We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cairo Ramses Hilton”
Review of Ramses Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
Ranked #14 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights what made this trip great for us was the service. I work in the service industry and can relate to good service. In the hotel a special mention to noha and Fatima who did an amazing job nothing was to small if we ever needed anything. We were always greeted on entrance or on the way to Breakfast 'Good Morning Mr Ali'. Also special mention to waggi who works for a tour company but The Hilton him for our City tour (ask for him on any tours you do). The Maharaja restaurant is to die for amazing food and service.

Room Tip: Choose a nile view
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rizwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

We have read your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the nice comments on the hotel team performance specially Noha, Fatma, Ali and Wagih. We are also glad you enjoyed the Indian Restaurant (Maharaja).

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,449)
There are newer reviews for Ramses Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 2,449 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in total and was both mine and my friends first trip to Egypt. Our main reason for visiting was like many, to see the pyramids. This hotels location is very good- it is located in central Cairo, just across the road from the Cairo Museum and just a few minutes further a metro station. It is a very busy road, however, it is easy to cross. Just watch how the locals do it and copy. Cairo does not have traffic lights as I know them, and at some point in your stay, regardless of hotel, you will have to cross a road. After all, a good holiday is about experiencing their culture too! So, back to the hotel. The location is good and the rooms are great for Egypt. Sadly, the hotel has seen better days and could do with a refresh. I have seen that the hotel does reply to many comments on here regarding the old look inside by stating the hotel will shortly undergo maintenance, however, there is no sign of this starting soon and you only have to look back a few reviews to see how long they have been saying that. Having said that, it is still a nice hotel and is very nice compared to the streets of dusty Cairo. Before you even get inside the hotel, you will have to go through a security check point if arriving by car, before going through a metal detector just before the lobby. When you pull up in a car/taxi, the porter welcomes you home, which is a nice touch indeed. Once inside, you are in a well designed lobby which is large and open with nice touches, such as hieroglyphics on the walls of the lifts and statues of ancient Egypt (not real, of cause). Aside from the usual check in/out desks and concierge, on the same level there is a English style pub and a couple of shops, including a gift shop. I had a look inside the pub, which is nothing special. Only 1 lager seemed to be offered and its quite small and dark inside.

We stayed in a executive floor room, which was a little tired but certainly fine for our needs. Most rooms in the hotel open up onto a balcony, with ours looking down onto the Nile, a well worth view to have if you can. There are no chairs on the balcony as it is not big enough, but fine to stand on. The rooms have air conditioning which is a little noisy but nothing to worry about. Complimentary bottled water was also provided on all but 1 day of our stay in the room and is also available in the executive lounge. The bathroom is the biggest let down for me, this certainly needs updating. It has quite a 70s feel to it, but again, serves the purpose. In the hotels defence, you are only in there to clean up etc. The usual complimentary items are provided.

The executive lounge is open to all guests staying in executive rooms and have access to a range of complimentary soft drinks and tea/coffee etc and small snacks. Breakfast is served here in the morning with small cakes and fruit during the day. In the evening, a small hot buffet is provided with complimentary alcoholic drinks during "happy hour".
In the times we where in the lounge, it was never busy, with the most people seen still in single figures. At all times, there seemed to be more staff then guests which is very off putting when they come over every few minutes, trying to get a tip, like everyone else in Cairo. At the end of every visit to the lounge, guests must sign for what they have had, but its done on a complimentary receipt.

The hotel has a outdoor pool which is nice. It is not too high up and catches the sun for most of the day. It is open until sunset everyday with towels provided. You can stand next to the edge (out of the pool that is) and look down onto the Nile and the busy streets of Cairo below.

At all times, staff where helpful and courteous and there is nothing I can fault the hotel on apart from getting on with the overdue makeover that has been promised for so long and maybe tone down the staff presence in the executive lounge! Both of these things is why I have rated the hotel what I have done.

We used the hotels own transfer service to and from the airport which was quick and convenient and not too costly. On arrival in Cairo, a representative was waiting for us when we stepped off the plane and assisted us through to buy our visas and through passport control. I can recommend this if arriving into Cairo to avoid the constant harassment of taxi drivers fighting it out to get your custom, you will have enough of that during your stay anyway!

Just across from the hotel is the "Hilton" centre, which is basically a shopping centre with a most splendid Italian restaurant on the first floor, which features in a few guidebooks as a great cheap eats restaurant- if you like Italian food, it will not disappoint. Also inside on the ground floor is a Hilton cafe and plenty of clothes shops. On the top floor is the ever famous McDonald's.

During our time at the hotel, we observed an instalment of the Cairo riots. Being 25 floors up, we where quite safe, however they closed the main entrance to the hotel and it did cross my mind as to how anyone would get in, being a tourist and trying to return home alive. Whilst it was going on, the lobby was closed to guests and the balcony in the executive lounge was advised against venturing on. The following day, the front door was damaged on the hotel and was not fixed for the remainder of our stay.

If you can look past the dated parts and you get a good rate for this hotel, I can recomend it.

Room Tip: Book a Nile view room, its well worth the extra. Once the morning haze has lifted, you will see the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metromuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Ramses Hilton and for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to notice that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you liked our Nile View rooms. Thank you for the nice comments on the team’s performance.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
With Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We found this Hotel to be in a convenient spot. Directly across the road from the Cairo museum.. Just be careful crossing the road !! It's also next to the Ramses Business Centre which is like a shopping centre and it has a movie theatre in it. The hotel has a mini mart, several restaurants, unreal buffet breakfast and views of the Nile. Staff where very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemGoldCoastOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

We have read your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the nice comments on the hotel’s rooms, the team performance and the breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 4 nights of our 12 day Egyptian land tour, both times we were on the 18th floor so the first night we had the city view and on our last 3 nights we had a view of the Nile river & Tahrir Square. The rooms was clean and spacious even though the bathroom tub could have used some updating to at least the caulking in tiles. The beds were very comfortable even a bit on the soft side for mattresses. Lots of pillows and nice duvets. Towels were bit on the grey side and should probably be replaced.
A/C worked great. Wake up calls were on time. The rooms were pretty sound proof so we rarely heard the horns during the evening unless we went out on balcony to gawk at the traffic! The view of the Nile was of course the best and on the clear morning day you could see the Pyramids off in the distance.
The breakfast food in the Terrace Cafe which was part of our package was buffet style and the choices were excellent to satisfy most palates. Juice, eggs, cereals, meats, fruit, yogurt and lots of pastries. They also made any type of eggs to order so omelets were very popular. The coffee and tea were actually the best we had in Egypt during our trip. We loved the 2 for 1 happy hour in the Sherlock Holmes pub and the fish & chips were enough for two.
The service was excellent in all the areas of the hotel from front desk, restaurants and housekeeping that we used. This hotel has a 24 hour bank right in the lobby that gave excellent exchange which was so handy.
The hotel has a shopping mall right across the street with several different types of shops and even a MCdonald's. Also there are mini markets where you can buy bottled water, soft drinks, snacks if you need. Around the corner on Nile side of hotel is a Radio Shack in case you need batteries for camera.

Room Tip: If you would like to see the Nile the rooms were 1814 - 1822
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatorVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Ramses Hilton and for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to notice that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you liked our Nile View rooms, our breakfast and the Sherlock Holmes pub.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed four nights at this hotel last week. The rooms were quite spacious and very clean; the housekeeping staff were very friendly, especially Mohammed! We had great views of Cairo when the smog allowed. The city is very noisy with car horns blowing until late at night. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and will stay again when we return to Egypt for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2011

We have read your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the nice comments on the hotel’s rooms, the cleanliness and the team performance especially Mohammed from Housekeeping.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel or any of Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed for two nights (from Thursday to Saturday) in the last week, and have to say that the hotel itself was nice. The executive room with Nile view was spacious and the room service was OK, even though the renovation work needs to be done for the outside of the hotel and it was a little noisy.

However, there were still some flaws. First thing is the transportation service (i.e., the airport pickup service provided by the hotel). Although we arrived at Cairo airport around 7:10 pm, due to the heavy traffic on Thursday evening on Cairo streets, we had to wait at the airport more than one hour, took a private car arranged by the person from Hilton at the airport to move outside of the airport, and finally changed to the limousine car, which made us very tired. I have to say that we really appreciate the person at the airport and the driver of the limousine for their efforts to shorten the time. However, anyway, we arrived to the hotel later than 10pm, which made the start of our holidays in Cairo difficult. Surprisingly, no apology from the hotel side was given despite of our explanation to the receiption, and they just charged the normal price of USD 40 (I already knew that the normal taxi fare would be around USD10). I would not recommend using the airport service of Hilton on Thursday.

Another thing is about the executive lounge, which is a minor one. There were only a few beverages without any further snacks, which were less than my expectation.

In sum, I can give my rating of this hotel as "average."

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Ramses Hilton and for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay.
We are happy to notice that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel and thank you very much about your nice comments related to the Nile view room and room service.
As for the hotel transportation service, we do apologize that the car was not available when you arrived at the airport. We would be grateful if you would be able to take the time to contact us per e-mail (ramses@hilton.com) and provide with the details of your stay. This so we can investigate internally why this car was not available upon your arrival and take the necessary action to prevent this from re-occurrence in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
With Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Ramses Hilton is a pretty standard Hilton, though a bit on the older side. The rooms were very clean and the service was good. They left little towel animals on my bed each day that were adorable. It seems like business is pretty slow these days given the current political situation and some of the restaurants were not open. Also, there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only cable, and it's not included in the standard room rate. Overall, this hotel is a good location at a reasonable price in Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Nile view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fennerlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

We have read your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, for the hotel condition, we will take your comment into consideration. We apologize that not all of our outlets are opened at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel and if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us on ramses@hilton.com

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 139 in Cairo
1,598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Address: Corniche El Nile 1115, Cairo 12344, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cairo
#9 Business Hotel in Cairo
#10 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#12 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $105 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 771
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing