We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Stay - Would Definitely Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay - Would Definitely Return”
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Our stay here was excellent. We stayed on the executive level. The rooms were great - clean, very comfy beds, giant screen TV, nice bathroom. The rooms were well looked after, maid service came twice a day. We got a great view of the nile from our room, and in the distance, very far away we could see pyramids.
The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, staff were friendly and service was excellent. The hotel is beautiful, being a former palace the decor and the building were beautiful. The hotel has a number of shops and restaurants. The food there was excellent, both restaurants and room service. We only ate outside of the hotel once or twice, but we didn't need to the food was so nice.
If I was coming to Cairo again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren0891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    666
    186
    74
    55
See reviews for
358
570
192
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Me and my wife went to Egypt on October interested in knowing the history of the place and to dive in Red Sea.

In Sharm el Sheik we decided to stay in Hyatt hotel, which was very nice as all the rooms are on the beach area.

In Cairo, we accept our travel agent suggestion and stayed at Mariott. We stayed 03 times, as we, during the hole trip, we check-out and check-in 02 times while we went to dive and to make a cruise.

On the 03 times that we stayed on the hotel, we have a similar impression: always very nice.

The hotel has 02 banks inside it, so you can exchange money on a security place, even at night. They have also coffee shops and bakery store, so you can eat not on the restaurant of the hotel if you decide so.

The restaurants are very nice… we ate once on the steak house, a wonderful and expensive place that you can find a great meat, and once on the pool restaurant, a place that a lot of guests and non-guests stay talking in a nice place.

We stayed in a standard room, which was very clean, with a nice size. The room has a nice bathroom and access to internet by cable. I suggest to ask to stay on the new building, as the rooms are newer than the others rooms.

It seems not a dangerous place, as we walked on the hotel area and did not have problems. But I must tell you to be very very careful with the cars and busses on the street: it’s a complete crazy situation.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The terrible internet access
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Nunes-MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We were placed at this hotel by our cruise line on an overnight stay in Cairo. We had two rooms, one for my twenties son and daughter and another for my wife and myself.
The hotel was modern by all standards. The outdoor grounds including the pool area and outdoor bar/restaurant serving areas were appealing to the eye and provided a pleasant view from our room. The rooms were ample in size with a desk and sitting chair/foot stool and although not the most modern in terms of furnishings or decor, the furniture was new and certainly not worn, simply dated in style for my tastes. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with large towels, bathrobes, toiletries and a hair dryer. The personnel of the hotel were pleasant and friendly in each and every one of our contacts with them. We had two meals in the hotel (lunch and breakfast) and both were excellent, as was the service. We had the opportunity to have lunch at a chain hotel near Giza that is normally considered a notch in quality and price above Marriott and we found that while the food was good, it was not up to the standards of the Marriott in either food or personnel.
We did encounter one problem with the room: our heating/air conditioner, while providing ample cool and warm air, had an intermittent annoying rattle that would not stop. I must confess, I did not complain to the hotel that evening as I was too tired to consider moving to another room. I suspect that would have not been a problem given a couple in our group requested another room with a king bed rather than doubles and were more than satisfied with the hotel's response. The hotel location is excellent and I would not hesitate to return or recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Service and Quality
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SCCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Phenomenal hotel! I have stayed at Marriotts all over the worlds and they rarely disappoint. This one was also a historically unique hotel. Check out the terrific renovation of the palace in the downstairs level where all the restaurants are.

Check-in was super friendly and efficient as were all staff members from housekeeping to door service. After staying in numerous less than stellar places in Egypt (all 4-5 star) it was a pleasure to check in here.

This hotel is extremely well located. Lots of opportunities for shopping, walking, and getting a cab to downtown sights.

I highly reccommend. The only downside is the usual highly priced in-house restaurants but local places are nearby so you do not have to use them.

  • Liked — Service, Rooms, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was perfect.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed at the Marriot as part of our GCT tour of Egypt for 5 nights in Dec. The hotel is well located, clean and safe.
Both the public areas and rooms are beautifully done. By e-mailing guest services ahead, we asked for and rec'd a room in the tower overlooking the Nile. We had the breakfast buffet included with the room and it was amazing. Free Nestle water in the room (the Evion was not free).
We found a great restaurant within walking distance - Nile City. It's a ship about 1/2 mile away along the water and you go in and downstairs. You can sit inside or out after picking your fish from a bed of ice. They weigh it for you and you discuss how you want it cooked! We had the best shrimp of our lives, cooked in a butter/garlic sauce.
Pros - Good location. Walk to shopping, easy to get a cheap cab- a short distance from the hotel, nice pool, hot tub, cheap massages ($18 for a half hour or $35 for an hour)
Cons- Bed is a little too hard (like in Mexico). Restaurants are way overpriced except for the coffee shop/cafe in the lobby.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank robandlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We split our time in Cairo between two locations. First 2 nights we stayed at Mena house and did the Pyramids, Sound and Light, Sakkara, Memphis from this end of town. We then went to Marriott, Zemalak and did Egyptian Museum, Khan Khailil, Citadel. We found this a great way to see Cairo andreduce travel time. Marriott is in a great spot with an upmarket street scene on 26th July st , under flyover. You have the choice of cafes, pizza restaurants which mean you are not stuck eating in the hotel. A great restaurant for local food and ambience is the nearby Abou El Sid restaurant. .It 's a little hard to locate in the dark, just turn off 26th July St into street with Deway Book shop on corner and ask a local . Local write up says it was chosen by Conde Naste as one of top 50 new restaurants in world. Need to book ph: [-].
Marriott is also on the corniche and its a nice stroll along the Nile.As others have written its more a business persons hotel, but that did not worry us.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — check in was rather slow
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed here 3 nights: 2 nights at the beginning of our Insight 'Best of Egypt' Tour, and 1 night at the end.

We stayed in two garden view rooms which were both identical apart from being on different floors and both were excellent and tastfully decorated. The rooms have two queen beds each and after lots of flying at close quarters it was great to kick the wife out into her own bed for a good nights sleep. The bath was great and the toiletries were very refreshing (some sort of ginger mix) making my soak in the tub fantastic after a 16 hour flight.

The palace grounds add to that majestic feeling and we really enjoyed the marvellous breakfast feast in the morning. The waffles and pancakes were great and honey off the honeycomb was a real treat. Top Traveller Tip: Remember to pack zip-lock food bags....the pastries are to die for and with a bit of fruit from the buffet you can probably skip lunch whilst your on the go!

We found the staff very helpful and friendly (like most Egyptians)and two instances stick out. My wife wasn't feeling to great one morning and didn't make it down for breakfast. The breakfast staff (whilst telling me not to take food out the breakfast room) obliged we with a take-away silver platter and a big smile!

The second was when the bellstaff dealt with our 'winter' suitcases which we didn't want to trek around on the tour with us. The charge to leave our bags was 10 LE per day and we were away for 8 days. The bellstaff manager did a little creative accounting and somehow we paid only 40LE which was a bargain and a real timesaver whilst on our tour. He got a good tip for his trouble!

Didn't venture to the rest of the hotel restauarants or the casino but its got a business traveller feel and the room service was great on both occassions i ordered.

I would love to go back!

  • Liked — Everything...a great all round experience!
  • Disliked — Nothing sticks out at all
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Enigmablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
12.9 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1086
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing