We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Is located in the heart of cairo, you could basically walk to the museum. You have amazing views on the nile. A bit pricy though but clean and a very high service standard. I think it was a palace before, so the architecture is amazing

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the top floors for a even better view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shady K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Actually we are a historical property which was originally built by Khedive Ismail Pasha for the inauguration of the Suez Canal celebrations in 1869. The Palace housed European monarchs, including Empress Eugenie, the wife of Napoleon III, and was also the venue for the first performance of Verdi’s Opera Aida.

Thank you again and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Kind regards
Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
There are newer reviews for Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 2,308 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

My friends and I stayed here at the end of our trip to Egypt last summer (yep, during all that unrest), and it was a nice quiet place to rest and relax after being out and about in Cairo during the day. Earlier in our trip we met a diplomat from an embassy in Cairo and he met us there for cocktails and dinner. He said that this is a hotel that many in the diplomatic circles come to for an opportunity to socialize. The clientele was professional and the staff was very attentive. They insisted that we take their car to the Egyptian Museum instead of getting a taxi and it was an excellent recommendation--brand new shiny black Mercedes already cooled down, handsome driver in a very nice suit, and it was the same price as a hot, dirty taxi in bad condition. The tour that they recommended for out last day in Cairo was excellent and the guide was AMEX certified and excellent. My hotel room was very nice and clearly had been updated--nice flat screen TV, new furniture, up to date bathroom and so on. I'd like my bedroom and bathroom at home to look like this. Even the shop owners were wonderful-- very customer-oriented and helpful. I was getting 'the cold from hell' and they all had helpful suggestions about the products to get for some relief. The only thing that was a letdown was the options for dinner but I can blame that on the political unrest at the time. There were SO few tourists at the time so one tower with 2 restaurants was closed. The dinner that we had at another of the restaurants was not so great, but the manager took some of the entrees off the bill and sent us complimentary desserts. Ramadan was in full swing, so we had the opportunity to do some great people-watching as the local professionals came out after sunset to break their fast. I'd definitely stay here again and would even feel safe traveling alone if staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room high up in one of the towers facing into the pool and gardens. Quieter and a prettier vie...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we will deliver your concern to our F&B department.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent place, all staff are very warm and welcoming, reception was very flexible to our demand.
The hotel is in middle of Cairo and had all the amenties which you look forward to it.We had booked 2 executive rooms and they were superb with there private facilities for breakfast and dinner. The hotel is like a palace clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATELMILAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Kind regards
Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel a few times during the past years, but we won't anymore. It it becoming worse and worse every year. It seems that nothing is renovated, sometimes not even maintained. For the price you pay you should be getting a flat screen tv and a clean bathroom, instead you get an old fashioned tv and a dirty plastic shower curtain. The staff is still very friendly though and it's location will stay great - to mention some positive aspects.

Room Tip: The higher the better view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisutazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to first and foremost apologize for the recent experience that you had with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel. We pride ourselves on customer service and we were greatly concerned about your recent feedback. I would greatly appreciate if you could give me some additional feedback on where our service experience broke down so that we can address the issues with the relevant departments.
We take this feedback with extreme concern and it is the only way for us to improve , we appreciate your kind response on emy.elshourbagi@marriott.com.

Thanking you in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards
Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A good clean hotel in a very busy city. Stayed 3 nights to attend a wedding. View from the 12th floor balcony of the beautiful gardens below. So nice to relax in the garden and enjoy food from the cafe. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and make our stay an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors overlooking the gardens also have views of the Nile
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSaifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back once again to the Palace.

Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in the middle of the city in a great pocket suburb called zamalek. The decor of the hotel is older similar to other mariotts and they have all facilities that you would expect. The location is the main attraction. Zamalek is a leafy suburb in the middle of the city with some beautiful euro-style buildings There are great cafe and restaurants in walking
distance. I would suggest skipping the hotel food offering and discover some of the outside places. It's a faction of the price and it's still of western standard. Check out Cairo kitchen and left bank.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HateDoneRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are a historical property which was originally built by Khedive Ismail Pasha for the inauguration of the Suez Canal celebrations in 1869. The Palace housed European monarchs, including Empress Eugenie, the wife of Napoleon III, and was also the venue for the first performance of Verdi’s Opera Aida.
We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the Palace. It will always be our pleasure to have you at the Cairo Marriott Hotel as our valued and esteemed guest.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Best Regards,
Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is absolutely overpriced.

It's big, it's nice, it's well located, it's probably the safest hotel in Cairo. The restaurants inside the hotel are good.

But for 240$ per night I expect something more.
The service is fairly good, people at the reception are usually not very accommodating.

The free wifi is only available in the lobby.
Every time I need the internet connection I have to leave my room and spend my time in the lobby. In 2013 this is absurd.

If you ask for a garden view room you might be able to connect to the wifi from the balcony but at the reception they know this and they will try not to accommodate your request.







Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank popamiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We take this feedback with extreme concern and it is the only way for us to improve. In order for us to be able to dig into it more we kindly ask you to provide us with more details about what went wrong and what were the challenges that you had. We appreciate your kind response on emy.elshourbagi@marriott.com.

Best Regards,
Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
7.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $137 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1060
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing