We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Cairo Madness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Just back last night from an 8 day stay at Cairo Marriott and had a look at Trip Advisor and was surprised at some of the more negative reviews. The most previous is definitely misleading as the reviewer does not appear to have been there but has posted a review based on friends' opinion of visiting, not staying.
Myself and my partner's experience was entirely positive and in fact we would certainly recommend this hotel. One of the things we found really impressive was the service: from check-in to check-out we found every person helpful. Guest relations are excellent source of info e.g. opinion on local restaurants and making reservations for you at them, booking trips for you, directions, advising you of what cost of taxi should be to places etc. The hotel itself is beautiful with a huge number of eating choices and bars and food/drink excellent. The entertainment is perhaps a little bit cheesy especially for people in their 30s but alright. We ate at Tuscany restaurant, Egyptian Nights and at Harry's Bar - all brilliant. The prices are quite steep but 5* prices so not surprising. Problem is not so much the cost as the 12% service charge and 10% sales tax put on top (this is the same in outside restaurants so not a Marriott thing) which increases everything by almost 1/4. By the way there are non-smoking tables in restaurants (not bar though) so you can request these.
I would say that a high floor might be the best option due to traffic noise etc (although in Zamalek area this is nowhere near as bad as staying in one of the downtown hotels). We were in an Executive room on the 15th floor which overlooked the Nile and the pool and was lovely.
The area is probably the nicest to stay in - not such bad traffic, noise or rubbish as downtown but still some nice restaurants etc. Abou El Cid, a restaurant across the road from hotel is amazing and great Egytian menu. Also, as we found out you have to reserve at good restaurants or be prepared to be disappointed.
To be honest in some ways we enjoyed the hotel more than Cairo itself. It is a large, noisy, polluted city that has so much to offer but really needs a good clean!! Walking around is not that pleasant and crossing roads in rush hour is an experience to say the least!! We were a little disappointed in some of the tourist sights for example, The Egyptian Museum is dirty and disordered - many exhibits unmarked etc. (Of course Pyramids are amazing). Also, be prepared for a bit of hassle. While we found most Egyptians to be really helpful and kind, some are less so. Be careful of people saying I do not want money, I just give you information! Not so! We were approached on a couple of occasions with people asking if we were on our way to a nearby attraction and then telling us it was shut or closed for lunch and they would show this or that shop etc. But they are not pushy. All in all, I would go to another Marriott but have done Cairo and would not rush back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAM_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

This hotel is beautiful. The grounds are so lovely and big, the hotel has a very good selection of restaurants and services (the men at the bank were always happy to change our big notes into smaller ones which probably gets annoying for them, and the giftshop prices were reasonable) and the rooms are nice. The service at the restaurants wasn't always 100% but I just put it down to the standard in Egypt.
Definately try the food and smoke some shisha at the Egyptian Nights restaurant, it feels very authentic!
Overall, a wonderful experience and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lunamoon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

What a beautiful location, what awful service. I have friends who live in Cairo and frequently go there to sit in the Garden--but they all complain. Wait-staff doesn't approach you; food is never the same and not very good. At the reception, they are unhelpful (even while they charge an arm & a leg for every little thing). They have Managers standing around, who don't seem to really care or do anything. Why would "Marriott" allow such poor Management?? The pool doesn't even have a deep-end.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stopped in this Hotel from 7 to 10 April. It is a good location for the Museum and about 75 minutes from the airport (about 35 minutes during Friday prayers)

We were in a room overlooking the garden - a good choice as the Cairo traffic noise and pollution on the 'Nile' side of the hotel goes on long into the night.

Airport style security checks on entering the hotel are re-assuring. Check in was fast and efficient, and the room was good value with good decor - room was nice and clean and the bed was nice and firm. This hotel really does have some beautiful decor - if you have the time wander around and check it out.

Everything you need is on site - 24 hour bank, several cash machines, a bakery for takeaway rolls, etc and 20+ plus shops selling everything you need including some tourist souvenirs. Guest Relations organised a few trips and taxis for us no problem at all. There is a good choice of restaurants - the only downside is the variable quality and the 'hidden' taxes that add about 25% to the listed menu prices but the Tuscany restaurant is good - we were joined by Omar Sharif one night so it must be ok.

Overall, a great hotel I would definitely return to.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richak39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed at the beginning and the end of our trip to egypt. We stayed on the Executive Floor so that we could use the Lounge. I dont think it was the worth the extra money as we still had to pay for internet. The breakfast and dinner were very good. The view we had was great and it was wonderful just sitting on the balcony watching the water and the traffic.
The bakery was great for getting a quick sandwich and pastry.
I checked out the casino and it was small but nice. You have to show your passport to get in.
All in all a very nice hotel and i would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

The Marriott Cairo hotel is on the biggest hotels I have stayed at; the hotel is located in the Zamalik area which is known for safety and high end residents. The hotel used to be a guest house specially built to accommodate European guests during the inauguration of the Suez Canal in the 1800’s. And one could notice the old Moroccan style lobby that was build for that reason. The rooms were newly renovated and were very clean; my room was overlooking the Nile River which was amazing during the morning time given that no smog and pollutants were in the air. Internet is not free, and I suggest buying internet cards from the business lounge on the 18th floor. The business lounge offered breakfast every morning, and it gets really crowded during that time since many floors are given access to the lounge and you might have to wait a couple of minutes to get a table. There is only one waiter and at most two serving about 50 people at a time, so you could imagine how moody they got. The hotel has many restaurants; we tried the JW steak house which was incredible, and the Italian restaurant which was also a good experience. The hotel also has an English pub called Henry's which had a nice atmosphere for unwinding after a hard days work. Although I don’t recommend eating there.
The hotel has a nice outdoor pool with a nice seating area around it, and is right next to the fitness center which has everything you need to have a good work out.
One of the nights we booked through the hotel's reception a dinner on board a ship that cruises the nile for exactly two hours, theres belly dancing and live entertainment on board while enjoying your dinner, the food was not as expected and we got a bit boared afer an hour of cruising and you had no choice but to wait till the ship docked back.
Overall the experience I had during the 10 days I stayed in the hotel was very nice, and I would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Stayed here for three nights in March '09. It's a nice hotel with some beautiful public areas. We booked a superior room with Nile view and were allocated an unrenovated dingy room on the ground floor which clearly had not been used in some time judging by the dust. I called to have the situation rectified I was advised that all of the rooms were the same (not the case) and that there was no Nile view rooms available. Given that I had paid extra for the superior room, I was not happy and decided to walk to the lobby and speak to somebody face to face. Reviewing my reservation details and after standing for at least twenty minutes while an extremely rude accomodation supervisor decided to deal with the problem we were told that a room would be available and to come back later.
They did "find" a room and it was extremely comfortable. Two big double beds, large bathroom, good size balcony. Housekeeping was excellent.
There is a nice pool and a limited gym.
Breakfast is expensive with no good coffee available. You can avoid the smoke by using the garden restaurant.
It's a good enough choice; could be great with improved service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feliciafeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 139 in Cairo
2,582 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $149 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1060
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt hotels, Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino sits in the Zamalek area and is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel in Cairo rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing