We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for families with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Beautiful, impeccably clean hotel with lovely staff.
We were offered an upgrade to the Exec Floor on arrival for USD50 per day which meant a different TV and access to the Exec lounge. So we got breakfast in the lounge everyday, soft drinks and tea throughout the day, free wifi, cakes and biscuits and in the evening they serve 'snacks' which are actually enough to fill you up for dinner! So this worked out as really good value and is worth asking for if they don't offer it.
The room was lovely and overlooked the Nile which was amazing once you blocked out the sound of beeping car horns. It was a short walk to the Cairo Museum and riverbank restaurants. The use of a concierge service in the exec lounge was really useful to book restaurants, taxis and trips - all the kind of the things that matter when you travel with young children.
The gardens are lovely in the evening. It was quiet when we went but the staff were still attentive and didn't mind bringing us ice creams for the children wherever we decided to eat!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and go back again if visiting Cairo.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoeFamilyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 2,411 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

Great property and the older section of the hotel is what makes the Marriott unique. When I went the older part is under renovation and I wasn't sure how long it'll take for the renovations to be completed, but it wasn't messy or dirty. The rooms are spacious, though I did notice that the bathrooms weren't as clean as I'd expect it to be and was a bit dusty.

I do have to agree with some of the reviewers below about the restaurant. We ate outside on the patio twice and each time service was slow. It took 10 - 15 minutes to get a menu and then another 15 minutes to get a hold of a waiter to order. Another 30 minutes for the food to come out and if you wanted the bill - that was another 15 - 20 minutes to get it cleared. The food was good - we had pizza and sandwiches there. Of course the prices are on the higher end since it's the Marriott.

The hotel has 2 banks which are open 24hrs/day and it's great to convert money there and they don't charge a fee. Casino is nice, but very smoky (in fact people smoke everywhere around Cairo). Pool was great and they've got great locker rooms and showers there. We had to shower in the pool area once since we had to check-out of our rooms, went sightseeing and then back to the hotel to pick-up luggage and catch a night train. It was excellent - they don't mind it either.

Beware of the taxi drivers and independent cabbies hanging around the front of the hotel. We got scammed twice on taxi fares because of it. The Marriott bellboys who are standing in the front don't even say anything to these cabbie scammers and probably make a commission off of them from the outrageous fares they mention to us. To be on the safer side, use a taxi cab with a metered fare.

To book this hotel at a good rate - I think you have to book a month in advance. We paid on average $125/night incl taxes, but not including breakfast directly through their site.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Hotel was ok, but service is bad bad bad! Bring your drink and food from home if you need something, you will not get somthing there!
They do not even take a look at you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlanderNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We only had the one night stop over in Cairo so splashing out on the "Marriott" was a must for us.
Wow, what a building of course being an old palace what would you expect?
To be Honest,we expected a little more than "just a nice building".
Check-in. No verbal welcome in fact no real welcome at all. The room was really nice, clean spacious and everything we needed. In fact we needed something to eat. Looking out from the Balcony we saw many places to eat along the promenade.However getting something to eat was a whole new "event". The waiters all stood around talking (or reading the Koran, it was Ramadan). It took us 10 minutes to even get recognized, i wonder if it took just as long as with the other 27 guests? After getting hold of a waiter it took another 30 minutes to get served. The food was tasty, and the service ,non existent.
I believe the hotel received its 5 stars purely on the buildings merits.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I've visited this hotel twice - once in the 80's for business, and again recently for New Year. It is special - originally a palace, with colonial gardens and grand reception areas. Pure class and relative tranquility in the middle of the chaos of Cairo.
I have travelled all my life for my work, and this is one of the top 5 hotels I have ever visited.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here twice on our trip to Egypt, both times in a room in the older area of the hotel. Quite a walk from the lobby, out thru the courtyard. I think all the rooms have balconies: unfortunately, ours overlooked what must have been a fountain until construction. It looked like a place to hang people....but to be honest, the courtyard at night, with the lights on the trees lit up, is beautiful. The room itself was very nice.
There are two restaurants out in the courtyard, we sat outside twice, lovely atmosphere and you can choose from either menu. Just the people watching is fabulous.
There is a lot of walking: be prepared. There are also a lot of steps to the pool area, and down to Omar's cafe, where they serve breakfast (a great breakfast buffet, you can get fresh cooked omelettes and waffles). There is a wonderful little bakery with sandwiches and pastries, but you pay more to sit in there to eat: we bought the food and ate it on our balcony, which was cheaper and nicer as well. Coffeemaker in the room very spacious room. My elderly mother found the tub an issue to get in and out of, no handrail and high up: we went to the pool area and showered there, where there is a shower for handicapers you can walk straight into.
The area around the hotel is congested with traffic, and difficult to walk around, but worth getting out into to see the people and the city. I saw a man riding a bicycle balancing a ladder on his head in traffic. . . crossing the street is a risk. A local woman took pity on us and finally came across to help us. If you go out the front door of the hotel, and turn right, and right again at the corner, and walk one block down to the red "Vodaphone" sign, just past it is a Mobil station that sells cookies, water (cheaper!) and groceries. Across the street (which is 5 lanes) is a restaurant with a wood door, Abu Sid. We ate there: it was ok, but others have raved about it. Very local atmosphere and worth a try.
There are two banks in the hotel for money exchange. I was glad that I had used them, as we did a cruise on the Nile and in other cities, people had trouble using the ATM machines. The Egyptian Museum is nearby, but I highly recommend taking a cab there, as walking thru the traffic can be difficult. There are guards with bomb sniffing dogs outside every entrance to the hotel: but we noticed this outside many hotels or office buildings in Egypt.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklynMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I felt like a princess staying in this hotel that was once a palace. The hotel is stunningly gorgeous and very clean. The Zamalek neighborhood is very peaceful and the perfect setting along the Nile for this hotel. There are loads of restaurants and shops which are all great. The shop prices were very reasonable (we loved AUF and NOMAD) and we spent a few evenings having mezzahs, desserts and sheesha at the Egyptian Nights hotel. Sure the hotel food prices were higher than out in the city, but for a 5 star place, the prices were less than expected. We also LOVED the Marriott Bakery on the first floor. Great coffee, juices, sandwiches and desserts. There is also a bank in the hotel to change money and break big bills. Everything you need is here... As for our deluxe room, it was spacious, with a balcony that you could see the Nile from, the bathroom was all marble and big, the beds were SUPER comfortable. The TV offered many viewing options. There was also a desk, desk chair and arm chair. Each morning housekeeping left us complimentary bottles of water and one day they left us a large fruit basket! Everyone we encountered that worked for the hotel was extremely nice and super helpful. We definitely tipped often and well, but the staff deserved the gratuities. We used the pool everyday. It is super large with an area in and out of the sun. Towels are available poolside as well as a cafe and a great pool staff that brought us everything we needed. My husband and I definitely splurged on this trip, but it was well worth it! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank professorwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 141 in Cairo
2,621 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1 mi away
Fairmont Nile City
Fairmont Nile City
#6 of 141 in Cairo
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $162 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1060
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt hotels, Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino sits in the Zamalek area and is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel in Cairo rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing