We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Respite after a Day of Sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Respite after a Day of Sightseeing”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We loved this hotel and we loved staying on the island of Zamalek. Zamalek is an upscale area and it is quiet compared to the rest of Cairo. The old palace part of the hotel was lovely and it was nice to be in an historic place.
Our room at the Marriot was fine. We were in the buildings behind the pool area, not in one of the 2 tall buildings.
We loved sitting anytime of day in the garden restaurant. We were amazed at how many tables were in this garden area and, no matter what time of day, there were always a number of people enjoying their time in the garden area.
We loved the bakery for breakfast in the morning. We skipped the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmazingRacerWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    661
    184
    73
    54
See reviews for
353
568
191
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We concluded our holiday in Egypt with a 3 night stay on Zamalek. I looked forward to a relaxing stay at this "quality " hotel. I was much underwhelmed, with unsatisfactory service levels from the moment of arrival to departure.
I always make a point of reading reviews for hotels and chose the Marriott on the basis of reviews, location and value. The reader will note that the reviews are mixed for this hotel and whilst some aspects of this hotel are good, too many are mediocre and some outright poor.
Without going into too much detail, the reception desk was very badly trained in that I was held for 30 minutes as they attempted to place me in an inferior room to that which I had ordered and paid for in advance. I had read that this happens and had consequently taken the necessary precautions to combat this. After 30 minutes of excuses and untruths, they conceeded and provided a suite. However, I would have been happy enough to have the deluxe room that I booked, and avoided all of the stress of this arrival debacle. Check out too had problems in that they had put on a charge for two out of three breakfast taken, these extras were quickly removed, but it should not have happened.
Other impressions were that the staff were polite and friendly, the public areas were pleasant enough and the hotel structure was large and modern with a wide range of facilities. We tried several of the places that were available for meals and snacks. The service was generally good to satisfactory, but the food whilst looking tempting too often turned out to be mediocre in taste and preparation, not particulary good value for Egypt, but then the hotel is secure in having a captive audience.
The area around the hotel is sometimes described as being a quiet residential area, but this is a relative comparison. I found the area noisy, dirty devoid of acceptable restaurants but quite safe to wander.
I think may locals frequent the hotel during the evening for drinks and food, perhaps because of any immediate alternatives.
If you are old, poor sighted or anyway infirm then stay in the hotel, for you will not safely cross roads.
I found that using taxis found at the rear of the hotel were a good way of getting around. Airport, Pyramids, central Cairo all easily done. Get a price first, offer half and promise a good tip if the drive is smooth. (Even at full price they are still fair value by western standards). We all ended happy!
I would not use this hotel again unless the management has been seen to implement changes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagadju
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We got the garden view room and it was worth it. The room was very clean and comfortable. Beds were soft and linen very clean. We had the best night's sleep at this hotel during our last four nights in Cairo. We were given a complimentary fruit basket and chocolate basket on the very last night of our stay.

This hotel is buzzing 24hrs due to the casino, security is very high. There are about 3 or 4 money changers within this hotel and a good business centre. As it was winter we did not try the pool although it looked quite nice set amongst the garden. Checking in and out was very quick and efficient.

This hotel is located in the leafy embassy area of Cairo on Zamalek island. This hotel had a very good cosmopolitan ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We were placed in the Garden rooms on the first floor. The room was not clean, the rugs and the bathroom were dirty, the traffic noise outside was awful and the guards stood outside our door all night and chatted. The wait staff in the cafe inside for breakfast and outside at the Egyptian Nights were slow and arrogant. The porters never arrived when they were expect to do so. The man at the business center tried to rip us off, as did the men at The Bakery. You could not walk outside as the area was dangerous. The rugs in the Palace area were also dirty and very worn. A shabby place and not a good advertisement for Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed here as part of a tour. Ideal hotel for those less adventurous as there is no need really to go outside for anything

Disappointing that Marriot Corporation can still charge Western prices even though their expenses are a lot less here

Whilst a perfectly comfortable hotel, with friendly and enthusistic staff, it did feel very "soul-less"

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stay at the Cairo Marriott about 6 or 7 times a year, and I love it! I go to Egypt on business, but this hotel makes me feel like I am on vacation. The hotel makes you feel like you really are in Egypt, rather than just in a big western-style hotel that could be anywhere. The staff are friendly, the service is very Egyptian (everyone seems to be doing six things at once, but in the end they get them all done!), the beds are supremely comfortable, and the setting is ideal.
Nowadays, I prefer to stay in the garden court, but for first timers to Egypt a room in the tower overlooking the mighty Nile is surely the recommended location. Cairo is probably the noisiest city on the planet, so the double-glazed windows are appreciated. Not even ten-inch thick steel would cut out all of the Cairo street noise, but the double glazing helps.
The hotel has at least four restaurants and a pub. The restaurants include Italian, American-style, international café, and a Japanese restaurant. It is true that the food is quite expensive, but it is on a par with similar hotels nearby. They advertise that breakfast starts at 6 am, but the service-oriented manager opens at around 5 am during the peak season. Breakfast gets crowded, so earlier is better. Speaking of breakfast, they make one of the best Egyptian fouls I have tasted: foul is a traditional breakfast of fava beans roughly mashed with onion and tomato, and is a great start to the day!
In pride of place in the hotel grounds is the swimming pool. Not that I have measured it, but it is one of the biggest hotel pools I have seen. The surrounding area is tiered and lounge chairs are plentiful. At the back of the pool is a heated area and jacuzzi. The newly-updated gym is also at the back of the pool. Until recently, my one major complaint about the hotel was the gym – the equipment was so old that I am sure the ancient Pharaohs used some of it. However, now that it is updated with great equipment, it is truly 5-star standard.
The outside café area of the hotel is the place to be late afternoon and early evening. It is here that you truly feel that you are in Egypt. The crowd is a great mix of locals, gulf Arabs in all their finery (filling the surrounds with wafts of their exotic perfumes), Europeans, and people from various Asian countries. The atmosphere is friendly and has a great buzz. It is a great place for a drink and a traditional Arab sandwich call a hawaisshi: sensational Egyptian bread filled with minced lamb and then scorched in a hot oven.
On a more practical note, allow time for your check-out because it can take time. The fine art of queuing or is not a cultural value in this part of the world. You may think you are next on line, but in the minds of the locals, queues do not exist! Therefore, there is no next in line!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

OK. This is a very impressive building. The Courtyard Cafe's are very memorable (with unfortunately mediocre and expensive food). Exec Lounge was a fantastic benefit with evening hot hors d'ouvres. Drinks were very expensive though. Internet worked well. Location is fine if you don't feel the need to walk the neighborhood (seems safe but just nothing nearby to see). Hotel cabs are very expensive so take local taxi's. Very nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teuerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
12.9 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1086
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing