We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not great service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

As you can imagine the hotel is not very full with tourists at this time. With that in mind they should pro. respond to a guests request and paid for room location of a Nile View. But alas no - even as a premier elite and the Nile view surcharge, and a quiet hotel a Nile view was not in the cards. Shame compounded by the fact I had specifically used the Marriott "Virtual Concierge" to ask for it separately. It turns out it was my email to the guest services at a later date that even prompted the fact that they had charged my extra as well. As a final nod to service it took several requests to even get the points forwarded to my Marriott account.
Any way the hotel is unusual in that it was a palace that was converted to a hotel and then built up by using two towers. It is a fave of the local dignitaries apparently - as friends who live in Cairo have mentioned.
Rooms were fine and bathrooms were pretty basic. But for one night it worked okay.

Room Tip: Pay, Request, Request again, Remind them at check in, and follow up with guest services for a Nile v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3galsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    656
    181
    73
    52
See reviews for
340
565
190
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was quite a short stay but the hotel itself is a piece of Art, the rooms were upgraded but not yet the TV set... I did not spend much time at the Hotel but it is a Hotel that I would return to. High floor rooms with Nile and swimming pool are the best view ever.

Room Tip: Select Nile view/swimming pool rooms at high floor... it is quite breathtaking view to enjoy late ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We value your feedback and will share it with the concerned department. I do hope we will have a near future opportunity to welcome you back to the palace.


Thank You
Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hotel and the decor around the property is quite interesting and traditional. This gives the hotel a very nice feel and the size of everything makes it seem so grand. The property is not too big, so whichever room and tower you are staying in, you can get around and out of the hotel quite easily. But it can get confusing at there are two lobby areas.
The hotel rooms are somewhat standard in appearance and what's in them, but were a good size for us.

Good assortment at breakfast and the meals at the hotel bars and restaurants were fantastic! As would be expected for a big chain hotel, prices for food and drinks do not come cheap. Be wary that when you order drink or food around the pool, it can take a long time to arrive (sometimes close to an hour!).

The casino was alright - nothing too fancy.
There is not too much around outside of the hotel to go and see, so you would probably need to get a taxi. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_ange23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and we will share it with the concerned department.
I do hope we will have a near future opportunity to welcome you back to Cairo Marriott Hotel and Omar El Khayyam Casino.

Thanking you
Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I must say I don't share the enthusiasm of the most part of the comments I read here. At the end of October 2012 I stayed at Marriott for six nights. The room was charged at about 250USD per night. Breakfast was not included and charged at 20USD extra per person.
So, considering the Egyptian cost of living, you would expect a high-end hotelerie. And if you're a serious traveller you know how much a personalized service and care of details make the price. Marriott instead is made of fake luxurious interiors, standard high level rooms, and uncaring service. The personell is unable to deal with problems out of the daily routine. Any extra is charged at unreasonable prices. Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby for a very limited period of time and after completing an annoying procedure. The general atmosphere is mall like and you feel like being the usual walking wallet.
My definitive impression is that Marriott is more a product of marketing than a real deal.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the nile in the gezira tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

What is nice about this hotel that i have visited several times is the old building ( the palace of Imperatrice Eugénie) and the garden with its outside café . When the weather is fine , you can spend hours outside enjoying food and drinks or jumping into the swimming pool . The rooms are totally uninteresting . The restaurants are just ok without more and wherever you have your meal , most of the wines that you order are cooked . They are not well preserved. The quality in this hotel has not improved recently to say the least .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comments and emphasize our respect for our guests comments and we are working hard to improve the level of service provided.

I strongly would like to discuss with you the difficulties that you had with us, please contact me at emy.elshourbagi @ marriott.com

We thank you for your valuable comments and we hope we can welcome you again in Cairo Marriott Hotel.

Best Reagrds
Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott on the island of Zamalek in Cairo for work, and was quite pleased. The staff were both professional and friendly and the room comfortable. The room also had a view of the Nile, which was great as it was my first trip to Egypt. I did not sleep well my first night because one of my neighbors kept banging his door -- I called the front desk and that was resolved, however. The business center was also adequate if not totally high tech.
The breakfast buffet was varied and very good. A couple of days I didn't have time to sit down for breakfast and one of the waiters was kind enough to bring me a coffee to go and some fruit.
The location cannot be beat - the area is great to walk around in and has good restaurants.
The former royal palace is a little faded around the edges, which isn't terrible. One mild criticism is that some of the hotel restaurants and bar felt a bit generic (I mean, is Cairo really crying out for a Roy's Country Pub?) but that is largely an issue of personal taste.
One annoyance was that the elevators require you to insert your room card key to get to your floor. This became a problem when I tried to drop off something at a colleague's room in a different part of the hotel and couldn't. This is not an insurmountable problem, however, and I guess on balance it is good that the hotel has strict security procedures in place.
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and am considering staying in the Marriott when I bring my parents on a trip to Egypt. It is expensive, however, and I'll have to think carefully if I want to pay these sorts of corporate rates on a pleasure trip.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Also, try and get a view of the river. And make sure to ask for non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrinnersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that your stay was a pleasant one. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly. We are always trying to present a diversity of culinary options to our guests, ranging from oriental to country kitchen and from Japanese to Italian and that’s why you will find Roy’s and Torii, Tuscany and Egyptian Nights among our gourmet destinations.
The safety and security of our guests is our number one priority and that’s why we are firm about our policies and regulations to access floors and rooms that might have annoyed you during your stay. I hope you appreciated that it was all for a good cause.

Thank you again for the feedback and kind regards.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here last year. I am an experienced traveler, but was nervous here, especially after the Arab Spring and the negative publicity they have with how they treat women, but I must say it was a terrific experience.

I wouldn't recommend it to everyone because the country is so volatile at the moment. in fact, I will not be going back for a while, but seeing the pyramids and ancient ruins was amazing. I'm not a very religious person, but seeing the centuries old manuscripts of the bible was incredible.

The hotel was very nice and the staff were kind and extremely helpful. I ate in the hotel restaurant several times and the food was excellent. I couldn't get enough of the curry. The rooms were spacious and very clean. this is a high class international hotel and little more expensive than I like, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Md Al mamun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing