We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed here many times on business and also for leisure. Some of the says have been over three weeks while moving to permanent homes in Cairo. The set-up of the hotel is magnificent with lovely open areas, a golf course, spa, several swimming pools and restaurants. The pools are manned by life guards which is good if one has children. The staff are on the whole very helpful but their training is lacking in several areas. Guest rooms are in need of refurbishment now and I think the cleaning staff often do not clean properly. Restaurants are quite good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night's sleep, ask for rooms with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europe_City_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caijw, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear valued guest,
We appreciate your time you have taken on post this review which will indeed help other travelers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Cairo.

In refrence to your comments, now we are undergoing a process of soft refurbishment to all our rooms, many phases of the project are done and we are progressing in the rest; room by room in our effort to improve our product and giving our guests more product quality.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the JW Marriott Hotel Cairo in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me via the Hotel and I will always be delighted to assist you with your reservations requirements.

Kind regards
Ali Ahmed
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on business in Cairo. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff could not be more helpful. I was given a room facing the highway and hardly slept due to the noise. Egyptians like to use their car horns, particularly lorry drivers!

The next morning I asked to be moved and my request was granted without a problem. I was given a room facing the golf course and slept like a baby that night.

While I did not use them the hotel has several restaurants, one of which is reputed to be an excellent steak house. THe breakfast buffet was excellent - although not included in the price.

The hotel backs on to a golf course so if you have the time......why not!

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course. The noise on the road side will keep you awake at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caijw, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

It is our absolute pleasure to receive such a positive comment about our hotel!

We aim to provide our guests genuine hospitality with good and comfortable hotel rooms so that you can make the most of your time.

I trust you will rejoin us back soon, meanwhile please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincere regards,
Ali Ahmed
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the JW Marriott, Cairo for a few days at the end of April. The hotel was very clean, the grounds and gardens were very well kept (although the the balcony plant troughs were past their best and had been used as ashtrays by previous guests, which was a wee bit inconsiderate to staff and/or future guests). The public areas are huge open spaces that are peppered with comfortable seating, lovely fresh flower arrangements, and ornate objects - not quite to my taste, but right for the hotel style. There was some refurbishment works ongoing in the area we were staying, so our floor was quite empty (maybe they stuck us there because they thought we were going to be noisy?). The corridor carpet was also starting to get a bit threadbare in places... no wonder, as it was vacuumed constantly!

We had a driver organised to take us around some of the sights and places of interest (The Giza Pyramids were absolutely awesome) that we wanted to visit (we also had a guide - organised separately). The driver was organised through the hotel, and he was great - very professional chap, lovely new, safe feeling vehicle... which really is something when you see some of the driving styles - very few vehicles survive unscathed. However, if you are going to charter a driver, make sure you are clear about whether it's being charged to your room, or paying the driver direct after the trip - we had to scrape together the cash to pay the driver direct as we hadn't signed forms (that we didn't know we needed to sign) before we left the hotel. A guide is essential when you go to the Pyramids, Sphinx and other attractions at Giza - mainly because with a guide you'll get a fabulous interactive ancient history lesson, and without a guide you will be hassled to death by hawkers, beggars and street sellers. (If you want to buy cheap souvenirs (or 'tat'), buy the at the site - the guide will tell you not to and they he will take you somewhere to buy 'proper' authentic souvenirs... lovely as he may be, he is on commission.)

The bar staff were very good - attentive but not 'in your face'. They could russle-up just about any drink you wanted, and they gave us some very good advice on local wines. (I just couldn't get used to the fact that people are allowed to smoke in internal public areas.)

We only had room service once - the menu was fairly comprehensive, the food was delivered quickly, and I thought it was pretty good.

The Reception Staff were polite, competent and helpful.

The domestic staff were excellent. They really could not have done any more - they fetched ice and replenished our ice bucket... our room was immaculate, they tidied, they cleaned, and they organised our chaos! Brilliant.

The hotel has every convenience that you would expect of this class of hotel - car hire hub, bank and currency exchange, shops including flower shops, clothing ranges, gift shops, and a jeweller. We didn't have the opportunity to use the Spa or Salon, but I understand from a colleague that the Spa is good - and you can get great manicures and pedicures.

JW Marriott Cairo is a great hotel if you need to be near the airport or the ring road, but was a bit big and impersonal - most of the people there were day delegates at business functions. That said - we had a lovely (if short) stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caimerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caijw, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear valued guest,

It is our absolute pleasure to receive such a positive comment about our services!

We aim to provide our guests genuine hospitality with good and comfortable hotel rooms so that you can make the most of your time.

I trust you will rejoin us back soon, meanwhile please feel free to contact me if you need any assistance regarding you future bookings.

Sincere regards
Ali Ahmed
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having stayed many times in this Hotel it was once again nice to come back.
The staff are very good and attentive, their service can not usually be faulted.
Try the steak it is some of the best I have tasted, the rooms are getting a little old but still in good condition, if you are a business traveller and want a "one Stop" Hotel in Cairo then this is the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caijw, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding the hotel and the team.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the JW Marriott Cairo Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Ali Ahmed
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, extremely comfortable, excellent amenities. Good food and great service. Extremely friendly staff. Beautiful setting, lovely, large lounge area in reception (where you can also have snacks/coffee etc), well laid out eating area. Room is exceptionally comfortable, peaceful and quiet, was able to sleep well, bed very comfortable. A wonderful stay, highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the golf course, peaceful, lovely view. King size bed - very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caijw, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review of the JW Marriott Hotel Cairo.

I was very pleased to read such positive comments about our staff & the service provided and I will certainly pass your positive feedback to the team.

Our aim is to make sure that all our guests have the most enjoyable stay and I am very pleased that we have achieved this.

Once again, I do appreciate you sharing your comments with other Trip advisor users and the team and I would be more than happy to welcome you back to the JW in Cairo in the near future.

Kind regards
Ali Ahmed
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

very friendly staff, great health club facilities etc. Very secure (like airport) i.e security down road to get in with dogs and search under car, metal detectors etc coming in ( it was afterall a Marriott in Islamabad, I believe, that was bombed and it is an AMerican or Western Icon target) but don't let tat deter you if you like this kind of Hotel to begin with 0it is close to airport but not downtown (but accessible for daily tours which is what we did) various restaurants in the Hotel itself and great concierge lounge for breakfast and " appetiser."dinner"/deserts if you are entitled to it as a marrioter so to speak

Room Tip: Depending on your preference either pool side with part city views in distance or city one former h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caijw, Director of Rooms Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review of the JW Marriott Cairo

I am glad that you liked the hotel and the team and I would be delighted to welcome you back next time in the near future.

Should I be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me.

Kind regards
Ali Ahmed
Director of Rooms Operations
Ali Ahmed
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well we had gone there for business trip. The facilities are awesome. The wave pool and water park was excellent. Service is excellent. The only problem is far from the city. Kids can enjoy the most. Good space and building is architected well. If you are looking for food the only near by is a store next to petrol bunk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diptimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
12.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
12.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
12.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Cairo

Address: Ring Road- Mirage City | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#7 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#10 Business Hotel in Cairo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#14 Family Hotel in Cairo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $167 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a new standard of elegance at the award-winning JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. Set against the unique and magical backdrop of Cairo, Egypt, a vibrant city steeped in 7,000 years of history and culture, our luxury hotel provides a combination of relaxed sophistication and personalized service. 440 impeccably appointed hotel rooms and suites offer every luxury for your Heliopolis visit, from pillowtop mattresses and marble bathrooms to 24-hour room service and high-speed Internet. Our stunning suites feature impressive views of our golf course, or "The Beach." With 12 diverse dining options at your disposal, you can rest assured that your appetite will always be satisfied. Indulge in a luxury treatment at the 27,000-square foot Mandara Spa, or play a round at our Mirage City Golf Club. Plan your next event with us in Heliopolis; our hotel features gorgeous, flexible venue space and comprehensive planning services. For the getaway of a lifetime here in Egypt, choose the JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cairo
Marriott Hotel Cairo
Marriott Cairo
Cairo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing