has many shops selling many different things which was handy for souvenirs.

*The Windows of the World restaurant, at the very top floor of the hotel, had beautful views from the floor to ceiling windows, amazing cuisine and fabulous live enteratinment of a pianist and singer. We had an amazing meal here. The staff were absolutely lovely and our waiter even took us through the kitchen up onto the actual roof of the hotel (where guests are not supposed to go!) to see the amazing views of Cairo lit up by nightfall.

The negatives to the hotel were as follows:

* The pool, although not dirty or bad in any way, wasnot the best. It was very small and over crowded and was built on the wrong side of the hotel - the very tall, large shadow of the tall hotel building loomed over it blocking out sun and warmth meaning it was shady and cool.

* The staff were not overly helpful or killing themselves to help.

* Perhaps the worst thing of all - my husband and I went to the spa for a massage after a long tiring day toruing the pyramids. I went into one room to have my massage and my husband into another to have his. We both had female massesues as only females worked at the spa. When I emerged from my massage my husband was waiting for me in reception. He informed me he had cut his massage session short because the masseuse, despite knowing he had come into the spa with me (holding hands and kissing each other goodbye), had touched him inappropriately (under his towel if you know what I mean) before offering him "extras". Disgustedly he had told her no but couldn't relax after the exchange so left the room immediately and waited for me in the reception area. So depending on your tates, you may find this a plus point (!) but we, as a newly engaged couple at the time, did not.

Apart from the incident at the spa we had a good stay at the hotel though and couldn' rally complain about anything else there.

*

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    609
    259
    84
    65
See reviews for
451
548
260
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Ramses Hilton as part of a Trafalgar tour group. Our rooms were very comfortable with views over the Nile or the city, and our room was very quiet. Overall though the hotel looked a little tired. The location is downtown, near the Egyptian Museum and opposite a shopping mall. We had dinner in a Lebanese restaurant in the mall which was quite good, and stocked up on a few grocery items there as well. Unfortunately it is not easy to get around Cairo on foot, and the traffic has to be seen to be believed, so we probably did not make the most of the central location. Breakfast was good, with an extensive range of food choices, although the service was poor and I would recommend you take breakfast early to avoid the rush. Internet access is available in the business centre which was efficient, with very helpful staff, but reasonably expensive. Our main disappointment with the hotel was on check out when the cashier told us our credit card wouldn't work and we had to pay our bill in cash. This meant we had to exchange cash into Egyptian pounds (at the hotel's currency exchange centre) in order to pay the bill. The credit card worked perfectly well at our next stop. Overall it is a reasonable hotel, but would probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, during my 2nd visit to Cairo..
It is an ok hotel , with spacious rooms and bathrooms.
It is very central , but difficult to be approached , due to it being next to a motorway.
the reception staff is very kind and eager to help as much as they can.
Breakfast is very good as well as the breakfast area.
Try the swimming pool. Don't expect too much , but I reccomend it for relaxation during the night , if the weather is fair.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evemauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
113 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights while in Cairo. My room was clean and had a great view of the Nile River. To enter the hotel, you must go through a metal detector and put your bag through an X-Ray machine. There was a casino, pool, bar, restaurants, and many shops within the hotel. Downtown is within walking distance and the surrounding area felt safe. The Egyptian Museum is minutes away . An extensive breakfast was included withe the room. There is pay internet available in the rooms.

Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Danimal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Nice Ambiente!
Some stores in Hotel!
Very nice service crafts!
Amazing view from nearly every room and especially from the the terrace restaurant!

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AbudK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

booked independant travel to do Xmas in Egypt with 3 days (2nights) in Cairo and 6 days in Sharm. Decided on Hilton Ramses and have to say was delighted with it. Its location is great - right beside the Egyptian Museum and the Nile. VERY noisy all the time...but hey...thats downtown Cairo! We were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival as hold HH status. Room was very clean & well serviced if starting to show its age....but food was excellent & overall a great experience. WOuld stay again & recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N4YHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

have just returned from holiday with my wife and 2 year old daughter at the beginning of december. this hotel really is not as bad as people seem to imply. it is a very busy hotel - with both both tourists and business people alike, as evident from a reception area that was always busy.

we were given a free upgrade to a room with a nile view - which was stunning. the room itself was clean and spacious and was made up on a daily basis.

the food was excellent - a lot of variety, with fresh juices (i am very partial to orange juice).

if you get the chance, go to their 'windows on the world' restaurant, which is on the top floor of the hotel (about 30 storeys up) - it provides some truly spectacular views.

there are a number of cheap supermarkets right next to this hotel, if you don't want to fork out a fortune for bottles of mineral water, say.

the staff too were always friendly and kind, and particularly attentive towards my two year old daughter.

the location of this hotel is excellent - it is a 'short walk' to the egyptian museum, is very central, being a 5min taxi drive from the a main square in cairo (tahrir square), which had all kinds of international shops (including pizza hut, KFC, Mcdonalds) and where many people hung out. best of all the hotel was next to one of the main/ biggest transport terminals in cairo. after checking out from this hotel, we took a national coach (el gouna) from outside the hotel to sharm el sheik. while the pyramids were about a 25min taxi drive and cost 35 egyptain pounds (about £4).

one negative thing i would say is that you probably have one of the biggest and busiest road ways right outside the hotel - the road system here was probably bigger and busier than spagetti junction at rush hour (no exaggeration). so there is constant noise and pollution around - as there is with virtually all parts of cairo, but particularly here. you were very well insulated from this if you closed the balcony doors in your room, but others it was relentless 24hrs a day. also, the 'walk' from the hotel to the museum is not as straight forward as it seems. there is no underground/ overpass walkways to bypass the busy road system to reach the museum. you have to walk across the roads, and on a number of occasions it really did feel like we were taking our lives in our hands, as we crossed several very busy and fast lanes of traffic to reach the museum. on a number of occasions, i even took a 2 min taxi drive to our hotel, just so we wouldn't have to cross this absolutely crazy road.

i would recommend this hotel as a good base from which to explore cairo, but just be aware that you really do need to be quite fit to navigate the traffic around this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zed888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
1.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#8 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
7.6 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Property: Ramses Hilton
Address: 1115 Cornish El Nile, Cairo 12344 , Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#9 Business Hotel in Cairo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 855
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing