We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After spending five nights in downtown Cairo and having gone through all the madness and noise, we spend our last two nights at JW Marriott mainly to relax, rest and to be close to the airport. The hotel was quiet and peaceful throughout our stay.

Check-in:
The hotel reception/check-in was really fast and extremely friendly. I was asked about my preferences.

Hotel room:
The hotel room was very large with two queen size beds (perfect for our family) over looking the artificial lake and the lush green golf course. However, after a few hic-cups with the lights and fuse in the room and after making two complain calls to the reception, we were upgraded to a much bigger Suite. The transfer was smooth and we were given the room on the same floor and much closer to the elevator.

Breakfast:
The breakfast at the Mirage cafe was better than the other hotels we were in.....with huge variety of stuff to eat and very helpful staff.

Pool:
In total, there were five different pools to choose from so it was a luxury. I along with my kids thoroughly enjoyed the artificial beach. It really was the highlight of the hotel especially for kids.

Restaurants:
We tried 'Lemon Grass' (Asian restaurant) and ordered Chinese that was not really upto expectation. I think they could do better than that.

It's a really nice hotel for a short stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

The hotel pool is nice and for relaxing at the spa area is good. However, the hotel bill was not correct. At check-out time, they charged us double price due to no confirmation from the main system and I have to pay and will be reimbursed later once the confirmation is coming. However, 2 weeks later after I confronted them why they still kept the whole amount, they explained the high price due to other room category. This is very abnormal, since we never asked at the check-in to have another higher room category.
After complain to the central, they paid us back (however not the whole amount).

The restaurant was also not so professional. We had a dinner in the Lemon Grass Hotel and we have got a food poisoning due to .... not cook properly and dirty?????

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schneider13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

When we arrived at the Cairo airport, the hotel driver was waiting with our name on a sign to pick us up. Within ten minutes we were at the hotel. The rooms are nice and the pool area is massive; waterslides and pools great for everyone. The club room had snacks in the evenings and an excellent breakfast spread in the morning; including an omelet station. We mentioned it was our anniversary and they decorated the room with rose petals and gave us a cake made with fresh fruit that was delicious.

The negative thing about this hotel is definitely the concierge. They are overpriced and rude. Take the shuttle to the mall and take the taxi back for much less than the hotel charges. We took a day tour organized by the concierge and we felt ripped off. The driver was rude and took us to the places he got kick backs from. If you take a tour from them, be sure to be assertive on where you want to go and stand your ground.

Downtown Cairo is a mad house and it was nice to come back to the JW Marriot to relax. Also shopping is better and much cheaper in Luxor rather than in Cairo's markets. The hotel is located far from the city center and sites but it was good as we felt very safe there.

Overall we loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTrav78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here on the last night of our 8 day visit to Egypt, arriving at 5 pm and leaving the next morning at 7:30 am. We did eat at the hotel's very good Lebanese restaurants. Its swimming pool is enormous and fantastic, it reminded me of the Belaggio in Las Vegas without the crowds. Mixed business and tourists at the hotel. Very nice sized and comfortable rooms, efficient. Close to Cairo Airport, not close to pyramids or other tourist sites. Good for a fly in and out. I would not make it the focal point of a holiday as you would spend too much time in traffic going places. It was perfect for what we needed on our final evening.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Very nice hotel, with lot's of amenities, great value and good security.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetdriver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I stayed for three nights at this gorgeous hotel with a fantastic view, and very spacious room. Truly enjoyed for its fascinating ambience and lovely combination of elegance with convenience.
Food are wonderful with resonable cost. Room are beyond spacious with all facilities you might need. Lobby and public areas are really eye opening. A giant golf court at the backyard. Magnificent pool (indoor connected to outdoor!) plus a small them park for the kids.
The only point against the hotel is the distance to the city (16KM), which was solved by free daily shuttle by the hotel to the City Stars.
Recommended for the couples looking for a cosy gorgeous hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fakasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The J W Marriott offers you peace in the mayhem of Cairo. Very convenient to the airport - only 15 minutes away max. Being in Mirage City, on the outskirts of Cairo, the air is much cleaner and it is not so stiffingly hot.
Plenty of restaurants to choose from. I can highly recommend Lemongrass and the Italian.
Fantastic pool area with waves! Hardly anybody there during the week.
But the best for me by far, was the spa. I had the best massage ever, and a wonderful relaxation area with great tea on tap.
This is primarily a business hotel, but they do offer a very good shuttle service to all the main sites in Cairo. It would make a good base, if you want to combine some r&r with all the famous sites that Cairo has to offer

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
12.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
12.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
12.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
12.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Cairo

Address: Ring Road- Mirage City | Heliopolis, Cairo 11757, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#7 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#10 Business Hotel in Cairo
#14 Family Hotel in Cairo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $159 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a new standard of elegance at the award-winning JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. Set against the unique and magical backdrop of Cairo, Egypt, a vibrant city steeped in 7,000 years of history and culture, our luxury hotel provides a combination of relaxed sophistication and personalized service. 440 impeccably appointed hotel rooms and suites offer every luxury for your Heliopolis visit, from pillowtop mattresses and marble bathrooms to 24-hour room service and high-speed Internet. Our stunning suites feature impressive views of our golf course, or "The Beach." With 12 diverse dining options at your disposal, you can rest assured that your appetite will always be satisfied. Indulge in a luxury treatment at the 27,000-square foot Mandara Spa, or play a round at our Mirage City Golf Club. Plan your next event with us in Heliopolis; our hotel features gorgeous, flexible venue space and comprehensive planning services. For the getaway of a lifetime here in Egypt, choose the JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cairo
Marriott Hotel Cairo
Marriott Cairo
Cairo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing