We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GOOD AND BAD POINTS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino to your Saves list
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11211, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #3 of 140 Hotels in Cairo
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GOOD AND BAD POINTS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our Egypt holiday.

Good: Good location and the public parts are very attractive. The pool is a huge one and excellent for doing laps if it isnt crowded(suggest after sundown). The spa is good with excellent sauna and steam room. Breakfast is good too, and hopefully you can get a rate with it included.

Rooms are a bit tired, but the least satisfactory thing is the cost of all of the many restaurants within the hotel for OK but not specatcularly good food. About 4 times what things would cost outside the hotel..The internet is very expensive too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deCourcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    550
    152
    63
    39
See reviews for
272
500
147
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I don't often get to stay in five star hotels, but we got a very good price for the Cairo Marriott on Expedia, and wanted somewhere relaxing for the last couple of days of our holiday. I'm always a little disappointed that rooms in these kind of hotels are the same wherever you go, but ours was spacious and comfortable. We had a view over the Nile, and would probably have been able to see the pyramids if it wasn't for the smog. We were on the ninth floor of the Zamalek tower. I wouldn't go any higher if you suffer from vertigo!

Its worth looking round the bars and restaurants in the main building, some of which still retain the character of the 19th century palace.

Service at the hotel was mixed. Generally staff were very helpful. We arrived at 6am on the sleeper train from Luxor and they let us into our room early which was much appreciated. However the service at the outdoor garden cafe was a bit mixed - we gave up one evening after being ignored for 15 minutes. I wouldn't recommend eating in the hotel. Our meal at the Sahara nights outdoor restaurant was okay but at £50 for two with no wine was very pricey. Coming from the UK it was really weird to go into their English themed pub to find it stinking of smoke - it was like going back in time.

What made the hotel for me though (apart from getting luxury at a bargain price) was the pool area. It felt really decadent to be able to relax so close to the centre of one of the biggest and noisiest cities in the world.

The Zamalek area is okay to walk around, although personally I prefer downtown Cairo, and the area around the Khan el Khalili which are both a lot more interesting to walk around, and you get a real feel for the city. Crossing the road is of course an experience, and I did have to close my eyes more than once when a taxi did a good impersonation of the Knight Bus from Harry Potter

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We only stayed one night as our trip was delayed due to a missed flight. Stayed in an executive tower room...definitely worth the extra price...included breakfast and evening snacks enough for a meal. We went throught the hotel to arrange a private tour through their american express guides. The guide was professional, courteous, and knowledgable...the van we travelled in was clean and the driver was safe. Although we did not get a chance to explore the area around the hotel, the tour guide we hired told us that was a very safe area...fine to walk in the evening with lots of great restaurants. Would definitely stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripRNstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Everything about this hotel is fabulous!! We have stayed there 3 times. This hotel is elegant and expertly run and each time, the service was warm, polished and professional. We have stayed on the Executive Level and had a package that also included transportation to and from Cairo airport. The Executive Level features rooms on higher floors (with a wonderful Nile view!) and a light breakfast buffet and light (limited) dinner buffet. The light buffets worked very well for us because we didn't want huge meals.

Part of the hotel is a former palace, complete with beautiful grounds--which is a rare oasis of tranquility in downtown Cairo! We particularly enjoyed the outdoor Promenade Cafe on these grounds. At least in the winter, it's just wonderful to sit at the outdoor cafe and relax and watch people!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We loved the Cairo Marriot, it really is 5 star. The food was fantastic, the pool is amazing(warm and 29degree water in 38 to 42 degree heat)

We loved the pizza made near the pool area (about $10CAD) and the breakfast buffet was absolutely stunning.

We did an amazing insight vacations tour and started with 4 nights in the Cairo Marriot in the tower rooms. Clean, new, and quiet!

We returned at the end of our 11 day tour of Egypt, and we were excited to spend our final night in the Cairo Marriott. The staff really tried to help us out. We arrived at 11:00 pm to the airport, and got to the hotel around midnight. We were on Canadian time, so we were not going to be able to sleep. We also did not want to pay for a full night to just put our bags away, so we checked them into the "bag checkin" free of charge.

The staff then allowed us to have our room at about 6:30 or 7:00 am after we finished breakfast! THIS was nice, because we went to sleep finally as we were still on Canadian time (8 am was then midnight our body time)


We walked along the shore almost every day southbound out of the Marriott property. Constantly bombarded with "sales" we learned that raising your hand with 5 fingers up (like stop) was more effective than speaking. Once you speak its an in. Just raise your hand and say "la shukran" which is no thank you.

We didnt feel comfortable eating anywhere BUT our resort. The resort food was great, as I mentioned the pizza was amazing. The Italian restaurant we HIGHLY recommend! Cost us about $10-$12 per plate for 5 star food! Apparently, this is VERY expensive in Egypt. So that was nice, because you cant get prices for food like this in Canada.

A gem in the desert! Also very close to the Pyramids!

Remember, "La Shukran" and raise your hand like a stop sign. Works best with vendors. remember its the livelyhood.... they wont be offended if you ignore them after saying "no thank you"

As well, if youre staying at the Cairo Marriot it would probably only cost you $20-$40 CAD for 2 people if you wanted to take a private cab ride to and from the Pyramids!

If youre walking, you will constantly be beeped at by cab drivers, just raise your hand and say "la shukran" and look back at where youre walking. Dont wait for cars to cross, just walk across each lane as you get the chance. If youre nervous, follow a local across the street.

DO THE CAMEL RIDE at the pyramids! 15 minutes for $3-$5 is what you should pay! Negotiate, and understand you WILL be asked for tips. Pre-negotiate a price, and pay after your ride not before. If you dont pre-negotiate a price, they could take you farther and demand more money if you havnt worked out a price.

You could get some to $3 for the hour, but they will try and sell you $100/hour because you dont know any better. Pay what you think is fair...... we had our tour guide arrange the 15 minutes for $5 flat. He suggested a $1 tip IF they didnt ask for a tip. They asked us for a tip, so our tour guide laid into them about "trying to create a better level of service" and not ask.

One last thing! Remember, you will hear "beeps" of constant horns 24/7. You wont hear them in your room, and you can barely hear them if youre on the balcony (we were on the 4th floor and could barely hear them while outside)
Horns are "communication" in Egypt

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richknebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We moved into this Hotel for two nights Friday March 12 + Sat March 13. We were staying at another hotel but got a a good deal here so we switched. The Cairo Marriott is really great. I mean, it's totally worth the money we spent (which included a full buffet breakfast). We arrived here on Friday tired and exhausted from lack of sleep at out other Cairo hotel. The Mariott front desk helped us check in early - got our room ready in 45 mins and even upgraded us to a larger room on a mid level floor overlooking the Nile.

The beds were comfy, great/soft pillows (goose down), spacious and well-lit bathrooms, clean carpets and windows that dampened the city noise outside. The AC worked great and kept the room cool and comfortable all day and night - kept the mosquitoes away :)

The full breakfast is really worth it if you're a large breakfast person - like me. They have different cuisines for different pallets - Mid Eastern (Hummus, Pita, Tahini, Tabouleh), Continental/American (Eggs, Meats,Cheese, Breads, Jellies, Juices), Asian (Steamed veggies, Rice) and also fresh made omelettes w/ various toppings.

They have several different cafe's and restaurants within the hotel - bakeries, Italian, Egyptian, American, Steak House - so there are a lot of options for lunch and dinner within the hotel itself. Outdoor seating for lunch and dinner is available - so you can enjoy the 'Cairo weather' and a meal as well.

The hotel also arranges tours - that are reasonably priced (we know because we compared to other locations) and cover the same locations as other tours - Pyramids, Sakkara, Memphis, Old Cairo, Islamic Cairo etc.

It turns out that the original building is a Historic Site - so there is a lot of 'elegance' here as well.

Location: Since it's located in the Zamalek district, it's nice to go out and walk around this part of Cairo. Compared to other parts, it more quiet, home to a lot of Embassies, trendy cafes and restaurants - generally frequented by young/trendy Egyptians. Getting in and out of the hotel requires you to go thru security - guard dogs, xray scanners and metal detectors - all to make you feel safer :)

The only negatives were as follows:

- Since the Hotel has both smoking and non-smoking rooms, (we're non smokers), the smoke from another room would drift into our bathroom. Though it was not too strong, it was enough to be irritating. I don't think any hotel in Cairo is completely non smoking.

- Also, all 'outdoor' sections of the hotel - poolside and cafes - are smoking. So if you're a non smoker, then its a bit agitating to have smoke from the next table come over all the time. Then again, most restaurants in Cairo allow smoking.

- The Mariott allows guests to charge many purchases to the room - but in the fine print you realize that there is a 2% city tax added to all purchases charged to the room.

- The last night we were there, someone pulled the fire alarm and that jolted us up at 1 am. Hard to go back to sleep - after that. It was a false alarm and they were responsive in letting us know this too - so we tried to go back to sleep - but the alarm kept beeping for about 45 mins later -and we could not sleep thru that.

Overall, it was a great experience at a decent cost. Had we known about this deal sooner, I would have switched earlier to this hotel. If am ever in this city again, then I will stay at this location. I recommend it to everyone who is thinking of visiting.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arrege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Hotel and food was excellent. Although, half the time I did not know what I was eating - the food was superb. Hotel staff were friendly and ready to assist and they did an excellent job in getting us from the hotel to the airport to the hotel again witouth loosing or damaging anyones luggage. Hotel was beautiful and clean. Simply Wonderful!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank CnMe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#10 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,912 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#6 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11211, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing