We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with the Nile view”
Review of Ramses Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
Ranked #13 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel with the Nile view”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ramses Hilton is in downtown Cairo and with a view on the Nile river. I was in Cairo for a short business trip.The staff were very helpful. The receptionist offered to upgrade my room to the Nile view. The room was spacious and the view was amazing but the noise from the tourists' boats that broadcast songs until 2 am made it less attractive. The room lacked basic amenities like a water kettle.Internet was not free and they charge for using the WiFi.I don't think I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ummsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Ramses Hilton and thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us.

Thank you for the nice comments on the team performance. We will convey your comments to them.

As for the coffee and tea making in the room, we are pleased to provide this service upon guest request through our Room Service Department.

As for the free internet connection, please note that we currently provide this service as free of charge to our Gold and Diamond Hilton HHonors members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    709
    306
    109
    81
See reviews for
558
649
307
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

• Hospitable staff and amazing customer service always helpful and called after we left to check up on us.
• Breakfast menu outstanding.
• Executive lounge – free water and drinks, cocktails, bakery goods and personal reception
• Free internet
• No separation between smoking/non smoking areas.
• Rooms: spacious, clean and there was a lounge setting. Modern comfortable beds.
• Nice view of the smoggy Nile
• Location: noisy despite closing all windows – traffic and general street ruckus (to be expected considering it is at the heart of Cairo).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fathiamatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the specified and detailed nice comments on the hotel facilities. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As for the comment on the hotel condition, please note that the hotel will soon go through a master plan of renovation to satisfy all our guests' needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of our Hilton Hotels Worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Ramses Hilton on the edge of Tahrir Square in downtown Cairo is a very good choice. We felt very safe, its clean, brilliant views of the nile river &/or Tahrir Square - you can watch the ridiculous traffic from the safety of your balcony for hours! Its actually very entertaining. Make sure to include the buffet breakfast in your stay. Room service is very reasonable and the serving size very ample. There's banking faclities in the lobby for currency exchange and its so close to the museum. We stay for 7 nights in total (luxor visit in between) in room 1321 & 1713. Dont be surprised if you dont see the pyramids from the hotel in the distance..... you can if the smog clears (not common though). We would say the Ramses Hilton is about a 4 star aust equivalent so dont expect absolute luxury, but its very good regardless and the staff are friendly throughout. I wouldnt stay anywhere else whilst in Cairo and Ive been there a few times over the past 10yrs. Also, Egypt is basically a dry-zone and you'll find it very very hard to buy alcohol unless you go to the hotel bar and pay accordingly. Buy your alcohol at the duty free shop at the airport BEFORE you get picked up. A further tip .... NEVER let anyone help you with your luggage at the airport ...they only want money. They dress in a uniform but dont believe them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than the 15th floor to get the best views - Nile or Tahrir Square - theyre jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have read your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your nice comments on the hotel safety, the buffet breakfast, the Room Service, and the staff performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of our Hilton Hotels Worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It is the generic staple of the HIlton chain hotels. The staff is friendly, the room was big and had a very nice view. The room was also clean and the beds were comfortable. You can walk to places but I wouldn't say it is an easy walk but is easier to cab because what they say about crossing the streets in Cairo is true--It is like being the frog in frogger. You are amazed you made it across alive without getting squished. There are really no sidewalks that I could see when we walked around there.

The breakfast has a lot although much of it was just ok in terms of quality. One thing that was great was that the waitstaff was really great with my friend's child, which I thought was really nice.

As stated in other reviews, the hotel is dated. The Nile view is beautiful but noisy. And I do think the walk really isn't a walk. Therefore, while the stay was perfectly fine, I do think that it is overpriced.

Room Tip: View of the NIle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Ramses Hilton and thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us.

Thank you for the nice comments on the team performance. We will convey your comments to them.

We do apologize that the condition of the room did not meet your expectations and have taken your comments very serious and into consideration to further improve our hotel rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel in very good location, and the shopping centre attache to the holtel , its so easy to find your way around just waking distance to evry thing the staff were good and friendly the room clean and always look fresh i love this hotel and i will stay there again

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrianasalhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Der Guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Besides that we would like to thank you for your nice comments related to the team performance .

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us on ramses@hilton.com.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our 4th visit to The Ramses Hilton as we love the location, the hotel itself and the shopping centre attached. On arrival I was a little disppointed as we approached theb desk at 9am, early I know but our flight had landed at 8am. I asked the receptionist if there was any chance of an earlier room and apologised that we were there so early. She didnt ask my name and simply said that check in was at 3pm without even checking if there were any rooms available. I think she realised that I was a little unhappy and advised that meybe at 1pm or 2 pm rooms may be ready but this really didnt help the situation. We stored our bags with the concierge and had them book us a car to the Pyramids which was great as always. Upon returning to the hotel around 3pm, a little weary as we had been up since 4 am to get our flight from Luxor we were told that still our room wasnt ready - no problem we said we would go over to the shopping centre and get some food before a well deserved afternoon nap in our rooms. After an hour we returned and our room was still not ready, this time however the team on reception were friendly, apologetic and one girl in particular with bright red lipstick and black shoulder length hair was amazing and gave us her full attention until our room keys were handed to us. The rest of the stay at the Ramses was perfect as it always is and we soon got over our arrival mishaps. We love this hotel and will continue to return year in year out. A special mention to Nancy in Guest Relations who assisted us during our stay and a thank you to the Duty Manager that called us to apologise for the wait for the room.

Room Tip: Everyone seems to want a Nile View which is great but dont be afraid to get a City View which spans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda&co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Ramses Hilton and thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us.

Thank you for the nice comments on the team performance. We will convey your comments to them.

We do apologize for the check in delay which was not up to your expectations and have taken your comments very serious into consideration to the concerned manager to further improve our guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'oop north near lancashire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wherever i travel there's always something comforting about using the premuim Hilton hotels. This one is no different and a great escape from the wonderful muddle and choas of Cairo! A seveties (sixties?) skyscraper it stands out on the banks of the Nile like a beacon welcoming the traveller to its door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackpoolwhenimsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you vey much for taking the time to write you comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that enjoyed your stay and we value you as a loyal guest to the property and we will do whatever it takes to keep our loyal guests.

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
1,536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Property: Ramses Hilton
Address: 1115 Cornish El Nile, Cairo 12344, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#9 Business Hotel in Cairo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 771
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing