We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to see the sights OR relax, you pick!”
Review of Ramses Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The Ramses Hilton was a great hotel in the heart of Cairo. Make this place your base for your trip!

The hotel is a towering skyscraper that you'll be able to spot from anywhere in the city (just look up if you're ever lost). The staff courteously upgraded our room to one with a giant balcony that offered stunning views of the city. The room was large and elegantly furnished.

Ramses is full of every amenity you'll need. The pool was inviting, the pool bar even more so. The hotel had a free fitness center that offered fairly new equipment, towels, and views of the city while we exercised.

The complimentary buffet breakfast was one of the highlights of the hotel. Very tasty food, an omelet station, great service.

The hotel is located right next to the Egyptian Antiquities Museum. It's also a close walk to Islamic Cairo. However, the roads around the hotel are full of hustle and bustle, so be careful when walking.

The bad: don't eat at the hotel's restaurant Falafel. It's very overpriced, and the "entertainment" was not very entertaining.

All in all, though, I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Cairo.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helloworld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

I booked this hotel through GTA Hotels and got a great deal. Certainly, it is not a 5-star hotel, but it was great for what we paid.

We had a deluxe room with a view of the Nile River. The view was great, and the patio door kept out much of the noise from the street. The room felt spacious, although the decor was somewhat outdated. The bathroom also felt large, although it could also use some updating.

This was the first time that I had to go through security to get into a hotel, so that felt a little strange at first. However, the staff was always nice and helpful.

The pool looked ok and had a nice view. We did not like it that there was a charge to use the fitness center.

The buffet breakfast was very good with many options and good service.

The location is central, but it is difficult to walk anywhere except on the side of the hotel where the mall is. The mall is not great but has some souvenir shops and a McDonald's.

I would recommend staying here if you get a good deal. If it costs the same as some of the other name-brand hotels, it might not be the best choice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank friscocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Our regular room wasn't ready when promised so we got "upgraded" to the "Executive Floor." Room was spacious with a fabulous view of both the Nile and the city. On the flip side, the decor/furnishings were a bit dated and worn and the room smelled moldy. The hotel was always extremely busy with great numbers of people always coming and going. As a consequence, the wait at the reception desk to check in and check out was extremely long. That problem got compounded when the length of our stay was mis-programmed onto the room access card and we had to wait in line to get it fixed. The concierge desk was extremely helpful. The bellhops and janitors were overly aggressive in seeking backshish. Breakfast buffet very crowded, buffet-average-food. Other restaurants OK but overpriced, better value across the street in the mall. Internet access outrageously expensive, go to one of the internet cafes close to the American University instead.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinyAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

The Ramses Hotel is in need of a good renovation - not just fabrics and curtains etc. It seems they reburbish bit by bit but the overall quality is very poor. Fixtures and fittings in the bathroom was particulary poor - awful. There was hair in the bath on arrival. Food was expensive and looked good but tasted bland. The service and friendliness of the staff is great, but it does not make the hotel 5 star - we would not stay here again and I bet Paris Hilton would not put even her little toe in the entrance. Liz Cowan Cape Town

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Recently, I visited the Ramses Hilton with a small group (10 rooms). We arrived after 4 pm, and it took over 1 1/2 hours to check in to the hotel- we would be given one room key, the clerk would disappear into a back room for 15 minutes and then immerge with a second key and so on. The hotel was unable to access the HIlton Honors program status of several guests. The hotel is very outdated. The room that my wife and I were initially assigned was very dirty and worn. The carpet was filthy and had repearted water damage. Due to the mildew in the room, we requested another room. After 2 hours we were grudgingly moved to a second room - not much better. The hotel charged $37 USD per day for use of the internet. The entire hotel is like staying in a smoke stack. It seemed that the American guests received distinctly less quality service than other visitors and were frankly not welcome. It may be a sign of the times, but one would expect less noticiably different service in a Hilton hotel. HItlon should be ashamed of this property. It gives us less confidence in the Hilton brand abroad, and Hilton will no longer be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasJetLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The two visits to this hotel will have been the 17th & 18th time in 21 years I have stayed in this hotel & it remains, for me at least, the only accommodation I would choose when in Cairo.

The location of the hotel, being at the side of the Nile, directly at the side of 6th October Bridge, is ideal for an evening promenade along the river, a quick stroll across to the Egyptian Antiquities Museum or wander off into the heart of the city.

The lobby is fairly spacious; with a granite & marble decor (yes, as others have observed, people do smoke in the hotel, but this is perfectly acceptable in this part of the world), which features a small number of shops (souvenirs, papyrus, glassware, newsagents) & a couple of banks, with a cafe (where people gather to smoke shishas); which provides access to the pub, leading off it.

Three restaurants (Terrace Cafe serving an international menu & buffet, plus breakfast), an Indian restaurant & the, somewhat more formal, Citadel Grill, & the Business Centre; offering Internet access at LE45 per 20 minutes) are located one level up from the lobby, whilst the pool & Fitness Centre are located one level higher. There is a poolside bar & the Falafel Egyptian restaurant/cabaret to be found on the pool deck.

Five highspeed elevators are provided for access to the 30 guest floors; 26 of standard rooms &, corner, mini-suites & 4 of Executive rooms & the Penthouse suite.

Standard rooms are clean, comfortable & well equiped: twin or queen size beds, double wardrobes, with fitted safe, mini-bar, satellite TV, desk & a small seating area. Again, I would state that I have never had any problems with any of the fixtures & fittings over the years (this is not to say that others haven't either, just relating my personal experience). Egytpian alabaster tiled bathrooms feature wash basin, hair dryer, bath & shower, toilet & bidet & water pressure was very good, on the 16th floor).

Mini-suites are much larger, with two picture windows (only one with balcony access), a sitting area, with coffe table,sofa & 2 armchairs & queen-size bed. Other amenities are as per the standard rooms &, again, water pressure was more than adequate for the power shower, this time on the 24th floor.

Due to the triangular shape of the hotel (facing west, southeast & northeast) 90% of rooms are calculated to have at least some sort of Nile view, whils those on the eastern side are alomst guaranteed a glimpse of the Giza Pyramids from, about 15:30 - 18:00 each day. Rooms on the other two sides of the hotel may stilll have an oblique Nile view, but do offer very good views over the Islamic city.

The hotel is topped by the Window on the World bar & restaurant; for quite posh evening dining. Although I believe the hotel is no longer the tallest building in Cairo, it is still well worthwhile to pay a visit to this bar in order to admire the maginificent views over the nile & city from its picture windows.

Breakfast is served in the Terrace Cafe & offers a mixture of European & Egyptian hot dishes, bakery items, fresh fruits & juices, classic continental breakfast items, freshly cooked ommelettes & even a small Japanese selection. I would strongly recommend taking the bed & breakfast option when booking, as the offerings here willl really help to set you up for the day.

Finally, there is a "shopping annexe" directly across the street from the hotel's main entrance. Here can be found 7 floors of shops, restaurants & cinemas. Although a lot of the shops sell items, shoes handbags, lingerie, that are aimed at women, but there something for everyone (souvenirs, books, CDs & DVDs, cotton goods & gadgets). It is an indication that prices haven't been jacked up too high for the tourist market, that Cairene families come here to shop.

Although all staff were friendly, smiling & helpful, as always, I must make a special mention of those in The Sherlock Holmes Pub. They really have managed to do something that I've rarely encountered, even in UK hotel bars & created an informal atmosphere; laughing & joking or chatting about the football - that they have on TV at all times - with the customers, whilst still providing impeccible service (nibbles are constantly topped up - hot snacks provided free of charge, during happy hour, when they'll also ensure that you get your 2 for the price of one drinks). The bar snack menu is also very good & reasonably priced (scampi & chips turned out to be 6 - 7 king prawns with a large salad & huge portion of chips, at about LE100).

All in all, these two most recent visits to this hotel were as good as the first & I would happily recommmend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GParryManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

what a wonderful hotel- there´s no reason to look eslewhere. This is right where you want to be andf the staff are so helpful. The breakfast is superb!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h00lah0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 144 in Cairo
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Address: Corniche El Nile 1115, Cairo 12344, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cairo
#9 Business Hotel in Cairo
#10 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#13 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $98 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 771
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing